We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BanThai Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added BanThai Village to your Saves list
BanThai Village
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Tapae Soi 3, Tapae Rd. | Changklan, Mueang, Chiang Mai 50130, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 329 Reviews
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here for 3 nights. Staff were helpful and very accommodating. They even opened up a blocked inter connecting door for us for our family. Wonderful bathrooms, beds a bit hard but that's standard in Thailand. We didn't have breakfasts at hotel so can't comment on food. Food is so cheap outside. Pool serves its purpose while small and often in shade, its cool after walking around the city in the heat, kids thoughly enjoyed playing in it. kids also enjoyed the two areas, lobby and a open aired library that had computers in for you to use. Wifi in rooms where free. dvd hire in rooms free. We had standard rooms at the back facing towards the pool and they were lovely. think all rooms you would be happy with - maybe except ground level at the man pool area. no real private area. After being in the Hilltribe villages (with Thailand Hilltribe holidays - this is a must do experience by the way!!!) this hotel was luxury as husband said!
If you go out the back entrance and head down Kampaengdin rd (main road behind hotel) you will find some fantastic st stall food, first massage place you hit husband said the best he has had, there is laundry place 30B per kilo ( not per item as in hotels etc) and well washed. All this with in 2 mins walk. Great location as you are also 5mins walk from night bazzar, and also from Talat Warorot (old markets). Found same stuff as at the Sunday walking st and Saturday walking st but cheaper here. A maze of streets to wander through. Don't miss if you are going to the Saturday walking st night markets (20 min walk 5 mins tuk tuk) the night lights at the Wat Sri Suphan (temple) and the opportunity to sit and talk with the monks. Whole family loved it. Think there is 3 temples that do this - called monk chats. And with this hotel you are 5 mins walk also from the old city gates. Tip don't miss the cart selling sweet rotis 3 mins down road on Thapae rd towards the old city gates. fantastic! 6B for a plain one!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    146
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
72
133
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

After three great days of touring Chiang Mai and surrounding area, my partner and I decided to pass on another day trip. We checked out of our cute guesthouse in Old Town and settled in at BanThai Village. Total urban oasis. Our room was beautiful, the natural light filtered through coloured windows was relaxing and refreshing. The A/C worked very well, the bed was soft (for Thailand), and the hot water was very reliable. We picked it because of its price and nice pool area. It was a great decision for a little getaway in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

BanThai is an awesome boutique hotel for the money. It's got so much character... It feels like you're staying in a Thai treehouse. Is it 4 star lodging? Not necessarily, but that's not what we were after. Scents of jasmine sweep through the place, giant snails cling precariously to the landscaping and everything's just so... zen.

Service was touch-and-go... Really depending on the staff you were working with. Breakfast was solid. Pool was nice. The location is perfect--you can really get most places by foot or very quicky via tuk-tuk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We very nearly didn’t stay here; I had my eye on a more expensive hotel but decided to compromise and economise on this part of our trip. So I wasn’t expecting much when we arrived at Banthai. When we came to check in, I was so impressed with the look and feel of the hotel. I honestly can’t imagine anywhere nicer to stay in Chiang Mai. The whole hotel is expertly designed in a modern but Eastern style, more Japanese than Thai perhaps. It has a very ‘spa’ feel, with gently flowing water and softly playing background music. There are two blocks, the first is built around the breakfast/bar/main swimming pool area and the other (where we stayed) is only a few steps away, set around a smaller feature pool. I loved the balcony areas on our first floor; they’re not private- they run along a ‘corridor’ on the upstairs decking- but they were warm and woody and a lovely, beautiful place to relax. Our room was fairly small but very nice with a beautifully designed bathroom featuring a great shower in a lowered cube-shape that you had to step right down into- I was a big fan of this! On the top floor we didn’t suffer any serious problems with mosquitoes and the hotel actually provides a couple of small sachets of repellent.

Breakfast is simple but ok, offering the usual, standard hotel fare. Complaints on Tripadvisor that the Reception staff were unfriendly are unfair. It’s not a ‘home away from home’ feeling or a place to go for advice, but we found them polite and efficient. It also felt very safe- there’s a security guard at night. The location was very convenient, especially for the night market. There is everything nearby that you could want or need, and all the local drivers found Banthai without any issues at all. It’s tucked away from the main road, which allows a real sense of calm away from the City streets. It seems odd that a place this ‘zen’ even exists in the middle of Chiang Mai! Chiang Mai is a great city with a relaxed vibe but it takes a while to orientate yourself. Coming from Luang Prabang, I was expecting a quieter, more jungly atmosphere and Chiang Mai didn’t impress much on first impressions, but the city really grew on us- and it particularly dazzles at night- so I was sad to leave this lovely hotel after just 3 nights. Given the price and quality found here, you’d be well advised to book Banthai and avoid expensive alternatives.

Room Tip: I would choose an upper floor because the balconies are so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Ban Thai Village is perfectly located in between of the old city and the markets closer to the river. The personnel is very service minded and pleasant. Breakfast is good, although prices around the pool after noon are steep even for Thailand. We loved it there, it felt very safe and secure from where it was located and cleaning was good. Nothing to pick on at this hotel. Maybe a little hard bed for me, but that's me.

Room Tip: I recommend a room on the second floor, less sound and mosquitoes, but no biggie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I loved this little hotel. Centrally situated though in such a quiet spot that you would not know you are in a bustling city. The room was beautifully appointed, large and comfortable with everything one needs. The bed was very comfy and I enjoyed having the tea making facility in the room. The hotel is in a couple of courtyards surrounded in greenery. One of them has the swimming pool and the other the jacuzzi. My room was in the second of these. The only problem I had was with the hardness and thickness of the pillows, but I admit that I did not ask the staff to see if they had others that would suit me better. I did not eat any meals at the hotel so am unable to review them. I would definitely stay here again if ever I am in Chiang Mai. The staff were charming and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banglamung
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Has been the second time to stay at this resort; a quiet and cozy place still very near to the center of town, the night market and other attractions. Nice and clean room with a huge balcony overlooking the small but well maintained garden and the pool; friendly staff and good food what else could one ask for.

Room Tip: Room on the upper floor having nice and big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BanThai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BanThai Village

Address: 19 Tapae Soi 3, Tapae Rd. | Changklan, Mueang, Chiang Mai 50130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BanThai Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banthai Village is the mini size hotel that tries to keep balance between the tradition and modernity among the changes of the world. This modern-Lanna decorated hotel, consisting of 23 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BanThai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Village Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BanThai Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.