We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BuaSaree

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added BuaSaree to your Saves list
BuaSaree
50 Moo1, Ban TonChokeLuang | Tambon Chaisatan, Ampur Sarapee, Chiang Mai 50140, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 502 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Family retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a great gem hidden just outside of Chiang Mai. Our family 'took over' this little resort and had a wonderful time. It has stand alone small villas and regular rooms on the pool. In the center is a great central open air covered area for breakfast, relaxing and socializing. The Wi-Fi was good and free.

The staff is wonderful and very accommodating. Breakfast was a good mix of west and east. They also arranged Thai massage for us in our rooms. Really, it was just wonderful and relaxing.

You feel you are out in the country and in the culture but still just a short drive into town or to the airport. Their van driver was also excellent. Highly recommend for a group getaway or just a quiet couple retreat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at the Bua Saree three nights, and wish we could have stayed longer. We had beautiful rooms next to the pool, near a lotus pond. The gardens were lovely and well maintained, perfectly complimenting the somewhat Moroccan style of the rooms. Being about 15 minutes from downtown Chiang Mai, the only sounds we heard at night were frogs. The staff was helpful and friendly, and helped us figure out how to visit several local sights. For a slight cost (less than renting a car), their van can be used to visit these sights
Authentic and relaxed, this place is not crowded: it only has 7 rooms, three of them cottages. They provide a simple delicious breakfast, and obtained local food for us for dinner.
Sitting on the patio in the evening, catching up on correspondence on the wifi in silence save bird calls, I can't recommend a place more if you are tired of the city, but don't want to travel far into the countryside.

Room Tip: The cottages are very private, but the rooms are next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Burasaree is a little gem on the outskirts of Chiang Mai. We were looking for a small quiet place to retreat and refresh and Burasaree did not dissappoint. It feels like you are in the country but you are only 15 minutes from the heart of Chiang Mai. The American breakfast is great with your choice of eggs plus bacon, sausage, mushrooms, and tomato. There is self-serve toast with a variety of spreads, a choice of teas, filter coffee, or hot chocolate. Breakfast is completed with a plate of fresh cut fruits. We stayed in a cottage room and found it roomy and comfortable. The bed wasn't too hard and it had one of the better showers we have had in Thailand. The staff were always obliging and very helpful without being over-bearing or in your face. If you are looking for a quiet relaxed break than Burasaree is great. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I was not able to make it to Buasaree when I booked the hotel but was allowed a replacement stay a year later! Even that the person I contacted told me they just mention about me when I wrote to them requesting for replacement. That is how friendly they are.

Lovely rooms, lovely surroundings and far away from all the down town happenings, night markets or cafe if you like to have a quiet and peaceful vacation. We arrived late at express bus station and Buasaree has arranged for a pick up. Also sent us downtown when we requested. Only 4 romantic rooms in this boutique hotel so you can occupy their resources in full.

Excellent breakfast too! No problem with not English speaking staff, order meal through 'touch screen' (they will show you menu' Just point what you would like to order!)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

After a long trip from Norway to Chiang Mai, we ended in this lovely garden in the Saraphee distrikt, just 30 min. outside town. Bua Saree is the most charming hotel with the nicest staff. Very calm and comfortable. We stayed four weeks and got to know the surrondings pretty vel. Bicycling is great and there was so much to explore. For us: the best place ever - and we plan to go back for recreation as often as possible. Thank you to Bua Saree.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at Buasaree. It is a lovely place to relax, quiet, comfortable and the staff are helpful and friendly. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Pros: Lovely rooms, nice pool with fountain, quiet location, excellent breakfast (English, American, Thai or simple continental), free wifi, bicycles available for touring local area, driver available for hire to go into Chiang Mai and/or visit local temples and attractions. Super helpful, friendly staff.

Cons: Outside of breakfast, the restaurant was really limited. Staff speaks limited English. Location is kind of out-of-the way. We were lucky not to have competition for hiring their driver, so we monopolized him the whole time we were there, but otherwise the location would have been quite inconvenient.

Room Tip: Cottages and studios all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BuaSaree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BuaSaree

Address: 50 Moo1, Ban TonChokeLuang | Tambon Chaisatan, Ampur Sarapee, Chiang Mai 50140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bua Saree, meaning beautiful lotus, is a unique resort offering relaxation and comfort in unique surroundings among rural Chiangmai getting you close to nature with all the comforts of a boutique resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BuaSaree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BuaSaree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.