We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C & J at Samui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kala Samui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Kala Samui to your Saves list
The Kala Samui
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   210/8 Moo 4, T.Maret, Koh Samui, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 311 Hotels in Ko Samui
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“C & J at Samui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had a great stay at the Kala, such a perfect place, with the best, friendliest and genuinely caring hotel staff that I have ever encountered. Samui is a great place to explore, however if you do not want to, you do not need to as everything you need is at the Kala.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, get a room as close to the lobby as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    162
    31
    23
    7
See reviews for
66
312
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Upon our arrival we met the most friendliest of people at the Kala, they offered us the best of services and were always available for any of our needs. Our view from our room 111 was one of the most breath taking views you could ask for. Breakfast was available at any time during the day, which was excellent because hubby and i could wake up which ever time we so desired. The menu of our breakfast was of the most tastiest we have had. After breakfast we could relax by the infinity pool which over looks the rock pools below in the sea, where you can kayak and snorkel at leisure. A short walk away is a serene and lovely sand beach. The Kala staff provide excellent company and service and the rabbit bar at the pool has excellent non-alcoholic drinks which is available at a buy one get one free rate during happy hours.

Definitely the best place ever to go for a honeymoon or romantic getaway!!!

Room Tip: Request the best, they all are!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had the most amazing stay at the Kala this summer. We were upgraded (for free) to the Presidential Suite and I have never stayed in a better room! Bath on the balcony, huge rock in the bathroom (with rain shower) where the room had been carved into the cliff, floor to ceiling views of the ocean-Amazing!
Staff were extremely attentive and although the food was slightly average, and the kayaks difficult to get hold of, the cocktails were beautiful and made with fresh juices (e.g watermelon) and great care. Perfect view of the sunset- so what is there to complain about?!

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms except for the presidential suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Perfect for our Honeymoon. Great service, quiet location, very relaxing.
Easy access to a lovely beach and close enough to down town when needed.
All day breakfast is great for those who like to sleep in on holidays! Especially when you tend to be out and about more in the evening when it cools down a little.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

First of all, the place : between Chaweng and Lamaï. Too far if you look for being in busy places, bars, etc. Perfect if you want quiet place and at 10 minutes from the 2 main cities of the coast. To have a scooter is the best solution anyway (and cheapest)
The team was nice. Helpful, and at your service. A particular thought to Ei and the manager.
The room was perfect I ve taken just the daily breakfast (and asian menus are great).
Anyway, a good place where to stand.

Room Tip: Take the Duplex Pool Villa !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I had the privilege of staying in our favourite hotel this year when we visited Koh Samui again. The Kala is a hotel like no other on the island. I have stayed in others, like Muang Samui in Choeng Mon beach, but it doesn't compare to The Kala. The food at the restaurant is fantastic - best Phad Thai I had in Thailand. The breakfast is served all day, so you don't have to rush to make the buffet in the morning. The staff take time to chat to all the guests. They are friendly, polite and they all understand English well. They are always willing to go out of their way to help you. Our check-in in process took no more than 20 seconds, far better than what I can say about other hotels! All the rooms have a view of the ocean. The views the property offer is simply breath-taking!! Everywhere you walk you can admire the beautiful ocean and carefully planned landscaping. I can highly recommend this hotel to any traveller!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. If you don't like walking up the stairs you can ask them to out you on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

very nice hotel, i had a nice relaxing time there, very natural. good service and friendly stuff, especially the receptionist name call Bubu, dont know the right name, he was very friendly and kind and funny too, nice smile and very helpfully, he ever help , if you have a problem or question, greetings to him :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kala Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kala Samui

Address: 210/8 Moo 4, T.Maret, Koh Samui, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samui
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samui
#35 Spa Hotel in Ko Samui
#39 Luxury Hotel in Ko Samui
#93 Romantic Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kala Samui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kala Samui is a small boutique resort ideally located in one of the most breathtaking bays in Samui - Chaweng Noi. The resort is nestled on a cliff with a direct access to the clear waters of Chaweng Noi bay that is perfect for snorkeling, kayaking and fishing activities that the resort offers free of charge. The Kala Samui is well well-known for having the most stunning all-sea-view rooms and villas in Koh Samui, our environmental awareness and personalized service by our friendly staffs. Wrapped in the tropical gardens and preserved environment, the resort is a perfect place to slow down your life and enjoy the peace and serenity surrounded by the natural beauty with the best views on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kala Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kala Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Kala Samui Hotel Koh
Kala Samui Koh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kala Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.