We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good tom yam soup” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Elephant

Happy Elephant
78/1 Bophut Beach Road, Ko Samui, Thailand
+66 (0)77 245347
Improve this listing
Ranked #325 of 890 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“good tom yam soup”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

a good place to eat a decent meal by the beach, lots of choices, Thai and western food as well,quick service some issues communicating in english with staff, but overall good

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    198
    119
    51
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Happy Elephant is Overrated and Overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Happy Elephant was recommended at our Hotel as a great restaurant (great food) on the the beach at Fishermen Village. The location is nice but the food and service is terrible. The food was a bit overpriced. If you care about a place being on the beach but not the taste of food then this is your place. But if you care about getting good food, great taste then do not waste your money or time go somewhere else. If you want good Thai or Seafood, ask in your hotel for a "local" "native" place where locals eat and I guarantee you the food would be delicious, friendly service and good prices.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“YUMM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We loved Happy Elephant in Fishermans Village (Bophut). We went there 3 times during our weeks stay and loved everything we tried there. The onion rings & No Name Vegetable Fritters were Devine. All curries & Pad Thai were great too!!! :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I had a table at a window overlooking the beach for an early dinner. Service was good but we got better smiles at another of the good restaurants in Fisherman's Village. The food was good and reasonably priced. I recommend the Happy Elephant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“best chips in Koh Samui”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

expensive prices, but the chips are to die for! good views too. good service. would def recommend it and will be going back myself next time im in fishermans village

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Elephant also viewed

Bophut, Ko Samui
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Happy Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Elephant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.