We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous--highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rimping Village to your Saves list
Rimping Village
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13/1 soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd. | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,376 Reviews
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous--highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at Rimping Village for four nights in December 2012 and had a fabulous time. The staff was incredibly accommodating and extremely helpful. We asked about various activities and they were quick to offer recommendations that were spot on. They then made transportation or reservation arrangements, all with a big smile. One staff member went out and bought lanterns for us to launch in the evening, and taking pictures for us. The breakfast was good, with several choices, but not too overwhelming. If you wanted something that wasn't part of the choices, you only needed to ask and they made every effort to get it for you. The hotel was very clean and there was free wi-fi. We stayed in the suite with our two teen-age daughters. The room was very large and easily accommodated us all.

It is very close to town--easy walking distance. I highly recommend a stay here. If we ever return to Chiang Mai, we will stay here!

Room Tip: All the rooms were terrific. Although there are two floors, there isn't an elevator, so if acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    259
    38
    4
    3
See reviews for
355
647
60
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tregeagle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great boutique hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. They helped with cabs, tuk tuks, told us the price to pay etc. Clean rooms, we squeezed five persons, 3 kids and two adults, into ours. Try the prawn cakes at the restaurant! Rimping Village market nearby has very good market and a great coffee shop. Wish the pool was heated a bit. Would heartily endorse.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great location, you can walk into the centre (15 mins) but you are out of the bustle. Great service and the hotel is well equipped with pool restaurant etc. Breakfast is good, pool is fine although only one side gets the sun and so that side is often crowded. The rooms are a bit disappointing - we had the delthousand I thought it a bit small, the balcony which was nice faced onto our neighbours and wasn't very private at all. Don't get me wrong it is a great place to stay just for some reason I was expecting a bit more and I was disappointed. I think we should probably have booked the Rimplin deluxe room.

Room Tip: Go for the Rimpling deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were recommended this hotel by friends and were very glad we listened to them. The best part about the hotel is the quality of the staff and the fact that it is a small hotel offering peace and quiet. The rooms although adequate are quite basic and all surround the swimming pool. The hotel is within an easy walk of the night markets with some very good restaurants nearby. The old city is still within walking distance but with the price of tuk tuks we opted for this option on a couple of occasions. Breakfast was of a high standard and offered a good variety to cater for most tastes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed in this lovely hotel for 4 nights from 23rd November. From the minute we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful - bags were taken off and put in our room while we did a seamless check in. Nice, clean, well air-conditioned room with everything you could ask for to make life comfortable. Was in a great location on a quiet side street but only about 10 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of the city. Tuk-tuks only cost about 100THB right into the centre of the city. Good restaurant with an excellent breakfast buffet. Hotel staff booked us a trip with a private driver one of the days (his name was 'A'). Was really reasonable and he couldn't do enough for us. There was a blackout one of the nights due to a thunderstorm and the staff were waiting at the hotel entrance for returning guests in order to make sure we got to our rooms ok. I couldn't recommend this hotel enough to potential travellers - it kind of spoiled us for the rest of the trip as we expected the same level of service everywhere else and did not necessarily get it! Will definitely be returning to the Rimping Village in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Working in the travel industry, I was recommended this hotel by a few of my work colleagues. And boy oh boy were my partner and I glad we stayed here. We visited Chiang Mai in early December and stayed at Rimping for 6 nights. Everything was delightful - the staff, the facilities, the rooms, the luxury transfer vehicles, but most of all the location. Situated across the river, a 10 minute walk into the city/night markets, we found Rimping to be a home away from home. Such a quiet, peaceful area, tucked away in a back street with a very quiet and amazingly clean pool to come back to after a busy day adventuring. Their signature fig tree was really something special too. Eating breakfast and reading a book under the tree every morning was a great way to start our busy day. We stayed in a superior room and this was just fine. Large rooms, comfy beds and decent bathrooms. We also had a top floor with a view of the pool/fig tree so I would suggest requested a room on the top floor if this sounds like you. The hotel also has bikes you can hire and this was our mode of transport if we wanted to explore the city or ride to the markets or the local supermarket close by. The hotel has a laundry service with a local lady just down the road - cost was 40 baht per kg. Laundry will be delivered back to your room the same day if need be. We ate at the hotel restaurant for lunch one day and the food was nice. The hotel also organised most of our day tours with ease. All staff were so welcoming and accommodating and as mentioned before this place really felt like my home away from home. There are some cute little cafes close by too - towards the Meeting Room Art Cafe. Cafes and galleries are scattered along this road and only a 10 minute ride along quite back roads from Rimping. So so so glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Though a bit worried about the location we decided to go here because of the positive reviews. Having stayed I am now surprised at how good a rating it gets.
It is a pleasant enough little resort style place, with rooms on 2 floors grouped around a good swimming pool.
As others have said, one of the best things about it is the staff, who are charming and helpful.
We had one of the larger rooms which was spacious. Nicely if simply furnished and fitted out.
There is a pleasant open restaurant by the pool for breakfast - which is a simple buffet style offer.
The problem is the location. On the far side of the river from all the action, you have to go down a narrow, smelly soi to get then cross a bridge to get to the night market area (about 10 mins) then another 10-15mins to the old town. Of course you can always get a tuk tuk!
For the price (£80 in low season) we could have got the D2, much more stylish and a better location.
I don't want to do this place down but it seems suspiciously highly rated in Trip Advisor. I used to find rating reliable in Asia but I am starting to get less convinced.
Free internet, reasonable standard of connection.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are probably worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Address: 13/1 soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd. | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, AsiaRooms, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimping Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.