We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boudoir

The Boudoir
Soi 1 | Mae Nam, Ko Samui, Thailand
08 578 310 31
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 826 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent place for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stop at boudoir since some people recommended us to go there if we wanted to eat some french food.

We went there, its a french couple running the place, very nice people, friendly and we enjoyed our night there.

the food was exquisite, very frenchy and just love it with good wine.
Strongly recommend to visit this place if you are looking for something different.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    15
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Idiosyncratic setting but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at the Boudoir. Yes it is tricky to find but there are lots of signs to guide you. The new owners are a couple from Montpelier. They are friendly and out to please. The bar of the rstauant seems to be a popular hangout for the local French community which is a recommenation in itself. The restaurant is unusual - low light and partitions between tables whic feels like what I imagine a harem is like. The food is plentiful and delicious, very much like a French small town restauant. I had the goat's cheese and honey entree followed by Canard aux figues, which was cooked to perfection. The meal began with a slice of Pissaladiere, classically from the south of France. We enjoyed an excellent Cotes du Rhone ( from Gigondas) for only BHT1,200. The servings were substantial so there was no room for desert. Definitely worth the effort to find if you would like a change from Thai food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A great little French restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

In spite of of all the comments on TA, the Boudoir restaurant is actually not too difficult to find - so long as you don't look at any on-line map.

Driving west on the ring road from Bo Phut turn left on to Mae Nam 1 (otherwise known as Soi 1) at the Family Mart immediately before the first bridge, and then follow the signs - red, new and freshly painted. Driving east from Bang Po turn right on to Mae Nam 1 immediately after the second bridge.

The probable reason for so much confusion is that every on-line map puts the Boudoir in the wrong place. The most prevalent version places it just off Bang Po 1 instead of just off Mae Nam 1.

The restaurant itself is small, funky, colourful and interesting. Patrice is the chef and Magali looks after the guests, or rather that is the general division of labour between the pair. It appears that they took over the restaurant within the last year or so.

The two of us shared the baked camembert. It was big enough to be a starter for four. Came with three types of salami, a slice of parma ham and bread, Super tasty.

This was followed by seared tuna steak with small roast potatoes. Although marinated/basted in soya, it needed some additional moisture so we added some aoli. Could have done with a green veg of some sort. Beautifully cooked. The steak salt carmague was also served with roasted potatoes (only), perfectly cooked and great texture. The portions are quite large, so no dessert.

With a drink before and a couple of glasses of house wine (very good stuff for B 150 a glass), the bill was reasonable at c. B 2,500.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A French gem, and a romantic setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The owners are French and take great care and pride in ensuring your visit is enjoyable. The setting is great, I think it's their home - but don't be put off by this, it adds to personal touch. The food was great, there was a complimentary cous cous dish served with bread, then we had salads with goat's cheese and a honey dressing. Then pasta with chorizo and I had duck leg confit (genuinely, the best duck I have had in years).
More expensive than local offerings but definitely worth visiting.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A perfect eating spot... once you find it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Definitely one of the best restaurants I've eaten in during our Koh Samui trip.

At the beginning it is really difficult to find it. We were trying to search it by ourselves for more or less an hour on the motorbike and we didn't succeed. Later on we have found the taxi driver who was aware of the location ( he wasn't the first one we asked, so even this search needs a bit of patience ) and we have followed him down to the budoir...and this is the way I would recommend, at least during the night time, when the heading markers aren't visible at all.

But once you are there, you feel the atmosphere and you are sure that the searching process was worth going through. The atmosphere done by the French couple running this restaurant is simply amazing. And after you taste the meal you will forget any previous difficulties with the routing, for sure... The menu is not extensive, but every single meal we've tasted was more than delicious.

What to add... really the perfect eating spot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boudoir also viewed

 
Lamai Beach, Maret
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Boudoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boudoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.