We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Seafood Grill & Restaurant

Samui Seafood Grill & Restaurant
Chaweng Beach Road, Ko Samui, Thailand
77429700
Improve this listing
Ranked #628 of 869 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I received my meal 3 times and they still couldn't get it right! First time it was the wrong meal, second time they brought out the same meal but minus mushrooms. Third time they brought out my meal but I asked for rice instead of pasta and they got it wrong. This took all about 1 hour and my son was starving. Everyone had eaten except me and him. They were not helpful at all. I would not go back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    30
    20
    25
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

As most reviewers said (we should have looked before), food is so so, but service is totally unacceptable.. waited for 45 mins to get drinks, after an hour we walked away while our starters arrived.. cancelled main and went for another place. Most other tables had same problem, lots of people ran away... shame cos the location is not so bad..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
famagousta
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Use to be better..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Yes use to be much better and one of the most stylish rest in samui... Menu is still about the same if I can remember well. Nothing new for the last 15 years. And service not as good as it was.a bit old the place and the menu. ( Need renovated the whole place). And still little price....

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible service and over-priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This restaurant looks great from the outside and the bright lights and crowds pulled us in.. dont be fooled. We had to ask to be seated. We asked three times for the menu, waited ten minutes to get our drinks and an hour for our food to arrive. We only ordered satay and a curry. When the food arrived it took a further 10 mins to get any cutlery. The couple of the table next to us waited 20mins for their bill and ended up walking off without paying. To be honest the food was actaully really nice but the service was shocking. Furthermore, for the same food we had been used to paying less than £10 altogether, here is was £23. Avoid.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrible... don't be fooled by the outside appearance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I cannot discourage attendance at this place enough. Due to the appeal of Samui Seafood from the outside, my family, friends and I walked in off the street, quite prepared, at the time, to pay slightly higher prices than can be expected in Samui - we expected commensurate service and quality of food, but were very disappointed.

When I entered the restaurant, I had to hunt down a staff member and ask for seating. Once seated, we then waited a good 10 minutes for our drinks to be taken. Once we had drinks (which took a considerable length of time to receive), we then waited approximately half an hour for our food order to be taken - only after one of the member's of our group left her seat to hunt down a waiter.

When the food did arrive, it did taste great and was presented well, but the portions were particularly small in size. My seafood platter was more of an entree than a main meal - I was asking myself 'is this it?'

Then the bill came (after hunting someone down again). The prices on the menu did not include the 10% service charge and 7% VAT, which were on the bill. The prices in the menu were already exorbitant enough, without having to add another 17% (yep, 17%) onto the menu prices.

My family, friends and I come from a tropical, humid part of the world, but even we found the temperature and humidity at the table almost unbearable. There are no ceiling fans, no air-conditioning, and no breeze flowing through the place.

Overall, this place is not worth a look in. The experience of dining at Samui Seafood certainly soured what had started off to be a great night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samui Seafood Grill & Restaurant also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Samui Seafood Grill & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Seafood Grill & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.