We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui to your Saves list
ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116/1 Moo 2, Tambon Maret | Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 311 Hotels in Ko Samui
4.5 of 5 stars 306 Reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A memorable family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at ShaSa for 4 days with my wife and 7 and 9 year old boys. We had a fantastic time. The staff and service was wonderful. The restaurant had great food but pricey for Thailand. The reception staff were very helpful each time we went out. They recommended a fanstatic restaurant close by called Sabeinglae Restaurant. Great food, Thai prices. The pools were immaculate and it wasn't busy at all. I think there are fewer tourist due to the political situation right now but there were no problems or issues at all. In fact we spent another 4 days in Bangkok afterwards and didn't see any signs of problems. We had a 2 bedroom suite and it was huge. More than enough room to let the boys do their own thing and for my wife and I to rest if we wanted to. I do recommend to rent a car.

The only thing that was a minor issue was when we dropped our kids off to the kids club as my wife and I went for a massage. When we got there there was a man and woman minding the kids club and told us that they may not be in the kids club for the entire time and cannot watch our kids. They said "no babysitting". A bit rude and for sure not very welcoming. Our kids are older and don't need baby sitting but I wasn't sure what the purpose of the kids club was if not to have activities for the kids. So they played video games for 90 minutes. We therefore only used them the one time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear EF,

May I thank you for sparing your precious times reviewing ShaSa, I am glad to learn that you like our property; however, so sorry about the unpleasant experience that you had at our kids club. I personally took action already and please rest assure that your future stay with us will be both enjoyable and comfortable.

With warm regards,
Omapatt Nuntapanish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    80
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
150
77
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here for three night. Everyone has very happy with this place both services and modern room, including Delicious Breakfasts. So if we have more time we will be back here again and again :)))

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear San Y,

Thank you very much for sparing your precious time reviewing ShaSa and we are so glad to learn that you had pleasant stay with us.

San Y, we are looking forward to welcome you back to ShaSa in the near future.

With warm regards,
Omapatt Nuntapanish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We arrived home on Tuesday after an amazing 10 days at the ShaSa resort and we can't wait to go back. It really was wonderful, everything was first class and it was a much needed escape from the busy Phuket area. Koh Samui really is a gorgeous part of the world and the hotel is situated on the south of the island away from the hustle and bustle of Chaweng and Lamai beaches. From the glorious spacious apartment with 2 huge bedrooms, a well stocked and equipped kitchen and living area to the enormous bath in the master bathroom and gorgeous views from our balcony, it really was the ideal location with the best facilities we've come across for a family of 5. We were looking for an escape to a relaxing quiet location and that's what we got. Several staff members provided us with exceptional service, the waiting staff in the restaurant were all fantastic and very good with our young kids. Meuw in reception was particularly outstanding, she even babysat for the kids one night when we had a grown up night out.
This brings me to my favourite part of the resort and that's the fantastic Thai food, Chek IK really is fantastic! We ate in the restaurant a few times and each time tried something new and was never let down, even room service was first class. Okay there may not be too many options for breakfast compared to some 5 star resorts and it was the same choices every day of our 10 day stay, but there were plenty of healthy choices for us. Breakfast for has never been the main meal of the day for us, we usually just eat cereal and fruit and there were plenty of options there. The only comment I'd make is that a restaurant providing this class of food should make a little more effort to look like a fine dining place, the setting is gorgeous but all it needs is table cloths in the evening and some minor finishing touches to give it the complete look.
We're definitely going back to Koh Samui and look forward to staying at ShaSa once again, it was the perfect fit for our family (kids age, 8, 3 and 2)

Room Tip: We had a middle unit on the 3rd floor and the rooms were more spacious than the corner units and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Ingrid H,

Thank you very much for choosing ShaSa as a venue for your holidays and we are so glad to learn from the review that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Ingrid H, we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

With warm regards,
Omapatt Nuntapanish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed for four nights and that was a bit too much for a resort that is tucked away from the action at Chawang. The food is quite good but the menu is rather limited - as it has only one restaurant - so after two nights at the hotel you have pretty much sampled the whole menu. The vegetrian section is much to weak especially at the buffet breakfast but the staff is quite accomodating and will go out of their way to get something from the menu. Since there are no restaurants within walking distance you are pretty much stuck to the hotel for food. Also the shuttle to Chawang is too infrequent and cabs in the island are unreasonably expensive. We stayed in a two bedroom suite facing the ocean so had lovely views but there is no beach to speak of as it is mostly rocky so once again Lamai or Chawang become the places you have to go to for the Samui sand.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear abhaymaskara,

May I thank you for sparing your precious time reviewing ShaSa and we are so glad to hear that you like our spacious sea-view suite. However, we are so sorry for any inconveniences caused while you were with us, we definitely will have a look into details and upgrade our services to meet our valued guest satisfaction.

With warm regards,

Omapatt Nuntapanish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Not the most ideal location if you are after busy night life. But we thought it was perfect for our family with the spacious two bedroom apartment. The breakfast variety is not huge, but good quality. It's self contained for those who prefer to prepare you own food. Washer and dryer available which is very handy.
All in all, we are happy with everything and will come back next time.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falsterbo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed 4 nights with wife and teenagers in a two bedroom suite.

Our room was nothing short of amazing. The middle room in the middle building on the 2nd floor. Great view from the living room and both bedrooms. Plenty of space for a family of 4 and a well functioning entertainment system.
The only thing I really didn't get about the room was the oversized bathtub ! It takes about 1,5 m3 of water and with the water pressure in our building, it's a 3 hour wait, before you can dive in. We gave up after 15min when the water level reached 4 cm.

We liked the pool areas and the restaurant served a good breakfast and dinner. Lacking dinner alternatives within walking distance (evening time), I am pleased to note that the restaurant didn't overcharge. Yes - dinner is more expensive at the Shasa restaurant, but I find the price/quality ratio to be ok. As an alternative you can ask the reception to call the Fishermans outlet restaurant. They will pick you up and drive you back free of charge.

During our stay the only swimming options were the pools, since the water in the man-made Laguna was shallow and unattractive. Generally speaking the coastline at and around the resort is far away from the quality at Lamai and Chaweng.

We liked the quiet surroundings and our four nights stay at Shasa (out of 14) suited us just perfect. For a longer stay we would have needed to rent a car to get around or learned to appreciate the "far away from everything" location to a much bigger degree, than we generally do.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Ljungskog,

May I thank you for choosing ShaSa as a venue for your holidays and we are so pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Ljungskog, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With best regards,
Omapatt Nuntapanish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piestany, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have returned from the holiday one month ago.
The hotel is very nice and clean, the have used one bedroom deluxe suite with the sea view.
The staff was friendly, except the receptionsts, I sometimes got the feeling of bothering them.
The rooms are spacious and very clean, very punctually and nice cleaned up daily. We have been very satisfied with the services in the room.
The breakfast is nice, the restaurant however too small for the hotel of that size.
Swimming pools are clean and spacious, I reccommend warmly to use the one next to the gym.
Unfortunately, it is not possible to bath in the sea by the hotel, as it is not reccommended for swimming, the mud from the sea, although it´s not brown or black, is prohibiting you to use the sea.
This hotel is absolutely reccommended for the families, has a nice kids playroom, with the attendant, so you can relax without taking care of your kids.
If you plan to use Chaweng or Lamai beach, I reccommend you to hire a car, as we did, as the hotel shuttle is only at 11.00 a.m. direction Lamai / Chaweng, and at 06,00 p.m., which is not sufficient...
Also, the hotel is very far from the shops, restaurants and other facilities, and the cabs to the hotel and from it are inaproppriate expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Lucia 1977,

Thank you very much for sparing your precious time reviewing ShaSa and we are so glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Lucia 1977, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With warm regards,

Omapatt Nuntapanish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui

Address: 116/1 Moo 2, Tambon Maret | Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Samui
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samui
#21 Spa Hotel in Ko Samui
#24 Luxury Hotel in Ko Samui
#33 Romantic Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic chic destination with natural surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shasa Resort And Residences, Koh Samui
Shasa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Shasa Hotel Koh Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.