We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punnpreeda Pool Villa Beachfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Punnpreeda Pool Villa Beachfront to your Saves list
Punnpreeda Pool Villa Beachfront
4.5 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   199 Moo1 Bang Rak Beach, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 309 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Christchurch
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had 5 days at Punnpreeda In a Pool Villa. The villa was spacious and comfortable and the plunge pool was great place to cool off. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good parking available and a short distance by car to Bophut Fishermans Village.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    25
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siargao Island, Philippines
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The rooms are all villas with semi-private pools. The two bedroom villa I stayed in was clean, comfortable and had decent plasma tvs in each room. The complimentary juice, water, beer, wine and whiskey along with chips and cookies were a nice touch.

If the beach is not so important and you don't mind driving up the road a bit for some nice sand, then this is a good choice. Ask for the rooms "on the rocks" or overlooking the bay.

Room Tip: They have a driver service if needed and breakfast is included and brought to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My friends and I, a group of 4, decided it would be best to stay at a pool villa for our trip, as we didn't want to be in seperate rooms (possibly far away from each other) in a hotel. With our budget, there weren't a lot of choices (most others were way too expensive), and we went with Punnpreeda. We originally booked 'On the Rocks', but was immediately upgraded to 'Beachfront' upon arrival. After walking to our villa, we were really glad we didn't get our original rooms as some of the rooms did not have a lot of privacy. The villa was well furnished with great sound system, full kitchen with utensils (no scissors, but reception will kindly provide a pair if needed), TV in both rooms and living room, and a chioce of shower or bath for each of the rooms.

Before arriving to Koh Samui, we came onto TripAdvisor to see people's comments and were expecting all the bad things people wrote about. The pool was not as dirty and grungy as some wrote it to be, perhaps because we had the newly refurnished rooms (with sunchair in the pool). There were mouldy spots in the bath curtains, but because we expected even worse, it wasn't too off putting. The water was not hot, but warm enough for it to not be a problem. Some other people also complained that the water flow wasn't enough and it took them an hour just to shower, I assure you that it's not as bad as some may have felt. For my friends and I, a 10-15mins shower was quite adequate!

For sun lovers, this hotel might not be the best option, but upon request, the staff are able to drive you over to Q Signature hotel, where there's a really nice pool to swim at. To head back to the hotel, just have reception to call Punnpreeda and they'll pick you up within 15mins! The whole of Koh Samui is full of mosquitos, not just Punnpreeda, so I would suggest to go to 711 (for the cheapest) mosquito incense, and light it near you whenever you are in the villa.

My favourite parts of this trip were the staff, they were honest and lovely people, and the sunrise I got to see every morning. I say this because we forgot to lock our safe one day, and they took a picture of what was inside, informed reception and asked us to make sure nothing was stolen in and outside of the safe. None of our money/valuables/clothings (inside luggages) were touched, and we were very grateful. Honey and the staff, including the men in the parking lot, were all really nice and polite. Hone was very personable and helpful as well. She'll answer as many questions/problems about Koh Samui as possible, and even directed us to local restaurants that she frequently goes to.

Without vehicles, Punnpreeda will provide a few drop offs in and out of town daily (2 each way), so it might be best to rent a car or moped, tuk tuk/taxi back is generally around 300baht, a little more expensive if it's after 12am.

Room Tip: Even though it says beachfront, don't think of it as a sandy beach, it's more of a rocky bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed there 7 days in last Dec for honeymoon. It was a really bad experience. We changed the room 3 times while we stayed. The problem is just because of their shower. We need to spend at least 1 hour everytime, it doesn't mean we enjoy it! Just because the showers only got a few drops of water. It took time to clean up your shampoo...... :(

How can you imagine when you came back from outside super hot weather with still sweating body, but the shower was running out of water everytime.

We told front desk on the first day we arrived, but they just told the shower problem can't be fixed due to the villa location is in the hill and no further action or improvement. Then, we had to repeat the same question to the front desk. Finally, their day shift manger made the decision to change a room to us. However, 2nd room had the same problem. Then on the 4th day, the night shift manager agreed to change another room to us. However, the showers were the same. But we didn't want to change again. It is too disappointed. In total, we stayed 3 different rooms in 7 days. I hate that!!!!!!!!!!

My only little request for a hotel is just about a shower. I wouldn't expect a great one, but at least, a general, well-function and normal condition one. How come they can't provided it and have no response for few days.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room in the hill area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I was excited to get to Punnpreeda to see how the private pool villa with seaview would be. Sad to say it was a big disappointment. From the pictures on their homepage I was expecting seaview and a nice pool with a lot of sun and no insight from the neighbours. However the villa was located in a lower part of the hotel area, extremely close to all the other villas and with the many windows of the villa everyone around could more or less see everything that was going on in the villa. If you are very tall you can spot the sea through the palm tree leaves, but I would not call this seaview.

The villa was very spacious and well equipped with two television screens, kitchen and that WiFi was working OK. Breakfast with items as requested was delivered to the villa at the time of your request. It was quite OK. The mini bar was included in the rate with a lot of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages and some snacks.

The pool deck was worn and some parts of the tree was broken. The pool itself was not very clean and it did not feel so nice to go into the water. There were not much sun during the day.

The hotel is located in an area close to the main road, with no restaurants or shops nearby and the beach is like the city dump. I would NEVER go into the water there... A lot of rocks and garbage. If you want a beach you should go to the Bo Phut beach instead, which was good. Bo Phut beach is better than Chaweng beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This hotel looks amazing, the villas look great and so so do the plunge pools.
The staff were extremely friendly, especially a girl named Honey.
The plunge pool which we had with a sea view room was very nice but you could not stay in there long without being bitten constantly by mosquitoes so that was a disappointment. I know the humidity causes the mozzies to come out but the reason for the infestation was due to the water tanks being so close to the pool. Our villa was also buzzing with mozzies and one of the bathrooms smelt mouldy and damp.
The staff did upgrade us to a two bedroom villa which was very nice and the breakfast was ok.
I would not recommend swimming at the beach as it is full of sharp rocks and we cut our feet many times trying to get onto the kayak just to to get out to the little sandy bay just off the shore. The hotel is a bit far from Chaweng so if you like quiet then this place is good.The hotel did have a bar in the middle of the resort but it was deserted 24/7 without anyone serving.
I will stay closer to Chaweng next time I am in Samui.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in a room closer to the beachfront as the gardens are full of mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I just got back from a lovely holiday at Ko Samui. We stayed at Chaweng for 2 nights and then moved on to Punnpreeda Pool Villa's located on Bang Rak beach to get away from the hustle and bustle of Chaweng. I've been to quite a number of hotels in the past but i must say, this hotel comes highly recommended based on a number of reasons. These villas are beautiful, very modern design, has an amazing view, coupled with excellent service. From the moment we booked this place, we were upgraded to a beachfront villa for a very minimal sum. The staff arranged for a car for rental and to be returned back at the airport when you depart (super convenient) We were given a surprise birthday cake, complete with singing! which was really nice, had a complimentary broken bottle of wine replaced, without any question. When we forgot to write our breakfast menu for the next day, the night shift staff was very accommodating and took our orders happily at 1am!

Pro's:
It's great if you like privacy and beachfront villas.
Nearby some good restaurants. (orgasmic and cafe 69)
Ever helpful staff. 5 star service
A well stocked complimentary minibar

Cons:
The beach is full of rocks so you can't swim.
The in house massage is not great and tad bit expensive.
The pool is too small especially since you can't enjoy the beach.

All in all, it was a great time and would highly recommend these villas.

Room Tip: Choose villas from 901 onwards as its beachfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punnpreeda Pool Villa Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnpreeda Pool Villa Beachfront

Address: 199 Moo1 Bang Rak Beach, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 309 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punnpreeda Pool Villa Beachfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Punnpreeda Pool Villa Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnpreeda Pool Villa Beachfront Hotel Koh Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punnpreeda Pool Villa Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.