We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Stay Package
Ranked #15 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harrogate
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great location in central Chaing Mai. We are a family of 4, and could not be given interconnecting deluxe rooms, which we found disappointing in a hotel of this standard. That said the rooms were excellent although housekeeping was slightly sloppy.
Had found a good room rate on Agoda so breakfast seemed very expensive in comparison so we ate breakfast out every day for a quarter of the price.
We enjoyed our stay but found the hotel too corporate/conference orientated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear FlosFamily

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay.

We appreciate your kind words on our hotels superb location and our value for money room rates.

We have also take note on the interconnecting room requests that you mentioned and apologise if at the point of check-in the request was not satisfied based on avilability.

We will definitely share this with all the team about the housekeeping services that you mentioned.

thank you once again and look forward in welcoming you back in the futures.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    302
    80
    19
    11
See reviews for
268
482
76
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The beds are so comfortable and the pool so nice I never left the property before lunch time. This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and will continue to come back here anytime I visit Chiang Mai. The only downside is I did not get to see as much of Chiang Mai as I would have liked becasue I found the pool so nice. The pool is good for sunbathing and swimming. The staff is very friendly and have good recommendations for resturants, etc. Highly recommend this hotel.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Robin H

Thank you so much for your time in writting us an inspirational feedback.

We are glad that overall you had a wonerful time with us in particular our swimming pool.

We would also like to thank you for your kind words on our team friendliness and and services.

We will definitely share this with the team and celebrate this together.

Look forward in serving and welcoming you back to Ther Shangri-la hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at the Shangri-La in a club suite for three nights in July with our two boys (7 & 5). It is hard to see how our stay could have been improved. Check-in was a breeze on the club floor. The room was enormous and well appointed.

I chose the hotel on the basis of the pool and the hotels proximity to the night bazaar.

The pool was truly wonderful and the boys loved it. The hotel is an easy five minute walk from the night bazaar which means it is easily accessible without you actually having to live in the bazaar. There are plenty of tuk tuks and songtaews driving along the road out the front of the hotel which will take you to any location in Chiang Mai (remember to sort out your fare before leaving)

The evening drinks in the lounge were fun.

If you are traveling with children I would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear BookbuyreMelbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to write on your recent stay here at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We are glad that you and your sons enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your comments on the superb location of the hotel, and the evening drinks we offer at the lounge and spacious rooms we have in the hotel.

It is only by receiving comments and compliments from a customer like your kind self that we know where we are and continuously stive for excellence.

Thank you on ce again and we look forward in welcming you and your family again to The Shangri-la hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My family and friends stayed 6 days at Shangri -La Hotel, Chiang Mai and enjoyed every moment of it, surrounded by tranquil ambience and excellent service from the hotel staff. The rooms were very clean and the house-keeping was excellent. When one member of my group fell sick, a nurse was available to conduct a health check on him. The food at breakfast was varied and catered to different taste and culture. Our dining experience at the Shang Garden was very pleasant with attentive waitresses catering to our needs and recommended excellent dishes to us. We were pleasantly surprised by being presented with a discount voucher for our next visit. After an exhausting day at the golf courses, bamboo rafting and sight-seeing, we were glad to return to the hotel for a cosy night in our rooms. Thank you, Shangri - La staff for making our stay in Chiang Mai a memorable week.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear KCL 315

Thank you so much for taking the time off your busy schedule in writting on a review from you recent stay with The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We are delighted to learn that you, your family and friends have enjoyed the tranquility and the service that the team have provided.

We appreciate your kind and inspirational words on the cleanliness of our rooms, the services by our housekeeping team and the in house nurse that took care of one of your group members that fall ill.

Your kind comments on the food variety and the services our team provided in the buffet restaurant and the recently opened Cantonese restaurant Shang Garden is definitely something that we will share with all the team together with the other experiences you mentioned above as something that the team will be proud of.

Its only by receiving comments from guests like yourself that made the team aware of the successes that that have continuously strive for.

Thank you once again.

We look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I am going to divide the review into 4 parts: Service: Room, Property, and Food.

Service: Greeted with a welcome drink and towels. Check in was a breeze. We immidiatly booked a n elephant camp tour with the concierge. We also easily booked a private yoga session and a massage. They were very helpful and easy to work with. We were given our key to our room. Of the 5 hotels in Thailand that we stayed at on our honeymoon, this was the only one that we weren't shown a personal tour of the room. We were also given daily fruit in the room.

Room: Stayed in room 521. The room was perfect and nicely equipped. Wi-Fi worked well. Bathroom was spacious. Overall, no complaints.

Property: The pool is top notch. Service at the pool is great. Pool boys lay out your towel, give you a pitcher of ice water, and menus. The grounds are lush and well landscaped. See pics. The spa was first rate. We were very pleased with our couples massage. The private yoga class was very advanced. I would have benefited from some coaching but the teacher didn't seem to care that I don't bend like a pretzel. The spa is surrounded by gorgeous lily ponds.

Food: There is a daily breakfast buffet and dinner buffet that changes nightly. We tried the Seafood buffet for dinner. The options were endless. The wife, who doesn't enjoy seafood found a lot to eat. The breakfast buffet was the best I had in Thailand. In addition to the usual breakfast items there was a sushi, omelette, and noodle soup station to my delight.

This is true 5 star property in every way and we couldn't believe how little we paid. We were very sad to leave.

Tip: there is a drop off laundry place just north of the hotel by about 50 feet. The lady will do your laundy and drop it off at the hotel for about 40 Baht per kilo. In other words she'll do your laundry for the price the hotel will charge you per sock.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Weids138

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

It was indeed a pleasure to read your feedback on your recent stay with us at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay particularly your experiences on the service where we welcome our guests with cold drinks and cold towels when they arrived into the hotel. We are also delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the services of the yoga classes and the massages at the Chi Spa.

Your kind words on the general hotel surroundings, facilities and food and beverages offerings are inspirational and we will definitely share this with all the team to celebrate.

We also took note on the process that you mentioned regarding leading the guests to their individual rooms and will relook into this with the team.

We look forward in welcoming you again in the near future to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Thank you once again

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Courteous staff but poor customer service. Poor transportation despite earlier arrangements via email. It happened for both my trips. Duty managers seem to be in meetings that last from 9 am to 3pm and customer service is passed on to inefficient second liner staff who could not be bothered to assist.




Room Tip: Very disappointing indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Mona O

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We do apologise on the setbacks that you have encountered and we would like to discuss further on your experiences.

We did send an email dated on the 10th November to be in contact with you, nevertheless, I can be reached at azmi.kamsari@shangri-la.com

Looking forward to be in contact.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Staffs are all friendly and very helpful. We felt that we were at home.
Especially the concierge advised us the best holiday plan so that we could spend memorable weekend at Chinag Mai, temples in the city, markets, and elephant camp.







  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Yuki T

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to lean that our colleagues have provided you with an exceptional service partcularly our Concierge team for organisisng your Chiang Mai explorations.

We look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.