We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Conrad Koh Samui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Conrad Koh Samui Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   49/8-9 Moo 4, Hillcrest Road | overlooking Aow Thai Beach, Taling-Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 nights, pay for 3!
Ranked #7 of 311 Hotels in Ko Samui
4.5 of 5 stars 460 Reviews
houston
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed 4 days (June 10-14). When we landed in Phuket (from Singapore) for our connecting flight, we were told we could take an earlier flight getting us in 4 hours earlier. Hotel quickly made the arrangements for our car service to be there in time to meet our flight. The front desk pushed to ensure our room was clean and ready to occupy. Very nice welcome reception with cold cloths and cool tea. The room was stunning (Room 309 as we wanted to be away from restaurants, pool, bar, etc). Huge bathroom and what a pool with a fabulous view. I don't understand when people comment the resort is remote and not child friendly. Didn't they review the contents of the website? Maybe Phuket is more what they are looking for.

Breakfast was great each day but I found my English and their Thai sometimes missed the mark. That's OK, I speak only English and they speak Thai and some English so they are ahead of me!!

Room was cleaned and sparkling each day while we were off the resort. The drive around the island takes only about 1-1/2 hour but is well worth the exploration.

Service was stellar -- all the staff go above and beyond to make guests happy and there is nothing they won't try to solve, supply or deliver to ensure you are comfortable.

Room service was fast and excellent. I would recommend this resort to anyone as it is the most peaceful, zen, stress reducing resort I have ever visited. We will be back. Congratulations to management as they are on the right track here with lots of happy employees and, thus, happy customers.

Room Tip: Buggies are a call away so high, low,middle, no need to worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    63
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
81
280
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cartagena, Colombia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Jah Restaurant at Conrad, Thai decor is discreet and tasteful, the black tablecloths and table service are superb.
Modern Thai food is creative and very well presented.
Outstanding Wine Service by khun Chan talented sommelier.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

As virtually every reviewer states, the view that greets you at the hotel is absolutely stunning, and the rooms are beautiful. The pool was warm and there is plenty of space to relax around your villa. We were lucky to be situated close to the pool and breakfast restaurant so unlike others we were able to walk around easily, which was a relief as calling a buggy every few hours may become a bit annoying.

We ate at azure and the service was great and the food not too expensive, although you accept when you arrive that it will be much, much more pricy than anything 'normal' outside.

The only issue was breakfast, which was rather chaotic and food orders took a long time to come, and in some cases were forgotten completely. I notice several other tables were getting rather annoyed too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Wow what a place... Very nice indeed.

The room was fantastic, everything you could ask for a more.
The view was amazing. You could spend all day looking out to sea.

The resort is built on a cliff face so getting around the place is difficult by foot so you just call and they will send a golf buggy.

If I could have changed anything it would be the food, just average, very average. Except the prices which are far from average ! I, like many other people on here went to Green Ta'ley. Loved it.


Had a wonderful time at Conrad Samui and I sure anyone stay would.

The only

Booked in the Jahn restaurant, was greeted and shown our table. We were offered still or sparkling water. I went for still. The menus arrived along with the water. Whilst looking at the menu, which is limited (around 5 main courses) we decided that we would change restaurants. Which was no problem at all. BUT I was shocked that I was charged almost £7 for a bottle of still water.

We then arrived at the other restaurant (Zens I think its called), the same routine 'Sir would you like still or sparkling....'.

Maybe its me but I though £7 for a bottle of water was a little on the steep side. But still will give it a 5 start rating....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We just returned from our honeymoon stay in Conrad Koh Samui.

We enjoyed our stay tremendously. Food was excellent and the service was impeccable. I give the staff full marks for making us feel so welcome and taking the effort to remember not just our names but our villa number.

The villa is quite the standard hotel room. It did however have a huge bathroom equivalent to the size of the sleeping area.

Each villa had its own private pool and a grand view of the Gulf of Thailand. And because the resort is so remotely located in the south western part of the island, the only passing traffic in front of our villa is the occasional boat coming out to this part of the island to see the sunset.

The sun sets on this part of the island. So you get a private view of the sun setting on the 5 islands from your pool. It was breathtaking.

Food we ordered room service menu was excellent. We also had dinner at the Jahn which was excellent and not so expensive for 2 persons with wine.

It is all wonderful.

However, the resort is very inaccessible to the outside town or even just within the resort, it is not quite possible to get to the main pool area or lobby on foot, unless you plan to brave the steep 45 degrees slope uphill or downhill.

To get to the lobby from your villa, you need to call for a buggy. If it is raining, be ready to be drenched.
Taxis and other service do charge a little more for pickup at the resort. But it definitely beats paying for Conrad's limousine service. Conrad limousine service is an exorbitant amount that you have to pay. But you do get a BMW X5 to ferry you about. If you aren't up for such luxury, there are cheaper taxi & guide services in Koh Samui which charge for much less. Mr Samui was one such service we used.

We didn't try the massage on the resort. Elements resort down the hill from Conrad charged much less. They have a taxi charge of 200 Baht to ferry you to and fro from Conrad. We had dinner there as well. Conrad definitely serves better food but you do pay a lot more at Conrad. A main course for 1 at Conrad can pay for a full meal with drinks for 2 at Elements.

Do try to get out of the resort. There are small shops out on the streets which serve really cheap and good Thai food.

Just to sum it up, be prepared to spend at the resort. But every dollar you spend is definitely a quality dollar spent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed at the conrad Koh Samui end of March for five nights in one of the 2 bedroom villa's. We arrived after dark and it took a while to find the resort in our rental car. Driving the last miles felt like we were driving through a Jurrasic park area, ... but once we arrive and saw the entrance we felt immediately we arrived in a truly luxury resort! The two bedroom villa was stunning, with 2 bathrooms, one shower with 2 rain showers, 2 bedrooms, and off course the stunning private pool. This resort is ideal if you want to stay here to relax. Personnel is really super friendly and helpful. The buggy system is very efficient, we never had to wait longer than 5 minutes for a buggy although the resort was fully booked one night... One night we had dinner at Jahn, and although the food was really good, not one wine was wine worthy... Later on we were told by one of the managers that a new sommelier was going to arrive in a few weeks. We really loved the resort and I would not hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I agree with all of the reviews that the hotel is stunning. The views are breathaking, the rooms are luxurious and beautifully designed. Many members of the staff worked hard to accomodate our requests and seemed genuinely concerned for our wellbeing at the hotel. When we arrived there were high quality cribs and baby care products available for use during our stay.

We traveled with our 2 young children and made plans to check-out of the hotel within 24 hours of our arrival. Although a beach is advertised, there is no swimming due to dangerous currents and the small strip of sand by the water was riddled with bugs and debris. The buggy system seems to work pretty well in that they come to pick you up promptly but the steep incline of the resort restricts any other form of walking, so loading a stroller on and off the golf cart is not ideal. I would question how it feels zipping around on the buggy in the rain. The buckles on the car seats provided in the car for our airport pick-up/drop-off didn't work.

However, I would assume that the majority of guests would be happy that this is not a hotel for kids given the tranquil nature of the property. Had we traveled without our kids I would have been disappointed by the lack of beach, difficulty walking and distance from other restaurants/nightlife.

Although the majority of my points are related to the difficulties encountered by us as a family, the main points that caused problems overall were a severe ant problem in our room and a dangerous floor in our living area. There were ants all over our toiletries, medicines and food items in the kitchen save those in the fridge or unopened. I understand the tropical nature of the resort and perhaps we had a bad experience but I would want to make sure it was less severe to feel comfortable staying. Both my husband and I fell badly in our room due to a slippery floor - - really badly. I thought my husband might have to go to the hospital for a concussion. The hotel is aware of this slipping problem and they need to address it.

The hotel was accomodating and did give us a refund as we departed 7 days early on a prepaid reservation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrad Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 49/8-9 Moo 4, Hillcrest Road | overlooking Aow Thai Beach, Taling-Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samui
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samui
#7 Spa Hotel in Ko Samui
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Koh Samui is a luxury pool villa resort located on the south western tip of the popular Thai island, designed to ensure each private pool villa enjoys glorious panoramic views of the Gulf of Thailand and its astonishing sunsets. Consisting of 80 private pool villas with one, two or three bedrooms, 3 innovative restaurants, 2 bars, a private wine cellar and destination dining, the resort provides the individualistic sense of luxury that Conrad has become known for. The award-wining spa combines international treatments and Thai spa techniques with distinctive design accents and world-class facilities to delight all of the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Conrad Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Conrad Koh Samui Hotel Koh Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Koh Samui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.