We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, gorgeous location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Koh Samui Laem Yai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Koh Samui Laem Yai to your Saves list
Moevenpick Koh Samui Laem Yai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57 / 6-7 M.5 | Angthong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand (Formerly The Passage Samui Villas & Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 312 Hotels in Ko Samui
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, gorgeous location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just spent 2 nights at The Passage in a Garden Villa room. Rooms are lovely - big, comfortable and with really nice semi-private terraces. A few more TV channels would be appreciated but otherwise I couldn't fault it.

The pools are lovely, especially the one loverlooking the beach.

For a quiet romanttic holiday, the location is lovely - right on the beach, surrounded by trees and very peaceful, I walked into Nathon which took about 35 mins, however the hotel also runs a shuttle bus to both Nathon and Chaweng. It's also easy enough to get taxis into other areas in the evening, however the food in the hotel is pretty good and quite reasonable compared to other hotels.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    162
    39
    19
    9
See reviews for
113
245
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Peaceful and quiet. Resort fits well with surroundings. Lobby staff very helpful with all arrangements - like early pick up for 4:30am start in Nathon.
Breakfast was good value allowing in and outdoor seating.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just returned from our third visit to the passage resort and it just gets better each year. A significate improvement from last year is the amount of new and adittional staff membersrs That makes everything that much better. Breakfast is very nice and good selection. Beach pool villas are still stunning.

The passage is a brilliant resort with great staff to chill out and relax. We will be back again next year with friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a week here, planned as a relaxation after a week at Chaweng. The Passage turned out to be everything we wanted and then some ! Great rooms, clean, good size and everything worked. The restaurant was fantastic, great service and terrific value for money. Happy hour at the pool bar was a regular occurrence, with amazing cocktails and smiling service from Jo, Ying and O a highlight. The pools themselves were in great condition, with plenty of lounges around to catch some sun, relax and read.
The only sour point, typical of so many resorts, was the "free wifi" which was hopelessly inadequate and unreliable unless you were in the lobby or immediately outside it.
Overall though, a great property. We"ll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had the garden villa, the poolside villas with direct pool access looked great though !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We went for our honeymoon last November. I would say the beachfront villa is soo beautiful exactly as it was shown on the website.
The staff is so lovely. I and my wife wish we could go there every year.
I remember miss Pine nd miss Jum, I dnt know if they remember us, they made our stay a big memory.
The beach is quiet nd calm, u could relax seeing it from your villa, the food my wife liked a lot. They made vegeterian dishes for us, we saw their light festival, overall it was fantastic.
I recommend everyone to have an experience.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a great time at The Passage. We were a party of 4 (2 couples) and had 2 garden villas. Rooms cannot be faulted, very large and comfortable bed. My only suggestion would be for the terrace - we expected it to be more private, more garden.

The resort is beautiful. The pool area and pool bar are really fantastic. Happy hour (2 hours) was well exercised also. The beach in front of the resort is very well maintained but isn't exactly the beach of tropical island dreams. There are no jetski-ers though, and it is very quiet so maybe that's the trade off! The restaurant was good too, and we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there over the course of our trip. The spa was very good. We had a couple massage on the bed on the beach.

Nathon is not far but this resort is for relaxing and I recommend not leaving, except maybe for an island trip. We rented a jeep and drove around Samui for a day and although we enjoyed it if we could go back I would not do this again.

Go to The Passage! You wont regret it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilydale, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

WOW as you arrive & stand in reception looking over 3 pools towards the ocean.
Reception, pools, walkways, gardens, The Terrace, Villas - all spotless during our 7 night stay.
Garden Villa 211 - bed was large, solid and comfortable; no lumps or dips.
The aircon coped well keeping the Villa cool.
Complimentary fresh fruit replenished every 2nd day & 2 water bottles replenished daily.
Room has a small safe, bar fridge, single day bed, king master bed, TV & DVD player.
Bathroom was modern and looked onto a tiny enclosed garden.
I would have liked a lounge/daybed in the outside courtyard to relax while reading (& dozing!!)
Curtains were total block out and made a very dark room. Two small windows beside front door & behind two bedside tables had roman blinds, which did not block out all of the light.
It was windy most days, not always a gale, but on and off windy resulting in The Terrace closing weather blinds. Therefore meals had to be consumed inside.
Food was alright and pricey at the resort, but that is the norm.
Breakfast buffet was comprehensive and some dishes changed from day to day. We had no issues with what was on offer.
Hire a motorbike or car and be independent in your own timeframe.
Great food at nearby Nathon (waterside market & restaurants), and not be hassled by vendors.

Room Tip: If choosing a pool access room, consider the noise from other guests (children). Garden Villa 211 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Koh Samui Laem Yai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Koh Samui Laem Yai

Address: 57 / 6-7 M.5 | Angthong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand (Formerly The Passage Samui Villas & Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Ko Samui
#43 Spa Hotel in Ko Samui
#44 Romantic Hotel in Ko Samui
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samui
#49 Luxury Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Koh Samui Laem Yai 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Passage Samui is a brand new luxury boutique resort on the North West tip of Koh Samui, Thailand. Stunning sunsets, refined beachfront dining and exquisite designer villas ensure your holiday memories will last forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Koh Samui Laem Yai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Passage Samui Villas And Resort
The Passage Samui Villas Hotel Koh Samui
The Passage Samui Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Koh Samui Laem Yai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.