We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pocket of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Siam Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oriental Siam Resort to your Saves list
Oriental Siam Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40/1 Moo 2, Tambon Tasala | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pocket of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

A cool calm green space, tacked onto the edge of the bustle of Chiang Mai City, gentle manners, warm Thai smiles and a genuine interest in your well being from everyone involved in this family run business. Delightfully appointed rooms tucked in and around a beautiful garden at the centre of which lies a welcoming pool acting as a respite in the warm heat of the day. Lazy breakfasts overlooking a Lilly pond that buzzes with colourful Dragon Flys, tiny Frogs and Butterflies. Nothing was too much trouble for any member of the staff. Any request or query was greeted with smiles, giggles when they didn't quite understand our English but always they was a reassuring solution found. We will honestly miss everyone there especially the charming OI! Please if you get to Chiang Mai don't miss the experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    32
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
55
98
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This review is long, long, long overdue. My husband and I went to Thailand for our honeymoon and stayed at the Oriental Siam Resort during our stay in Chiang Mai. I was a little worried before coming here, knowing this resort was on the smaller side. However, it was hands down a truly excellent experience. The staff was beyond amazing, warm, friendly, and wonderful. We had a daily complimentary breakfast, made to order. The pool was nice and welcoming and the rooms were big and beautiful; each one was a little different, with its own personality. (We stayed in two different rooms because we booked the place rather last minute.) Our first room had its own garden. It was absolutely gorgeous. Our second one was simply gigantic, roomy, and comfortable. The staff just went out of their way to help us be as comfortable as possible.

The best part was unexpected and for this my husband and I are truly thankful - while we were driving into town, we booked a trekking/ziplining package called "ziplining with the gibbons" or something like that (with pooh's eco-tours). They were supposed to pick us up at 8am but had not arrived by 830/845 am and we started getting concerned. One of the owners of the resort came out, learned of the problem, and went back and called her inside contacts at the eco-tour company on a private line and cleared everything up for us (the tour company did not have our information for some reason, or it had gotten lost, I'm not entirely certain, but we had prepaid for the package). In less than 15 minutes, the eco-tour company van/bus picked us up and we were on our way for the day. I will never forget how wonderful she was in helping us. We didn't even have to ask! She just knew we were waiting for someone to come pick us up, saw that we had been waiting for awhile, asked what we were waiting for, and then went back and made some calls and helped us out completely unexpectedly. This is the type of service you cannot buy. Just a wonderful, wonderful group of people running this very well done establishment. My husband Robert and I will stay no where else in Chiang Mai; they have definitely won our loyalty. Thank you so much Oriental Siam Resort!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolhapur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

our family of four stayed here in may 2014 for three nights , excellent warm friendly service appropriately priced , rooms are large ,big toilets , clean swimming pool allowed to swim in night as well, cars vans at service . they arranged tiger ,elephant safari and hipline for us kids enjoyed every moment ,
morning hashbrowns , yummy thai green curry ...wow god take me there again...
Pongsri and family keep it up
Dr Sachin Kulkarni

Room Tip: villa are beautiful take friends and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a treat whilst travelling around South East Asia last year. I can honestly say that as soon as we stepped foot in the resort we didn't want to leave! The owners are so welcoming and cannot do enough to help. They took all stress away by organising and recommending a variety of trips and their taxi service with friendly driver is fantastic. We spent many an evening chatting with Pongsri, her husband and the lovely restaurant staff. After we checked out on our last day Pongsri let us stay in her accommodation whilst we waited for our transfer. They really cannot do enough to help. If you want to experience real hospitality in an idyllic location look no further. We will certainly come back :) Claire and Jon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my wife for 3 nights in chiang Mai. We had a very pleasant stay and were treated very well throughout our whole stay. Due to the fact that this is a small hotel it means they can give you a few personal touches. The staff were very sympathetic as my wife was ill and went out their way. I would add that I did not realise the hotel is a few kilometres from the downtown area but there is always a driver on hand which works with the hotel to take you. One other small point was that other than the general manager (Pongsri) and her husband (apologies if this is incorrect) there were a few communication errors as some of the staff did not speak English well enough so had to find someone who had an only slightly better understanding. This is a minor gripe though. I would have to say if you are looking for a calm serene place just away from the downtown area this is recommended. The grounds are lovely .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Lovely enormous rooms- gorgeous garden with waterfall, delicious breakfast, pool and the staff are wonderful. The owners helped us arrange all our trips and her brother drove us round. Great value and so easy and relaxing. Very quiet too as bit out of town but only 10minutes by tuk tuk and cheap to get back after a night out. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Highly recommend. It was part 2 of our honeymoon and great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

A Very nice hotel for a family with young children.
All employees treat us like family. My daughter got a lots hugs there.
Thanks for manager Pongsri kindness response for my many question.
Please ask help for Golf if you need any transportation request.

The advantages are just like what other people mentioned.
There are only somethings are not convenient to us:
1. the air-conditioner is not cold enough
2. the faucet is not convenient to use
3. too many mosquito

Anyway, we have a very good impressions in this resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oriental Siam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Siam Resort

Address: 40/1 Moo 2, Tambon Tasala | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriental Siam Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Siam Resort is situated within 15 minutes from the airport & city centre, only 5-10 minutes from the Arts & Crafts villages, restaurants, shopping mall. There are many tourists attractions nearby such as hot springs, cave, Underground Ancient City, golf courses and sport activities for the thrill seekers. At The Oriental Siam Resort, our English and Dutch speaking staff promise you an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Oriental Siam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Siam Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Siam Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.