We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, no hot water :(” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elegant Lanna Boutique Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Elegant Lanna Boutique Guesthouse to your Saves list
Elegant Lanna Boutique Guesthouse
11 Chaiyaphum Lane 2 Changmoi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 537 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great location, no hot water :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed here for two days before boarding with Funky Monkey, the location is ideal for those wanting a true Thai experience.

The rooms are average in size but supply all the essentials.
Beds, a safe, full size refrigerator, and shower / toilet amenities.

However the only cons I have are the following;
The bathroom was very outdated and filled with mildew. This was not a problem however, just cosmetic.
The shower head was poor and the shower did not supply us with hot water over our two day stay. It became quite annoying when craving a hot shower.

Would I stay here again?
Yes, if the showers were hot!
Room 201!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    42
    20
    8
    1
See reviews for
5
50
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auroville, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife found this place on Tripadvisor. It was a little difficult to find as it is tucked away in one of the lanes. But having found it, my wife and I were very happy to be there. We stayed for 5 nights I think. The room is very comfortable and the staff are very friendly. A few things could be improved though....lighting in the room is quite dim and it is difficult when planning out with the maps for the next day or using the computer. The bathroom is modest but comfortable but the showers need to be replaced for a smooth flow of water.
The place is well located as in distance from the market area and noisy streets. So when one returns for the night it is quiet, serene and definitely gets a good rest. the breakfast is simple but good enough with eggs, bread, toast, juice and tea or coffee. The best thing is fellow travellers who check in to this place. That gives an indication that like minded friendly people will stay there. All in all, it feels like a big family gathering once in two years where all come together, share their experiences and make good friends.
Parisa is a great host....simple minded and very friendly.
Thanks
Teresa and Bunty

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have stayed here for 4 nights with my best friend. First 3 nights prior to my departure to Chiang Rai and 1 night before I proceed my journey to Bangkok via domestic flight. My first 3 nights stay here were awesome, almost perfect! With huge room, comfy beds, quite clean, huge balcony etc. We were staying in the first room of the first floor. However, on the night we were arriving from Chiang Rai, we staying here again, but in the ground floor. Immediately, I can see huge different between these 2 rooms. A lot of mosquitoes, shower room have problems and quite noisy compared to the first room we stayed. You will see people pass by your room as it is located just next to the receptionist. So my first tip here is choose upper room, stay away from the ground floor. Location wise, it is located in Chaiyaphum Lane, which is not far from Tha Pae Gate, the indication of centre Chiang Mai. In fact you may ask your taxi or tuk tuk to stop you in the lane and it is not hard for you to find it. 7 Eleven is just outside the lane. There is laundry shop besides the guesthouse, cheap with very nice service and they will help you to iron the clothes. The staffs can speak minimal english and very helpful. Overall, this place is highly recommended and definitely I will consider to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Choose any rooms except those located in the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Pro: large room, balcony, close to old town and lots of bars/ restaurants, ac, nice garden, cheap

Con: lots of mildew covering the shower gross and a parade of Ants on the sink at all times of the day, dirt on the walls

This hotel is one good scrub away from being great and I am far from
Being a neat freak

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the Elegant Lanna in April after moving from another guesthouse and were really happy with the hotel. It is cheaper than some others, but you still get a clean room with balcony and with good amenities. The hotel is just off the main road, so access to everything is easy. The room had a tv, aircon and was excellent for the price.

Would highly recommend for anyone on a budget and wanting somewhere clean and quiet to stay in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I lived in the neighboring province of Tak for a year, so we would frequently visit Chiang Mai. Each time we would stay at Elegant Lanna based on a referral from another highly ranked guest house, Funky Monkey. We came to stay a weekend here and there and always wound up coming back to Elegant Lanna. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and it was just a ten minute walk from the well known Tai Pae Gate. Once we even got there at 11pm and the sleepy eyed girl working the front desk gave us a key and trusted us on good faith.
For an inexpensive, clean place to stay, look no further.
Thanks so much!
Brandon and Nicole - San Diego, CA

Also, for amazing Mexican food, go around the corner to Miguels...yummers!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I originally wanted to stay at Funky Monkey but they were booked and recommended this place. For 590Baht I had a very large double room with balcony, TV, air con. The bathroom was small but clean. The hotel does an ok breakfast for 105baht. Not sure how the price compares to other similar places but between 2 I think the room is good value.

This is a hotel rather than a hostel so not good if you're traveling alone and hoping to meet other backpackers.

It's just outside the old city walls and an easy walk to all the main sites.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elegant Lanna Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Lanna Boutique Guesthouse

Address: 11 Chaiyaphum Lane 2 Changmoi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 537 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely 14 room boutique guesthouse decorated in an exquisite Lanna Style. All rooms come equipped with all facilities (air-con, ensuite bathroom, free wireless, cable TV, telephone). We offer our guests style, comfort and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Elegant Lanna Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elegant Lanna Boutique Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.