We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Nimmanhaemin Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel with fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in a serviced apartment for a week at the beginning of Feb 2013. The place was immaculate, the staff were brilliant and the food reasonably priced. The hotel is near enough to the action, it is still quiet enough to be able to sleep!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
As a great hotel with fantastic service, the Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, appreciates and thanks you for your positive endorsement. Hopefully, we will be seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    152
    31
    5
    8
See reviews for
65
137
35
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have stayed in the Kantary several times and I really enjoy it. It's contemporary style, the great location, very nice pool and the clean rooms really make it a superb place to stay. The only issue I have had is with the internet which isn't very reliable and not quite cheap.

Room Tip: the 2 bedroom studio's towards the pool are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
The Kantary Hills Hotel, Chiang Mai, appreciates your positive commentary after your recent stay with us and looks forward to your soonest return. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Kantary Hills is ideally located if you are a young regular traveller to Chiang Mai. It's on "Nimman" road, which is considered the hip street of Chiang Mai, dotted with nice cafes, chic restaurants, very happening at night with the hottest spots where Chiang Mai residents go on the weekend. So in that regard it it great. I am Thai and live in Bangkok and I do enjoy going to the second city for weekends to have a nice fun time with friends. And Kantary Hills really does feel like the apartment I wish I had in Chiang Mai. It's modern, spacious, and everything just works perfectly.

However, if you are coming from another country and it's your first time in Chiang Mai and you are expecting a more cultural or traditional experience then Kantary Hills may not be able to give you that exotic experience you are looking for, as it has more of a luxury city serviced apartment feel. But for me and my friends, it is perfect. We don't really come to Chiang Mai to take pictures of temples or elephant camps anymore (been there, done that. Actually, grew up with that). So if you want to spend a few days and pretend you are living in Chiang Mai, but with the most desirable address in the city for residents and in a great building, I would whole heartedly recommend Kantary Hills.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your hearty endorsement of the Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, as an ideal place, for a young traveler, to spend a weekend in the hippest part of the second city, as Chiang Mai is referred to. We look forward to your next weekend stay with us. Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Kantary Hills is located in the Nimmanhaemin Road district with an abundance of cafes, restaurants, coffee shops, boutiques, etc. A fun, trendy location. The rooms are very clean and so are the grounds. The food in the restaurant is very good and fairly priced but, of course, being mostly farang food, it is somewhat more expensive than Thai food.

The one let down was the poor internet service. There is no standard in room internet service although I saw an advert that suggested if you pay more (I am not sure how much) in room internet could be made available. I found the common area internet to be difficult to access. The staff assisted and after 20 minutes I was able to log on, not ideal. Management should just put full internet in all of the rooms and be done with it.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the pool deck and could be thought to have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Kantary Hills Hotel, Chiang Mai. Your internet concerns have been shared with management. To clarify, we offer complimentary WiFi in most public areas whilst in-room internet is chargeable. Your informative commentary about the local area should be helpful to other readers planning a trip to Chiang Mai. Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The location is convenient, service is fantastic, rooms are cleaned daily by friendly staff and the food at Nimman bar is delicious and affordable. It's true that you can hear the planes but this is just a minor hiccup as it is really not intrusive, even if you are just lounging by the pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for your positive feedback and is pleased that you “Would certainly return.” We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My sister and I stayed here in November for 3 nights; our initial impression was this was a lovely modern hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the main road.

There was a mix up with our booking (we travelled with Kuoni) and it seems we were allocated a room for a couple on honeymoon. Our guide kindly sorted this out for us and we were allocated a new non smoking room at the back of the hotel on the 6 floor. To get to the room we had to take the lift to the 5 floor and walk up a couple of flights of stairs; this wasn't a problem as we are fairly fit. Our problem started when we returned to the hotel after our evening meal at about 6pm. There was heart thumping heavy base music being played at a entertainment venue behind/ to the side of the hotel. I fell into a deep sleep and didn't the noise after a while. We mentioned to reception the next day but they either didn't understand us or comprehend how loud the music was. We didn't press the issue as we didn't think it would be repeated the next night. The noise level increased the remaining nights at this hotel but we didn't bother to complain to reception again. We should have!

The restaurants and shops along the main high street aren't too bad and if you want to go to the really nice restaurants they are only a tuk tuk/ tax ride away.

The buffet breakfast was ok but not as extensive as other places we stayed on this trip. I would however recommend the bakery as the ice cream was fantastic.

We would stay at this hotel again but would request a room at the front of the hotel on a lower floor.

Room Tip: Avoid the 6 floor, back of hotel next to the open air entertainment venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Kantary Hills Hotel, Chiang Mai. Your feedback has been shared with the relevant departments. To clarify, all of our rooms are double glassed and the back wall is similarly double glassed, and when closed they offer protection from any noise. Thank you again for your commentary and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We visited Chiang Mai with Kuoni on our honeymoon in November 2012 and stayed here for four nights finding it a great base for exploring the local area.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment overlooking the front of the hotel and found it to be modern, comfortable and stylish - just what we were looking for. It was great to have a refrigerator (store some cheap beer from the supermarket) and we used washing machine (we bought some washing powder from the nearby 711 shop which was cheapish to freshen up some of our clothes)

We didn't really benefit from breakfast in the restaurant as every morning it was a quick run in, grab something and out to meet our tour guide. However on our last night we stayed in to have dinner at the Nimman Bar and Grill as we had an early flight and really enjoyed the thai food we had (some of the best from our trip actually!) We also enjoyed some drinks in the bar area most evenings before heading out for dinner and a walk.

We found it easy to get around with the red trucks and tuk-tuks although the area around isn't great for restaurants we were a bit disappointed having said that managed for the time we were there (just!)

Overall a great base for staying in Chiang Mai and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for your positive review of your stay with us in November 2012, as a “Good hotel for exploring,” and “Overall a great base for staying in Chiang Mai and would recommend (it) to others.” Thank you for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai

Address: 44 Nimmanhaemin Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#26 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#39 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kantary Hills, Chiangmai is the latest addition to the stylish Kantary Group of Hotels and Serviced Apartments, renowned throughout Thailand for offering the very finest in service and facilities. Featuring a range of spacious, elegantly appointed and fully furnished studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, the accommodation at Kantary Hills is unrivaled for style and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.