We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Nimmanhaemin Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Kantary for a brief visit to Chiang Mai and the hotel was very good overall. The staff are excellent: friendly and helpful. The hotel is a little off the beaten track but using the red taxis is a cheap and easy way to get around. We did one tuk tuk journey and that was enough unless you are feeling adventurous! The room, a deluxe, was a good size but quite dark and a little damp which we did mention to the staff. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection of Thai and other foods. We ate at the restaurant one evening and the food was excellent and accompanied by a talented guitarist. We would recommend this hotel for couples who want to explore the city. The night market is good fun and the city quite a nice place to spend an afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, is pleased to have your informative feedback and to know your recent stay with us was enjoyable and pleasant with good service from our attentive, friendly and helpful staff. Thanks for your recommendation of a location from which to explore the City of Chiang Mai and surrounding area. We hope to see and serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    134
    27
    4
    6
See reviews for
59
124
31
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is really nice and clean. Everything you want as a tourist.
Breakfast is excellent, nothing bad to say about it.

The BIG problem is the staff, really not nice.
You ask for something in the lobby and no one smiles!!!
no courtesy!

The other thing I DONT UNDERSTAND is why the bigger and better the hotel, the worst the internet service they give.

They charge you for wifi in room. (20 usd per day.... for one device!!!!!)
The only choice they gave you was to use the lobby wifi.

I traveled through Cambodia, Indonesia and Thailand, and every hotel had free wifi in rooms.
If you are paying a reasonable price, for me, wifi in room is a MUST.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, appreciates the time you have taken to provide feedback on your recent stay with us in which we have shared with our management team. We would also like to apologise for failing to meet your expectations in certain areas.

Our lobby staff have been briefed and training has been carried out to ensure that our guests are always welcomed with a smile which is what our guests here at the Kantary Hills Chiang Mai have become accustomed too.

To clarify, we offer free WiFi in all public areas of the hotel including the lobby, executive lounge, restaurant, bar, fitness centre and swimming pool. Our charge for in room connection is 150 Baht per day (approximately US$ 5) and our weekly in room WiFi package is 642 Baht (approximately US$ 20).

We would like to thank you for your positive comments and we are very pleased to know that you think our hotel has “Everything you want as a tourist”. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

As a regular traveller I must say the experience here has been somewhat shocking.

The rooms are nice and the location is great - the gym and pool facilities are also lovely, but the service training really lets this place down.

On check-in we had a really bizarre experience with both staff multi-tasking and barely giving us any attention. She answered 3 phone calls in the midst of attending to us, changed money for someone and was speaking to her colleague on matters clearly unrelated to us. And she told us we had to wait for a room - even though we were checking in at 430pm. On further probing, her male colleague said okay a room is now available.

In the evening we asked for a pair of toothbrush/toothpaste + shower cap which is a standard for any hotel of this pedigree. The series of events was really interesting. First, the guy from housekeeping said "ok" then asked the receptionist to call us back to clarify. They asked us to check in our kitchen cabinets - which no high quality hotel wld ever ask of their guests - but we did. Obviously the toiletries were not there, so we said so. To which the staff asked "Are you sure?". Then the housekeeping attendant arrives with shower caps but no toothbrush or toothpaste. He says the hotel does not provide this.

We call reception again and he says "we are a serviced apartment not a hotel, so we do not provide toothbrush". I strongly urge kantary hills hotel and services apartment to change its name then. This is a BASIC amenity for any decent hotel.

The final straw was when another staff showed up with some toothpicks as an alternative. I couldn't help but laugh in despair before closing the door.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for your feedback and apologises for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay with us. Your experience has been shared with our team. Our ongoing staff training programme will continue with an emphasis on English training and customer service for all departments. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We have 2 rooms at this hotel which are in the new block. Very spacious with kitchen area and well equipped. The location is fine we are are for 3 days and the everything is close by. Service is very good and the hotel has a good reputation. I recommend using travel hub for any excursions they have been excellent nothing is too much trouble and it is excellent value for money. A great place to base yourself for seeing the wonderful area of Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, appreciates your choice of staying with us as a base from which to see the Chiang Mai area. Thank you for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is set back from the main busy streets of chiang mai and had a nice quiet feel. There wrre lots of coffee shops and bars close by but not many restaurants. We had a great room with a washing machine which useful. Staff helpful and restaurant service good (breakfast coffee terrible!) There is also nice attached shop/cafe with smazing honey cake - try it!
There was a bit of plane noise at the pool. Maybe this hotel is good for a business trip or short vacation but not long holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for your informative feedback and looks forward to seeing and serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is located West of the old city in the Nimmanhaemin district, where there are lots of coffee shops, eateries and nice boutiques to wander around. From here it takes about 20 minutes to get to the old part of town due to the choking traffic. Our room had a kitchenette and combined lounge and bedroom and a nice-sized bathroom. The rrom was modern and well-equipped except for no iron & board which is odd for a serviced place (they do have an ironing room elsewhere). Our room overlooked a very large carpark, rather unattractive. The balcony was glassed-in which I found curious, until the evening when I realised that there was a night club precinct next door. The double-glazing didn't quite block out the booming base sound so I needed to sleep with earplugs . Otherwise the bed was comfortable. Also the maids carts were very noisy on the tiled corridors in the morning. I would also mention that they were quite slow to service our room, it wasn't done until mid afternoon (and they didn't replenish the tea/coffee).
The hotel has a good gym and good sauna and steam room as well as a nice pool area with jacuzzis next to it. The pool area is not great for relaxing due to planes flying overhead and many noisy kids playing around the area, which is not that large.
The breakfast served in the hotel was very good with a nice selection of quality food including crispy bacon , fresh cooked eggs, fruit & muesli and and revolving heated cabinet full of fresh pastries. There was just a small selection of asian dishes in the bain marie as well as rice soup. The only complaint was that it was hard to get a cup of tea/coffee. On both mornings there was no cup on the table and they hardly brought the pots around and we ended up serving ourselves a few times.
Overall a nice hotel with generally good service (but could be better). It lacks a bit of atmosphere in terms of Thai/ nice decor touches so may be better for the business traveller than the tourist. It is also a bit of a pain to get to and from the old city if you wish to go there. otherwise you can just enjot what the local area has to offer.
Note: on the corner of soi 12 is a small shopping centre (seems to be part of the Kantary complex). Visit the Kantary Cafe for good tea/coffee and the biggest most scrumptious crepes ever!

Room Tip: Make sure the nightclubs are not next to your room. Avoid 1504 due to nightclub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, Front Office Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for your informative commentary, after your recent stay with us, which should be helpful to other readers. We have shared your comments and suggestions with our team in order to improve our services and guest relations will be highlighted in forthcoming staff training. Many thanks again for your feedback on Café Kantary and the breakfast service. We look forward to seeing and serving you again when you next visit Chiang Mai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, in a 2 bedroomed apartment with ensuite bathrooms, a lounge and dining area and a kitchenette. We didn't use the kitchen as we ate out, but did use the washing machine which was a useful addition. A shame there was no iron and ironing board - although there are ironing facilities in a small room on the next floor up. The accommodation was spacious, clean and comfortable with massive beds. The bathrooms are also fairly spacious. We did eat at the hotel restaurant for one evening meal and several 'tea and cake' stops late afternoon - food was good, as were the breakfasts. The staff were friendly and helpful in general, but not very attentive, we did have to keep attracting attention to be served.
There is a small shop on site for basics. We used the pool once, very clean and nicely laid out. We travelled into the centre of Chiang Mai by tuk-tuk ( set a price with the driver first - we paid around 120-150 baht) to eat at night and visit the night market.
The hotel is well situated in a quiet area of Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool or the front of the hotel - ours overlooked a block of flats with con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, appreciates your positive and informative feedback on your recent stay with us. Guest service training is being focused on in forthcoming staff training. The convenience and courtesy, your comment on the ironing service has been shared with our team. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing and serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai

Address: 44 Nimmanhaemin Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#26 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kantary Hills, Chiangmai is the latest addition to the stylish Kantary Group of Hotels and Serviced Apartments, renowned throughout Thailand for offering the very finest in service and facilities. Featuring a range of spacious, elegantly appointed and fully furnished studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, the accommodation at Kantary Hills is unrivaled for style and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.