We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - time to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Beach to your Saves list
Cinnamon Beach
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   199 Moo 4 Tambon Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 247 Ko Samui B&B and Inns
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent - time to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A nice and small hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. It is situated on Lamai Beach - a beautiful and peaceful beach. the location is very quiet, a bit out of the center. You need to rent a car or motorbike to go some where. I would not recommend this hotel to party people. it was fitting my needs and would immediately go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
22
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Small yet sufficient. People are friendly. Koh samui is a heaven on earth and the best part for me was that you dont get to see too many indians around :) The croud is amazing and the drives are awesome. I stayed here for 8 nights but still wanted more.... Hotel is located bang opp Banyen Tree and near to Lamui beach.

Room Tip: I booked their beach villa. It was spacious and at this price point quite nice. Dont forget to barga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I ended up at this property for two nights because the other Hotel I originally booked (Palm Coco Mantra) was overbooked so they sent me to the Cinnamon which is a "sister" property of theirs. Mr Sawat (GM) is a very nice man and tried to make up for the Palm Coco's mistake by providing very good service and upgrading me to a deluxe sea view room. The room is huge but as pointed out in other reviews, the A/C is very bad. Loud and not powerful enough to cool down the room unless it has been on for hours at high which is sadly a waste of energy. You will need to rent a motorbike or take a taxi to get around unless you enjoy walking in the heat. There is no beach per say so expect to travel about 10 minutes to get to Lamai beach where you will be able to swim. The restaurant is very basic and offers a very limited choice of items. I was not impressed. The Hotel is located in a very secluded area so it's always peaceful which I enjoyed. The GM told me that renovations were going to be carried out in the coming months so perhaps they will deal with the A/C issue at that time. On the pricey side and there are other properties which offer better value/amenities however, if you get a good price and are looking for a quiet place to relax then go for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

the hotel is not clean. staff can't speak english and its hard to communicate with them. ac is so old and noisy (sleeping with a.c is nightmare). mr sawat is a gentle man and really helpful but the hotel is avarage. sea is not for swimming. you must rent a motorbike cause hotels location is not in centre. lamai beach is 10 minutes with motorbike and its better then chaweng if you ask me.

Room Tip: rent a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khanom, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were very diappointed when we arrived , the decorations in the room looked old and not as shown in the Fotos ; the aircon was very loud and dated , when we arrived the reception was unattended and we had to wait for a considerable period untill a not very friendly man checked us in.The tiny access road was difficult and the parking problematic due very little space. The view from the balcony into the garden was not very nice with wood , although with nice seaview. Not worth the money we paid.

Room Tip: We shoud have booked into Beach Republic with a fantastic Sunday Brunch !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

A quiet wonderful place at Lamai Beach is worth visiting!! We spent a week in a villa over there. The great thing was that villas were fenced by bamboo and we weren't even aware of our neibouroghs. That was a chance to relax and stay away of anybody. The hotel was neat and clean, nice and friendly personnel, flowers were everywhere. Breakfast is ok not many varieties as it is a small hotel. But there is still a choice. We rented a motorbike at the hotel without leaving any ID or passports. I would recommend this hotel for the couples and those people who want to enjoying calmness and privacy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

When we first arrived at Cinnamon beach we thought that now we are in the middle off nowhere. And it was true, u can't move without a scooter. But if u are able to use one, there place is really worth of trying. We got a room from the top floor and our view was amazing! Rooms were big and must say after seeing some really crappy bathrooms, the one we had at Cinnamon was amazing. No problems with hot shower or that shower isn't working well etc.. Also DVD player and free dvd's on the lobby where a nice extra as it actually rained the next 3 days after we arrived.

So i really recommend but only if you are ready to use scooter :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Beach

Address: 199 Moo 4 Tambon Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Cinnamon Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Beach Hotel Koh Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.