We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet plance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge

Save Saved
You added The Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge
91/1 Moo 1 Fisherman's Village | Bophut Beach, Ko Samui, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 309 hotels in Ko Samui
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sweet plance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you are looking for a chilled, low-key type of place, rooms with balcony and sea views then this is it. This hotel is located in Bo Phut village which is more known for its quiet, get away from all relative to the mayhem of Chaweng. Shops close at 11pm while music generally also stops in most of the near by low-key bars at the same time.

Hotel staffs are very friendly and under a very helpful manager Khun Koi. There is a small restaurant, which is good for breakfast and some snacks with an extended patio to the beachfront. The selection is somewhat limited for dinner, which is no problem as there are many good restaurants of varying selections very close by.

The downside to this area is that the beach here has coarse sand, while the sea is a brownish color with some sort of a very fine black layer of muck on the sea bottom making it is not ideal for kids.

Nevertheless, I have stayed at this hotel many times and will do so again.

Room Tip: Ask for higher up floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby O, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us again and very much look forward to your next visit.

We are sorry that you found the sea water not quite up to par on your last trip. There is not much we can do but we do find that generally in Samui the visibility of the water changes frequently. Rarely the water is less than inviting but we hope that cocktails from the beach will always keep you coming back.

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
30
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Loddon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed at The Lodge for one night before flying out of Koh Samui. It is in the centre of Bo Phut but still manages to be quiet and peaceful. The room was comfortable, AC good, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and all at a good price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst travelling around the islands.
We were upgraded to the best room with a sea view.

Unfortunately on the first night there was a power cut and so we had to go out. I'm pleased to say this was fixed when we returned and didn't happen again. The air conditioning system in the room was not working properly and leaked every morning. We did have a fan and used this instead but it was very very warm!

The breakfasts and lunches here are great value! For 180 baht you can have a choice of cooked breakfasts/ pancakes, tea or coffee and orange juice.

The staff are also very friendly and wiling to help.

Finally the views are amazing here and whilst the beach is not the best on the island it is very pretty.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

During a trip to KOH SAMUI i went several times to "fisherman village" at bophut area ..a bit touristic but nicely done ..searched for a nice place to sit, not too big and peaceful...and I found it at the lodge ...first only for a drink but was so nice that i took dinner ...stayed their several hours and enjoyed the sunset...the food was very nice and the service also ..i came back here several times and the same experience ..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby O, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
It sounds like you got the experience that we are aiming for. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again! Thanks for the great review - it really helps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The first time i went to samui was in 2005 and i thought it was heaven on earth,but now it seems to have become too commercialised.However the fisherman's village in Bophut is still a great place to get away from it all.The Lodge is a fantastic place to stay if you want a relaxing peaceful holiday.The beach is just outside the back door if you happen to have a room downstairs and there are lots of restaurants and pubs nearby.The staff are extremely helpful and charming and all in all this place cannot be faulted.

Room Tip: Avoid staying in the room next to the Frog and Gecko pub as it can be a little noisy if you want an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Anyone going to Koh Samui for a relaxing break should stay here. It's situated in lovely area called Fishermans Village, which has a market on a Friday, which is great.

It's really reasonably priced, very confortable, rooms are great and air conditioned. It's a genuine stones throw from the sea (I tested it after a beer or 2). If you can get a sea facing room you have an amazing view from you room and the balcony is great for a beer before you go out.

The staff were amazing! genuinly lovely, they 'made' our stay. Always polite, happy to help at all times, food was great, people coming in to eat from other hotels.

I would recommend the Lodge to anyone going to Samui. I'd go again, no questions asked.

Thanks again for having us.

Nick :-)

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby O, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments about our staff are always good to hear and the staff particularly enjoy the compliments.

Please note that all our rooms have a sea view. Those on the ground floor enjoy easier access and a small garden area that views out onto the beach. All other rooms are on higher floors and have balconies over looking the beach.

We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice now and would stay again. The location in fisherman's village is great. Central and directly on the beach. The rooms are big and clean and nicely done. The staff and friendly, the food good and the MaiTai's are fab!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby O, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We are delighted that enjoyed your stay with us again!

We trust that you are both well and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge

Address: 91/1 Moo 1 Fisherman's Village | Bophut Beach, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Ko Samui
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge Hotel is a small and affordable hotel, fantastically located on the beach and in the heart of Fisherman's Village in Bo Phut, Koh Samui. All of its 8 en-suite rooms have balconies with unobstructed views across the sea to Koh Pah-Ngang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Koh Samui
The Lodge Koh Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.