We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing & enjoyable place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Passage Samui Villas & Resort

Save Saved
You added The Passage Samui Villas & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Passage Samui Villas & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57 / 6-7 M.5 | Angthong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 309 hotels in Ko Samui
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A very relaxing & enjoyable place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Pros:
* Place is relatively remote, so you can have your peace-of-mind & not meet the noisy types.
* Breakfast was great, and they somewhat changed the menu daily.
* The private pool inside the villa is really great. The public swimming pools are also quite good, and we swam there a few times.
* Nice private beach (although you have to walk/raw quite a lot before you reach deeper water - and there the sea current is quite strong).
* Good internet connection, and when you're sick of the mobile devices there are 2 desktops in the lobby.

Cons:
* The eat-outside options are basically non-existing if you don't rent a vehicle (we did just for 1 day). The dinner in the hotel's restaurant was rather expansive, and moreover - just not tasty. The next nearby places are a not a "Groise Metziah" (and anyhow are a few good minutes walking).
* If you want to travel around the island, the hotel has shuttles to Nathon and to Chaweng - but just once a day (around 10:30-11:00), and there is only one shuttle back (around 16:00-16:30). It should me mentioned that unlike Bangkok, the taxi prices in Samui are quite expensive, so if you plan to travel better rent a car or to reconsider this place.

Room Tip: If you consider paying more and upgrading for a villa - go for the one with the pool inside, the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    146
    36
    18
    9
See reviews for
98
231
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chinese
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I went arount the Samui island and found the beach in front of the passage resort have the best view and sunset. I feel so lucky as it is the first time I've been there and made the very right decision. I look forward to be there agian maybe next year, doing nothing but just enjoying the peaceful and fresh place.

Room Tip: Garden room is not a bad choice if you don't want to pay more money but you still can get the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had a garden villa for 4 days - lovely setting, comfortable beds, clean pool, clear seas, 20 minute walk to nearest town (shuttle bus available). Really friendly staff (particularly Franco and Roger).
Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The Garden villas were great, there are smaller villas available but these are too small, the poolsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent 8 days and nights at the Passage. We were initially there for a friends wedding which was beautiful and stayed on to enjoy it for our own Wedding Anniversary.
The staff (especially Franco) was warm and friendly and very accommodating... A special thank you to all the other staff... Roger and the other dining room staff and reception staff always greeted us with a smile and always very helpful.
The Pad Thai with chicken is amazing and nothing was ever too much trouble if we asked. The rooms were clean and sound proof since we had the poolside villa.
You can enjoy many beachside/sundown meals at the well set out decking area and can enjoy meals/drinks on the beach...
We would definately recommend this resort to anyone visiting Koh Samui....only one downside is the distance into town but if your looking for a quiet romantic getaway then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, España
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have spend 4 night at the Passage in a Garden Villa. I was very surprised about the beautiful resort, even if it is a bit far from city centre and isolate, we wanted something quiet and relaxing and for us this hotel was perfect.
We rent in the hotel scooters so we could visit the island without any problems, it is cheap and funny, the hotel has the rental service.
The room was excellent, good size, good decoration but the only thing is that, when we get into the villa the A/C was turned off, and it was so hot inside. The big problem is that the card that you have to insert in order to have turn off power on the room, is on the only key of the room. So if you go out for dinner, the A/C has to be turn off, may be the staff could turn on the air half hour prior to the guests coming.
Things that we think they should improve:
The cleaning service, the cleaning was ok, but they do not replace the bath gel or shampoo when it is empty, so it is necessary to go to reception to ask for more.
In general, the pool and the sunset was stunning, the restaurant was excellent and has an average price.

The staff, in my opinion could be more helpful and have more attention to the details, many people working on the resort but no one is taking care of the cleaning/order on the pool area (empty bottle of wines on tables for days, towels everywhere, and so on) and on the breakfast if there is a group or a baby the do not take care about the other guest.
The beach, could be cleaned more often but is beautiful anyway.
The spa, has gorgeous massage but expensive, you have on the beach another location cheaper and with sea view massages!the manicure and pedicure service is awful, they do not know how to do it and sometimes they "forget" your booking or you have to wait half hour.... no comments, i think this is the part to improve .

Anyway I would return to the Passage, is a good and beautiful resort with average price but not to the Chaba spa.

Room Tip: Garden Vilas are quieter, better not to book a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

So its 10 years since I was last on Samui, and it has changed a lot!! This resort does great food and fab cocktails at really reasonable prices! Many people visit the resort for lunch and dinner because of it. The staff are very friendly and eager to please. We did have an issue with the shower not really draining - reported it but not fixed and no feedback. On the whole some of the soft furnishings could do with a makeover....They are looking a little tired and shabby in parts. Our room (like a hotel room) was fairly plain but comfortable - no artwork on the walls - it felt quite bare. The massages available here along with other treatments are colossal! Walk to the beach (1 minute) and turn right.... U can get great massages at a quarter of the cost! Dont forget to bring your travel plugs as they don't stock any! The passage is in a nice quiet location, off the beaten track and about half hour from Chaweng - we enjoyed the peace and quiet and hired scooters to get around - fellow road users are a bit crazy but the roads are in good condition on the whole. I would definitely recommend it on price, quiet location, friendly staff and the most beutiful sunsets and cocktails on the beach!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muiderberg, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Now we have spend 10 nights in a garden villa. This was our second stay in this resort.
In particuloar the very nice accomodation, the relaxing atmosphere and the very friendly staff have made our stay there as a feeling to stay in paradise.
Also the nice sandy beach, nice sea, the palmtrees and the quiet and calm neighbourhood is a perfect solution to unstress and to settle down.
The open restaurant (the Terrace) is located near the beach and also the quality of the food is super. Breakfast (buffet) offers for everyone the food you like.
Anyway a stay in The Passage Samui is highly recommended!
John en Willy Haug

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Passage Samui Villas & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Passage Samui Villas & Resort

Address: 57 / 6-7 M.5 | Angthong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Ko Samui
#43 Romantic Hotel in Ko Samui
#45 Spa Hotel in Ko Samui
#50 Luxury Hotel in Ko Samui
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Passage Samui Villas & Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Passage Samui is a brand new luxury boutique resort on the North West tip of Koh Samui, Thailand. Stunning sunsets, refined beachfront dining and exquisite designer villas ensure your holiday memories will last forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Passage Samui Villas & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Passage Samui Villas And Resort
The Passage Samui Villas Hotel Koh Samui
The Passage Samui Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Passage Samui Villas & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.