We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Love At First Bite (Bakery)

Love At First Bite (Bakery)
28 Soi 1, Th Chiang Mai-Lamphun, Chiang Mai, Thailand
(053) 242 731
Improve this listing
Ranked #308 of 1,361 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Secret garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Make the effort to find this little gem, you won't be disappointed ! Pies, Quiche, Cheesecake, Cakes and loads more besides. This is the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of Chiangmai City for an hour or two, just ask a tuk tuk driver, from Tha Pai gate the fare was 80 baht.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    39
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A hidden gem of a bakery not to be missed in CM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Once in awhile you get that sweet tooth craving that Coconut and Jelly desserts will not fulfill. Do not despair, for all is not lost in the Labyrinth of Soi's, Alleys, and cul de sacs of CM. You just have to know where to go, and being pointed out by, and mapped out by a sweet young Thai waitress of where "The best cakes in Northern Thailand" are is a road me and my wife were willing to follow. It is down a small road off a main road, and there is a sign that you can easily miss if you blink.............so go slow.

Ok, once we found motorbike parking outside (no traffic allowed within the property area) we wandered around still looking for the place. Luckily there was a friendly guard in the area who seemed to instinctively know that we were in some kind of sugar deficit trance, and pointed in the right direction. Found it!! Well, the multiple upright fridges in the gallery are filled with alle e kinds of offerings, and I think it would be amiss to just try 1, so I didn't.:), and neither did the wife. I had a Tiramasu, followed by Key Lime Pie and a Cafe Americano, and she a Chocolate Cream cake, followed by a Blueberry Cheese cake, and the same Coffee.

Taking in the surroundings, the falling rain, the sanctity of chirping birds and the delicate rich tastes of everything on our table was euphoric........I think my sweet fix will last for another month after this, but if not, I am heading back here!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Place for Tea Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Location/Info:
-It is a bit hidden and I got lost once trying to find this place, walking from Royal Princess Hotel, supposedly will takes about 15minutes but I took 45minutes...
-They close on Monday.
-Opening hour is 10:30AM - 6:00PM, Tuesday to Sunday.
-Website: www.loveatfirstbite-cm.com/‎
-Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/loveatfirstbitefanclub

Environment:
-It's cute and really like a little heaven underneath the trees and wooden hut.
-I think the merchant really put lot of efforts in building this place.

Food & Beverage:
-I know some people will say it's pricey but to me it's reasonable because it is about the same in my country, a cup of coffee and a piece of cake will cost about USD3-4.
-They have other food like burger and all, varieties of food and beverage for you to choose.
-I LOVE the Tiramisu cake.
-Coffee is normal but still better than some places.

Staff:
-There are few staffs and they dress good in their uniform, very pleasantly.
-Helpful and just right.

Overall Experience:
-I didn't get to taste all the cakes / drinks, only ordered Tiramisu and Strawberry Cheesecake, a cuppa hot coffee and iced coffee

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Set in beautiful gardens off a small street from the river is this delightful cafe. The owners house is in the grounds and you will often see the energetic and graceful owner chatting with guests and staff.
Superb home baked cream cakes, quiches and savoury pies.
Sit out in the garden or the air conditioned cafe listening to quiet jazz.
A real find, well worth looking for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Losone, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice place but a bit pricey...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I've been there once with friends and family. It's a nice place for an afternoon coffee or tea with a piece of cake. There are choices of cakes and drinks for you too choose. Excellent atmosphere with seating outside. Personally i think it's a little bit pricey.... It's a bit difficult to find a car park.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Love At First Bite (Bakery) also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Love At First Bite (Bakery)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Love At First Bite (Bakery), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.