We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruen Come In

Save Saved
You added Ruen Come In to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruen Come In
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   79 / 3 Sirithorn Rd. | Chang Phueak, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
The Hague
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Serene and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Ruen Come In is tucked away in a peaceful compound, a welcome respite from city street noises. The rooms are beautifully done with wood panels and floors. The room as well as the bathroom were spacious.
The courtyard is welcoming with lots of shade, chairs and cushions. Breakfast is varied and each day we got the organic selection. The portions are generous, on the second day we had to ask them to reduce the amount.
The hosts are warm and friendly. All in all, we had a great time and will gladly recommend this hotel.
The only downside is the location, I wish the hotel was closer to town. Even though we like walking the busy streets were just not fun to walk. Luckily the tuk-tuk fares are low and the hotel owners are happy to give guests a ride into town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    16
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
63
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After a long flight to Chiang Mai we were looking forward to getting our heads down for a few hours. The route we took to the Ruen Come In was interesting, we saw lots of beautiful shiny temples. We received a warm welcome from the staff, they really couldn't do enough for you. The room was stunning...we couldn't believe it, the rooms were all booked prior to arrival so the top room was the only one available, what a bonus, Jacuzzi bath, big shower, more than enough space for clothes and kit. In the evening we had a gorgeous meal in the restaurant, the food was the best we had tasted during our 10 day trip all over Thailand. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to travel to Chiang Mai, it really is stunning and the staff are fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I loved this B&B.

Mrs. Mai is an unbelievable host. She went out of her way to drive me around the city, taking me to the market for some Chinese medicine and bandages for my blistered feet. She introduced me to the other guests at the hotel, including an amazing German couple who I ended up having dinner with several times and a very nice Australian couple, who went with us to the locals market. I feel like I genuinely made some personal connections with Mrs. Mai and the other guests, which is a very nice feeling to have, and one that simply cannot be had by staying in one of the gaudy super-resorts in the town proper.

Yes, the hotel is a little out of the way. Sharpen your bargaining skills and use tuk-tuks. You are in Thailand and, by the point your arrive in Chiang Mai, should be handy enough with negotiations to not get taken advantage of by the drivers. Otherwise, the hotel has bicycles available for use (which I did not take advantage of).

The breakfasts laid out by the staff are delicious and perfect. Get the Chiang Mai style friend chicken at least once.

The rooms are like entering another world. The Lanna architecture of the structure that I stayed in was so nice. It was designed by Mrs. Mai's son! Beautiful teakwood, nice spa bath. Beds are luxurious.

Ruen was a welcome, blissful relief from the insanity of Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights, brilliant. Solid teak and solid service, the owners are magic and grant your every wish, nothing is too much trouble---wish all the world-wide hotels I need to stay in were this standard--and price. My wife and I hope to return there in 3 weeks--if I can get in.
LATE REVIEW DUE TO GYPSY LIFE STYLE

Room Tip: Take a free bike,[not to keep] and check out the local town and side streets--full of little surpris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koloa, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We instantly fell in love with this bed and breakfast. The owners are so sweet and very helpful. Staff made us feel at home. Everyone was very accomodating and made sure we were comfortable. The rooms are clean, cozy and though "modern", still very uniquely thai which made them even more special. Location is perfect and you can even borrow a bike (for free!) to explore the city.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are beatiful and you can't go wrong with the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventabren, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

it s been just great !
rooms are outstanding (large, clean, comfortable and extremely raffinated), service was perfect (especially thanks to the owner of the hotel herself-and her husband) and location is ideal (5mn by bicycle - loaned by hotel - from historical chiang mai)
i strongly recommend this place for people needing a very relaxing break during their stay to chiang mai.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel was even more beautiful than I expected. Our room was HUGE and had a lovely big whirlpool tub plus separate shower. There was even a sauna in there (though we didn't try to see if it was ready for use). The staff were ready to help with anything you could desire (especially Mai, the owner). Breakfasts, which we had included with our stay, were just lovely. True, this place is not exactly in the heart of the action but for very little money you could catch a tuktuk and make your way closer to the centre of the old town. We also did the cooking class with Mai which was fun as well, especially the trip to the market! But beware - come hungry! ;) I also had a great 2 hour massage pool side for very little money. Overall it was a very pleasant stay!! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We paid a few extra dollars for the big room - didn't see the smaller rooms but ours was really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruen Come In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruen Come In

Address: 79 / 3 Sirithorn Rd. | Chang Phueak, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ruen Come In 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruen Come In is a boutique teakwood resort decorated in contemporary-northern Thai style. Please come and enjoy our family style accommodation and dine savory Thai & northern Thai dishes from our family recipes at Ruen Come In restaurant in the same compound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ruen Come In reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruen Come In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.