We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel, wonderful staff and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel, wonderful staff and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We paid for the cheapest room so probably shouldn't comment that it was too small for a couple and toddler. The accommodation and staff were absolutely lovely. Breakfast is good. The hotel is situated on an ugly road and isn't much to look at from the outside but you can't judge a book by its cover. We stayed for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Although it is a not so scenic walk from the night markets, the hotel provides a great service with complimentary tuk tuks. I have no reservations about recommending this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    109
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
95
181
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I liked this sweet, small hotel in the city. Our room was quite small but the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff made up for the room. The organic products that the hotel uses are wonderful and smell fabulous. Our place was very clean and we will return to Shewe Wana. The mango pancakes and omelettes etc were so very tasty. We look forward to our return.

Room Tip: Ask for 25-27 upstairs...better view and not so dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for 5 wounderful nights. I was looking for some rest and relaxation and thats exactly what we got. Lovely rooms and very nice pool, quiet and peaceful. The breakfast is great, you can order everything from the menu, it was freshly cooked. I recommend the the banana pancakes and noodles soup, really very nice! Excellent service with great attention to detail and lady owner is beautiful, friendly and intelligent. We enjoyed talking to them, which adds to the many fond memories of our stay in Chiang Mai. I would say it is one of the best hotel in Chiang Mai, we will definitely be back to visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for 4 wonderful nights. As per previous reviews on the Shewe Wana I can only re-iterate how great this hotel is, excellent and thoughtful service, nothing is too much trouble, the hotel has a rustic feel making it homely but twist of modern and old. It has two lovely swimming pools set in tropical gardens, after being in the city in th day its a great place to relax. Use the homemade shower gels and shampoo they are better than anything you will bring. Breakfast was freshly cooked, I recommend the banana or mango pancakes with local honey :-) we decided to have dinner in the hotel one night which was well worth it, I would say the best dinner in Chiang Mai!

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be great, and they are all away from the road behind the main building with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here in August and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. It is an oasis of calm with beautiful greenery. The service staff is great and lady owner is beautiful, friendly and intelligent. We enjoyed talking to them, which adds to the many fond memories of our stay in Chiang Mai. The breakfast is great and as we stayed there for 4 nights, they went out of their way to offer us something new each day so that we do not get bored! That's excellent service! We will definitely be back to visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

i stayed here after a month of backpacking as i was looking for some rest and relaxation. and thats exactly what i got. couldnt fault this lovely boutique hotel. excellent service with great attention to detail, lovely rooms and pool area, quiet and peaceful. delicious food. a little outside town, but free tuk tuk to night entertainment. poor wifi connection in my room but fine elsewhere in the hotel. unique experience and worth the money

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights at the start of our 3month backpacking trip. The hotel is beautiful with two well maintained pools. Staff are lovely and very polite, always trying to help. Rooms are small but beautifully decorated with big beds. They are also kept well. Free tuk tuks to the bazaar run on a night and the grounds and entrance have security on a night time. The only
Negative is the location as it is around a twenty minute walk to the old town, however, transportation is cheap and easy. I would definitely return if I wasn't on a tight budget!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.