We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui to your Saves list
ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116/1 Moo 2, Tambon Maret | Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 311 Hotels in Ko Samui
4.5 of 5 stars 306 Reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just got back from Shasa and absolutely loved it! We had a two-bedroom sea view suite and it was ENORMOUS. We originally booked a regular two-bedroom suite but the suite we were allocated was on the deluxe floor. This was an added bonus as the apartment provided stunning panoramic views of the sea from every single room.

The suite itself is incredibly well-equipped and could easily accommodate an entire family (there were only three of us). It has a fully-functional kitchen with all utensils and appliances you could wish for and Shasa provides free bottles of water, refilled daily. The coffee and tea in the room are free as well (and of good quality), which is another added bonus.

The living room is huge - wonderfully decorated with a comfortable sofa and a tv with international channels. The balcony is also large and is perfect for lounging about, with a ceiling fan, table and chairs and even a massage bed! The master bedroom is great, particularly the ensuite bathroom that has a gorgeous marble bathtub, two sinks, toilet, and a large walk-in shower. The second bedroom is also large, with two single beds and a large bathroom with a walk-in shower as well. House-cleaning was carried out on a daily basis and was thorough, efficient, and unobtrusive.

The hotel grounds are beautifully kept - three large swimming pools ensure that you can always find some peace and quiet for a relaxing swim (if that's what you're looking for!). I especially enjoyed the hydrotherapy pool. There is a gym/spa as well, but none of us used it this time round. We also enjoyed playing with the cute and friendly black and white cat that hangs around - other guests seemed to be equally charmed by it!

The restaurant is trendy and, though more expensive than surrounding local places (obviously), not exorbitantly over-priced. The food is tasty and elegantly presented and the menu is extensive. We had the buffet breakfast included as part of our holiday package so we enjoyed the huge variety of food that they served at breakfast. The breakfast is one of the best I've seen in any hotel - the huge variety of choice fortunately doesn't detract from the quality of each dish. Coffee is served at your table for free by the friendly and professional waiters who are genuine and helpful and speak good English. The cocktails were great and they serve two for the price of one between 4pm-6pm. Shasa also held a cocktail reception where we got free drinks and snacks by the pool. This was very generous of them! The manager is a lovely guy and does his job very well.

Some people may complain about the location of the hotel, saying it is too remote. For us, it was perfect. Samui is a small island (you can drive around it in 90 minutes), so actually nowhere is impossibly "remote" if you have a car. In my opinion, the south of the island is the most beautiful. It is unspoilt and still has that element of wildnerness to it, which is totally lost in places like Chaweng and increasingly in Maenam and Bophut. There are restaurants and shops everywhere so food is never a problem! Lamai is a short drive away, and there is plenty to see and do if you head in the other direction as well. Fresh seafood around the fishing village, Thong Krut, was exceptional and the locals are very friendly! Chaweng is about a 30min drive - if you are into that sort of thing, you probably would prefer a less "isolated" location to cut out the commute. If you stay at Shasa, rent a car and explore the beautiful surroundings and true Thai lifestyle and culture.

Shasa is located right on top of a lagoon which seems to be mainly comprised of bits of coral. Tread carefully and wear protective slippers to avoid cuts and scrapes! Once you get past the stony bit, the lagoon is deep enough to swim in and the bottom is sandy. I imagine that this lagoon isn't particularly child-friendly, but there is a sandy, shallow, and calm beach just around the corner as well (between Kamalaya and Shasa). The beach is dotted with huge granite boulders and rocks which makes it a very dramatic landscape as well!

To get to the beautiful sandy beach, just wander down to the lagoon, turn right and keep walking through the big rocks until you see the long strip of sand. It's only a 5 minute stroll through beautiful surroundings and that gives you that extra bit of privacy as well. The best place to swim is from the sand strip that appears at low tide opposite the hut that houses the kayaks from Mudra Samui (the estate between Kamalaya and Shasa). You can wade to a coral reef right offshore and snorkel to see loads of colourful fish!


Our holiday had little blips along the way, naturally. Our hire car got stuck on the hotel drive as the slope to the parking space was very steep. More a fault of the car design above anything else but perhaps the parking attendant should avoid directing low-lying cars to that particular spot in the future! Also, the day before we left, reception approached us to tell us that a lamp in the master bedroom had been damaged. We were out the whole day, so not sure when or what happened, but they left it at that without further hassle. Make sure that you report any room faults that you notice to reception asap or they might think you damaged it yourself! We also noticed that on certain mornings there were quite a few flies in the dining area - not sure what can be done about this as it is outdoors, but we didn't have the same problem on higher grounds such as the pool or our balcony or at different times of the day. Just a few small things that didn't drastically disrupt an absolutely wonderful holiday!

Our other favourite beaches were Taling Ngam and Bangkao, just before you get to the strip of restaurants. Both beaches were fantastic - crystal clear water, no rubbish, and very few people. We hired a longtail boat to take us to Koh Taen and Koh Matsum; both were beautiful, idyllic islands (we enjoyed snorkeling off of Koh Taen), but we were disappointed with the amount of rubbish lying around Koh Matsum especially. Actually, we found more peace and quiet on some of Samui's beaches as the little islands were quite crowded with visitors from different tour groups!

Shasa provides incredible value for money and it is not pretentious at all in its approach and hospitality. Before this, I thought Samui might have gone down the drain with all the relentless catering to tourists, but I am glad to have been proved wrong. If you want a holiday off the beaten track - close to nature and wildlife, sun, sea and good food - yet with the perks of pure luxury (at a reasonable price!) set within easy reach of traditional local culture, go to Shasa in Koh Samui!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Nina L,

May I thank you for reviewing ShaSa in Tripadvisor, we are so happy to learn that you had enjoyed both services and facilities at the resort, especially, our Beyond the Sea Restaurant.

Nina L, thanks again for choosing Koh Samui and ShaSa as your holidays venue, we look forward to welcoming you back here again.

Warmest Regards,
Omapatt Nuntapanish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    80
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
150
77
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

ShaSa Resort and Residences is a great place to stay if you're travelling to Koh Samui to relax near the beach. The hotel is located about 30min from the main town on a scooter and the hotel has scooters available to hire. The rooms were amazing and spacious, complete with a full kitchen should you wish to cook and a washing machine if you're on a longer vacation and need to wash clothes. The lounge, bedroom, bathroom and balcony were very roomy and had great views. The hotel breakfast was quite varied and the view overlooking the ocean and pool wasn't too bad either! We also had room service one night we felt like staying in and the food was superb and reasonably priced for room service. The staff were extremely accommodating which made for a pleasant stay as well. Whether you intend to use it as a base to explore the island or not leave your hotel room it suits both purposes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear roundtheworldin2013,

Thank you very much for your review, I am so delight to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass on your compliments to our team and do hope to welcome you back here again.

Warmest Regards,
Omapatt Nuntapanish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

First let me start my saying that the room is HUGE! It's like a 1-bedroom apartment with all of the amenities of an apartment, and a lot bigger in most cases. Also, it has a washer/dryer (for a 700 baht daily fee) but it's well worth the cost to wash your own clothes.

The customer service is just superb! They are very attentive and accomodating! We had to leave the resort at about 4am to go to the airport, and the staff prepared us a to-go breakfast that was far and beyond our expectations! Great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear JolandaDiva,

Thank you very much for your review, I am so delight to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us.
I will pass on your compliments to our team and do hope to welcome you back here again.

Warmest Regards,
Omapatt Nuntapanish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are a family of four, two teenagers included aged 14 and 18. I was so impressed by our 6 night stay at Shasa. I had booked a two bedroomed suite and requested block 3, not only did we get block 3 but they also upgraded us to a delux suite which was mind blowingly gorgeouse!!! The design is perfection.... The pools were stunning, both infinity pools... The photos of this place don't do it justice, the staff were fantastic. The breakfast is out of this world! We had some of the tapas, which make great snacks and they are served with such style, we all drank tons of their great pineapple juice ( you must try!)... We found dinner service at the restaurant a bit slow so we only ate dinner there that once, as we had a car we explored different places each night, I would recommend a car as its a little far out. Oh and their Mohitos are fantastic!! I can't recommend this stunning hotel enough!!! Thanks to all!!!

Room Tip: Go for block 3, floor 3 or 4, excellent unobsructed views!! And go for the 2 bedroomed deluxe suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear ruby11,

Thank you very much for sparing your precious time reviewing ShaSa, we are very pleased to learn that you had pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our facilities and services. I definitely will pass on your compliments to our team as well.

Ruby11, thanks again for choosing ShaSa as your holidays venue, we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest Regards,
Omapatt Nuntapanish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at shasa resort for 3days 2nights. When we first arrived the hotel,a receptionist took very good care of us and brought us to the room. We booked 2 bedroom suite. We are 4 adults and 1 toddler. Our baby is 13 months. The room is so spacious and functional. There are microwave and oven in the room. Our room is sea view. We felt so relax in our room.

There are 3 pools in the hotel. Our baby enjoyed the pool and kid club. We spend most time in the hotel. Let our baby using the pool and kid club.

Breakfast is ok. There are not too many choices for us. The food and spa service seems to be expensive.

In conclusion , the room is perfect for family. The pool and service is good. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Book sea view room. Building 2 is good for who bring a little baby As it is near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Jeungnee,

Thank you very much for your review, we are so glad to hear that you and your family liked our accommodation and had enjoyed your holidays at ShaSa.

Jeungnee, I hope you have pleasant journey back home and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Omapatt Nuntapanish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at Shasa. It was great value as we made the booking through Booking.com at cheap rate.
The hotel crew were very accommodating and welcoming.
The facilities at the hotel are great and well thought out.

However there are certain things that can be made better:

1) the interior of the hotel look tatty and "dirty". Bathrooms and kitchenette require more love and attention.
2) the tv in our room require some attention too.
3) there was free Internet which was great since my hubby needed to finish few things at work. However the tv programs available are not of good selection. Customer can always borrow DVDs from hotel's library though.
4) hotel does provide daily housekeeping services but it was not done thoroughly perhaps the reason why the hotel looks a little worn out. Housekeeping staff did not put away the dishes. There's was a few cobwebs on the very good looking chandeliers.
5) each apartment comes with the washing machine and dryer but hotel charges high rate.
6) The hotel is very far out, so definitely not for people who wish to party. Definitely require own transport like a rented bike/car.
7) food selection during breakfast perhaps can be changed each day to provide a wider selection for patrons who most likely stay here for more than three days.

Well, from a hotel that is 5 star and claimed to be of great quality and pleasure, one would only expect nothing but the best, a little more care and attention to the little details would make the stay memorable.

I hope the management at Shasa reads this.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Agnes Q,

Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at ShaSa.

Regarding your comments about our resort, we definitely will look into details and do our best to improve our facilities.

Agnes Q, we are looking forward to welcoming you here again.

Warmest Regards,
Omapatt Nuntapanish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

On there website there is a beautiful beach . In reality there is no beach at all.The hotel is so isolated which is not necessarily a bad thing except with no beach you are completely stuck.

The rooms are the best I've seen . They are huge ,more like an apartment . But staring and some muddy rocks was too much for us.

We think they need to remove the picture if the beach from their website as its frankly misleading.

We checked out early and I'm so glad we did .Now we are on a beach surrounded by other families with kids and close to lots of restaurants .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Kevin 1065,

Thank you very much for your review, we are glad to hear that you like our room, regarding the beach picture in our website we did took this picture from our actual beach during high tides period, we do apologize if any misunderstanding.

Kevin 1065, thanks again for choosing Koh Samui and ShaSa as your holidays venue, we hope you had pleasant journey back home.

Warmest Regards,
Omapatt Nuntapanish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui

Address: 116/1 Moo 2, Tambon Maret | Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Samui
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samui
#21 Spa Hotel in Ko Samui
#24 Luxury Hotel in Ko Samui
#33 Romantic Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic chic destination with natural surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shasa Resort And Residences, Koh Samui
Shasa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Shasa Hotel Koh Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.