We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grat place to stay in Chiang Mai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 470 Reviews
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Grat place to stay in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a wonderful oasis in the middle of town. The staff are wonderful, welcoming and friendly. we stayed with our daughter and son in law with 2 young children. The owner is a lovely person, who takes great pride in her boutique hotel. Our two bedroom suite was lovely. Breakfast was very nice with a choice to suite everyone. They have a bus/tuk tuk to take you to the markets which aren't far and are well worth a visit. I highly recommend staying in this hotel for your Chiang Mai stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    127
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
108
211
29
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The small resort is tucked away behind its street façade, not revealing the lovely and plentiful foliage within. The rooms were small, but clean and we appreciated the resort’s commitment to sustainability- particularly, the facility’s own soaps. The breakfast was lovely, with most items cooked to order- however, be prepared that it takes longer than you might anticipate so allow extra time if you have somewhere to be afterwards. The staff were generally helpful and friendly. The hotel is not right next to the Night Bazaar area, but transportation is easy and available.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My hubby, 4yr old son, elderly in-laws & I spent 4 nights at Shewe Wana. Booked a Deluxe Double room & Superior room. We took Thai Airways from Singapore and had to transit at Bangkok & hence the confusion as the staff was waiting for us at the domestic arrival area but we were at the international arrival side. Initially we thought the hotel had forgotten about our booking but we read such great reviews of the service and quickly made a phone call to the hotel and luckily it was sorted out within 15mins. It will be advisable to give the full flight details so that the hotel will know which arrival area to wait.

The staff were polite and helpful at all times. I like the bacon and banana pancake and had it for breakfast every day. On the first day we had the breakfast at the garden restaurant (outdoor) and thereafter we had breakfast everyday in the air-conditioned restaurant as the buffet counter had an Asian dish eg. noodles. There is a cosy café and it serves really nice Thai tea and delicious fried rice. There are computers with internet access at the café and while the adults ate lunch, my son enjoyed himself watching youtube cartoon videos.

The deluxe double room size is comfortable for two adults and a young child. We didn't need to get an extra bed for my son as the bed was big enough for the 3 of us. Wifi strength in the room is pretty good. Do like the quietness, greenery and flowers at the boutique hotel.

Personally I feel that the room could be cleaner. The pillow case had some stains and bed sheets are not changed daily. The toiletry counter in the toilet is a little dusty. My son got bitten quite badly by the mosquitoes so do ask housekeeping to burn mosquito coils outside the room and spray insecticides while you are out for the day. To get to the rooms, we had to walk a narrow walkway beside a small pool and I constantly worry that my son will fall into the pool especially at night because of the low lighting or on rainy days & it gets slippery. There is nothing outside the hotel but a small pharmacy across the hotel in case one needs medicine.

Tried the "All Inclusive Massage Package" which is a 2hr Thai traditional massage, hot herbal compress & foot massage. This massage package costs THB3,700 and without the free spa voucher worth THB1,500, I would not have spent on this.The massage is relaxing but pricey (Thai standards) as there are comparable cheaper alternatives in the city.

For the price of the rooms, it is value for $. Overall it is a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our family rented the big suite (in all of the photos) for four days this month and were astounded by the fantastic service, the patience of the staff, the cleanliness and the overall experience that made us feel relaxed and allowed us to enjoy our stay. First, they picked us up at the airport and were very kind. Most of the staff speaks english and they are very service-oriented. The room was cool, clean and spacious. The suite had a (free) mini-bar with sodas, tea and coffee. At breakfast -- which is amazing -- they remembered our favorites from one day to the next and offered us those dishes. They were attentive and kind and helped us understand how to get from one place to the next, calling cabs and tuk-tuks for us. One of the best travel experiences ever.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

A lil piece of heaven in Chiang Mai. From the service at the main desk to the wait staff at the morning breakfast, which was absolutely delicious, this place gets 5 stars on all fronts.

As a first time traveler to Thailand and Chiang Mai, I relied heavily on the comments provided by TripAdvisor to book my hotel as I was arriving late at night and wanted to have a place booked beforehand. I'm so glad I came across this beautiful boutique property, which is eco-friendly to boot!

When I emailed the hotel advising them of my late arrival, they offered to send over a shuttle service for only $10 USD. I also appreciated their help in suggesting points of interest and with booking taxis etc. The free tuk-tuk rides to the Night Bazaar were nice touch too.

For $85 USD a night, you can't go wrong here....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed there from 13th to 15th June 2013. The hotel is located just outside the city centre and the city is easily accessible just by flagging a tuk-tuk or a songthaew.

The room is clean but be mindful that do not leave the door open as mosquitoes will fly in and you will have an unpleasant experience feeding these little monsters.

The breakfast was good and you could order extra from the menu provided. I enjoyed eating the omelettes here.

The staffs there were friendly and helped me to book a 1-day tour to Chiang Rai. The trip costed 1,200B, a bit expensive in my opinion. They also helped us to book a taxi to airport when we were leaving.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Shewe Wana Resort only for 3 days from the 10th June to the 13th June. The Shewe is beautiful it really displays the true culture of Thailand. The staff are very friendly and can't do enough to help. Nim is the reservations girl and she was brilliant. I asked her so many questions before our trip and every question was answered. The breakfast is great and the day meals as well. We loved our stay here we only wish we had more time but Thailand has so much to offer. It is very quite here and peaceful. We stayed in 5 star places all over Thailand but the personal touch at the Shewe we the best. Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up stairs it nice to look down on the gardens from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.