We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting break from temple viewing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scorpion-Tailed River Cruise

Scorpion-Tailed River Cruise
Charoenrad Rd | 200 meters north from Nakorn Ping Bridge, opposite Sri Khong Temple, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
+66 81 960 9398
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Note : ON 26 November 2014 got award tourist boat standard from TAT(Thailand)! Cruising the Ping River with the Chiang Mai's unique boats seeing an old town heaven. Then tourists are given a brief about the historical about along thePing river.The river cruise offers lively picturesque of several historical places along the riverbanks in the past,Delicious desserts shall be served for free and relax at the garden set in tropical garden by riverside.Beware:You have to check you are get the right boat landing or not. Because all local car try to take you to wrong boat.Don't pay money before you get the right boat.
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Interesting break from temple viewing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

There are not many tours on the River Ping, so my wife and I opted for this one.
You will be greeted by a lovely old gentleman who will remind you of Mr Sulu from Star Trek.
There is a little break in the tour where Mr Sulu takes you to his house on the river bank and give you a 20 minute lecture on the flora and fauna in his garden.
There is a little light meal of sticky rice and mango and a lychee juice, all very nice.
The cruise then continues along the river with a very informative narration of the landmarks, with the aid of some old original photographs.
Point to note, this trip lasts only 70-90 minutes and costs THB500 each.
Last week I took a boat trip from Ao Nang taking in 7 islands with numerous snorkelling opportunities, lasting approximately 7 hours with a beautiful BBQ sunset beach event near the end. That cost THB400 each.
Good Mr Sulu, but I think you need to reign in the dilithium crystal and turn down the warp engines!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    53
    13
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely little tour with a very nice guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this river boat tour. The guide was a sweet old Thai man born and raised in Chiang Mai and his kindness and sense of humour really made the tour for us. He shared some interesting historical info with us about Chiang Mai and supplied us with a nice snack of lychee juice and mango with sticky rice in a garden setting. We did a late afternoon cruise and there was only one other couple with us on the boat, so we had lots of opportunity to ask the guide questions which was nice.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A worthwhile little cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We took time away from the beautiful temples of Chiang Mai to spend a leisurely couple of hours on the River Ping. Our guide was an elderly Thai gentleman who spoke quite good English and showed us points of interest, aided by some quite old photographs! He had a good sense of humour and was very informative when we stopped at a small garden to look at and photograph various plants and fruits, where we also enjoyed the sticky rice and mango provided as part of the tour. Our two little grandsons ages 3 and 7 really enjoyed this trip. Definitely recommended as part of any visit to this lovely city.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Lovely little boat tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I liked this unassuming hour on the river. The old guide was really nice, and it was a pleasant way to while away an hour. The stop for some rice and mango was, ok, I think I would have preferred a bit more river, but all in all a good trip.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great way to explore the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Tours are going every 2 hours with great guide. You will listen to history of buildings nearby river and history of Chiang Mai. In the middle of cruise you will visit house where guide will show you Thai fruits and vegetables growing in garden and then you will be treated sticky rice with mango and coconut milk.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scorpion-Tailed River Cruise also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Scorpion-Tailed River Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scorpion-Tailed River Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.