We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Friendliest Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rimping Village to your Saves list
Rimping Village
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13/1 soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd. | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,376 Reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Friendliest Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

We chose to stay at Rimping Village for 4 nights in early Feb 2009 as a result of reading fabulous reviews in Trip Advisor - these proved to be accurate, except for the one which was less than totally happy. The people here are just great - so friendly and welcoming, you feel like you belong here after just 15 minutes... they had us in stitches of laughter on the short trip from the airport to the hotel, which is located down a quiet lane, hidden from the noisy main roads and with a magnificient large tree in the front (it houses a couple of playful squirrel-like animals) but this magnificient place is just 5-10 minutes walk to the night market, on the eastern side of the river, just a 5 min walk to those fabulouus riverside restaurants. We were a mixed group, a couple with 2 adult children, and an adult friend with her adult daughter, and all our accommodation needs were fully met -and even though some of us did not leave the hotel till late in the evening, we were given full access to a special guest shower, and had full use of the hotel facilities until we left. They arranged a great elephant mahout day trip for those who wanted it, and a visit to the moutains was no trouble at all. Free internet (there were 3 computers in the lounge) was great too for those who rely on facebook and email - printing needs were easily met - these people are excellent and really know the area - cannot recommend the place highly enough. Food is delicious and well priced and the pool is just great. Stay there - you will be happy you came.

  • Liked — Friendly helpful staff who make succh an effort to ensure your experience is all good
  • Disliked — nothing - it was all great
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    259
    38
    4
    3
See reviews for
355
647
60
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
portland, oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at RImping Village. We were 3 people traveling together and the room was spacious and very clean. While the hotel was outside of the Old City, it was within walking distance of the night bazaar and great restaurants and shopping. The gracious staff went out of their way to arrange day trips and transportation and were always ready with a map to provide suggestions.
However, we would like to provide one caution. Because we booked through Expedia, our understanding was that breakfast would not be included in our room rate. Upon checking out we belatedly discovered that we had been charged for 4 days worth of breakfasts, when we had in fact never had breakfast at Rimping. When we emailed staff about this error the day after check-out we did not receive a response.
In spite of this error, we would not hesitate to return to Rimping and will absolutely recommend it others.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

We stayed at Rimping Village for 5 days in January and were impressed by this small hotel's service and amenities.

Highs
- staff was friendly and attentive
- impressive breakfast buffet
- lovely pool area
- our room was huge and quite well equipped

One thing to note, the hotel is outside of the walled city of Chiang Mai, near the night market, but a 20 minute + walk to other sites. If your feet are tired, they have free bikes you can use and a tuk tuk is quite cheap, too. We had a great time biking around the city.

Overall a lovely stay and we'd definitely recommend a visit

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

The Rimping Village Hotel was a refreshing contrast to the large luxury highrise hotel we took in Bangkok. Located just out of the shopping district and across the Ping River, the Rimping Village Hotel is a quiet oasis. A boutique style hotel, the setting is tranquil, with a nice property walled in from the street. Lush gardens and pool area merge to a restaurant. Rooms are small and simple, but well appointed. No bathtubs, only a shower, and no view to speak of from our room, but boy what a friendly and capable staff. They learned our names, room number, remembered our favorites for breakfast, had our laundry done and booked our excursions. Children of one family even found bicycles available there for their enjoyment.

Wireless is free as are two PCs in their lobby. Food was top notch, and the whole feel of this hotel is "home away from home". Only thing I wished for was HBO or CInemax or any other english speaking channels on TV. Though replete with most of the amenities of a large high rise luxo-hotel, the Rimping stays true to its mission. What it lacks in glitz or show, it more than makes up for in tranquility, location, and a staff that will make you feel like family.

  • Liked — Serene tranquil property, great food, and staff that treat you like family
  • Disliked — Rooms are simple and could use a future upgrade. No movie channels.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

Rimping Village was such a treasure to find! We stayed January 8 through January 12 this year, and we couldn't be happier with the selection. While it is not in the center of town, it's close enough to walk (I walked to and from the Old City three times in one afternoon) or bike (free rentals from the hotel), and far enough away to escape the sounds and exhaust fumes. If you're tired, a tuk-tuk ride is inexpensive as well.

The hotel is VERY clean (something that I noticed wasn't ubiquitous throughout Chiang Mai), and the staff is really amazing. For example, while we were waiting to be picked up for a cooking class, I was chatting with one of the front desk clerks about traditional Thai food. He asked me to wait there for a moment and jumped on his bike to run ot the market and pick up a specific sausage he said I had to try.

I would recommend this to anyone staying in Chiang Mai and will definitely stay again!!

  • Liked — Staff, quiet retreat, location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

We stayed at this hotel from December 27, 2008 until January 1, 2009. We had read such positive reviews of it and decided on it, for the four of us traveling to Thailand for the first time from Japan, but it was not easy to get reservations.
Our experience exceeded our expectations! The staff were positively friendly and helpful, the room as clean as we could want, and breakfast good, fresh, with a wide variety of items. The coffee, which is always one of our benchmarks for evaluating a place, was excellent.
I must single out Ms Wan, who went far out of her way to make us feel at home and comfortable and who was sensitive to our smallest need.
We will surely return next year.

  • Liked — Staff, rooms, food
  • Disliked — nothing negative
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Wow, first trip to chiang mai during the light festival and what a great trip. The hotel upon arrival was hidden down the back streets of Chiang Mai, but what a gem! They picked us up from the Airport as well. The staff were absolutely superb and couldn't not do enough for us. We booked an overnight jungle trek via them, and they sorted all the details out for us. They allowed us to store baggage there, as we returned to the hotel for one more night. The staff entertained children at the pool and always had a smile. Rooms very clean and tidy. Short walk to the centre (over Iron bridge), although the alley way late at night was a bit dark. Only negative is that the pool doesn't really get much sun, and the pool water is extremely cold!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Address: 13/1 soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd. | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, AsiaRooms, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimping Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.