We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should perhaps be rated 5 stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Passage Samui Villas & Resort

Save Saved
You added The Passage Samui Villas & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Passage Samui Villas & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57 / 6-7 M.5 | Angthong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 309 hotels in Ko Samui
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Should perhaps be rated 5 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed only 2 days at the Passage and wish we could stay longer. The service is absolutely amazing - I have never seen anything like this. The rooms are beautiful and the infinity pools (yes there are more than one...) look out on the superb ocean. Free internet, books and DVDs to chose from in the lobby, loungers and palm trees make for a relaxing stay in the most beautiful setting. Rent the cheap motorbikes for a short ride to town or to the busy Chaweng beach. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation, with amazing service this is the place. I keep trying to find something negative to say and I just can't find anything.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a pool view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    146
    36
    18
    9
See reviews for
98
231
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This was a great resort that my wife and I spent 10 nights at for our honeymoon. The rooms were very nice and all we could have asked for. The staff were very friendly and always stopped to say hello.This resort is quite a distance from the main tourist track, so if you just want to do nothing but be by the pool or sit on the beach, this is your place. There was a daily shuttle to both Chaweng and Nathon which were very much appreciated as a taxi ride back to the resort will not cost less than 600 baht. Happy hour by the pool in the afternoons while the sun was setting was absolutely magical.
Overall, I think this is a great resort for romance and would not recommend it to families.

Tip of the Day: If you're interested in having a massage, my wife and I caught the shuttle to Chaweng and payed 200 baht for 1 hour instead of paying over 1500baht at the resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have just completed a 5 night stay at the passage and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was perfect and very clean can't fault it. Staff were attentive and friendly and always happy to help. Sunsets at happy hour by the pool bar were amazing. The grounds were immaculate. Perfect for people who want to relax and be away from the crowds. We spent days at the resort, not waiting to leave. I highly recommend going to fishermans village, 20 mins drive away. You will find a great choice of restaurants, beach bars and markets to explore. Wonderful resort for couples or honeymooners. We will return.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool have reserved lounges by the pool. We choose a garden room and it was a set back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We were happy with the quiet location which is a long way from any tourist area. I hink the resort suits couples who like a little quiet or families best. We didn't hire a car but did use the shuttle bus and also did an island tour and snorkelling tour on other days. we were there five nights and went out every day. We were always glad to be home each evening for sunset cocktails and laze by the pool. We ate at the restaurant each night as this was easy for us and we were happy with the variety on the menu. the garden villa was more than big enough for the two of us but we didn't spend much time there anyway. Communication at times was a little difficult and the front desk would always pass your query off to the restaurant, spa or concierge. I think they could have answered some of our queries and it would have helped us settle in better. The pool rooms did look inviting but the garden villa folk always met around the pool for a chat and a drink so you are a bit more social down near the beach area. Another small problem was I had to ask twice for toiletries which were only sparingly handed out. Because it was so hot and humid you need several showers a day and so you need toiletries!!!! All in all we had a lovely time but next time I would possibly choose a resort NOT at Chaweng or Lamai but along the north coast where there are more shops and restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Pros - Room, pools, restaurant, and grounds
Cons - Location, language barrier, beach

If you are looking for a place away from the general population this is it. Perfect for people who want to stay in one place and never leave the resort. If you are wanting to explore the island I would reccomend getting a place in Bo Phut or Chaweng. You'll have to take a cab everywhere from The Passage and it takes about 15 minutes for the front desk to order one for you. The beach is super shallow and dirty in a lot of places. I reccomend staying in the pools. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the restaurant staff is great. The front desk and shuttle staff don't speak good english. Our free shuttle to our next hotel ended up dropping us off in town and basically told us take a cab because they had other plans. Very frustrating!

Room Tip: Poolside Villas are great for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We booked through a deal website and still felt like we paid too much for this place, considering the accommodation available on samui for the same price, the passage just doesn't stack up. and they don't have a gym!

Room Tip: Stay with Mai down the road for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I just returned from 5 days at The Passage and it was superb. Staff, room, pool & food were all amazing. Such good value for money. Out of the busy thoroughfair but not hard to hire a scooter or get a cab. So relaxing and the staff take so much interest in making your day good with all the smiling faces who endeavour to solve any sticky situation. I left something behind and rang after being dropped off at departure place and the receptionist got in her car and drove down herself to catch me before I left and return my item. Thats service and all with a smile.

Room Tip: Ask for Taan. She's a sweetie who will always get you the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Passage Samui Villas & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Passage Samui Villas & Resort

Address: 57 / 6-7 M.5 | Angthong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Ko Samui
#43 Spa Hotel in Ko Samui
#43 Romantic Hotel in Ko Samui
#48 Luxury Hotel in Ko Samui
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Passage Samui Villas & Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Passage Samui is a brand new luxury boutique resort on the North West tip of Koh Samui, Thailand. Stunning sunsets, refined beachfront dining and exquisite designer villas ensure your holiday memories will last forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your The Passage Samui Villas & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Passage Samui Villas And Resort
The Passage Samui Villas Hotel Koh Samui
The Passage Samui Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Passage Samui Villas & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.