We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Tulip House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Green Tulip House to your Saves list
Green Tulip House
85 Samlan Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thank you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for a week during our travels and we couldn't have been anywhere better, very nice hosts, spotless room with excellent facilities and we were also given very good advice on where to go and what to do in the area which made our stay there.

Thank you again,
Ben.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    106
    30
    11
    11
See reviews for
20
204
121
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luang Prabang
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

we had a great time at green tulip house in chiang mai. we stayed there for a few nights in the dorm with air condition. the staff is very friendly, the rooms are clean and so are the bathrooms. they play house music during the day and you can have good local food there as well

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

If I could stay in a hostel like Green Tulip every time I went away I'd be happy. We booked a double room which opened to the large terrace. There are hotels with less facilities! I can not explain how clean it was, the bathrooms were spotless adding to the feeling you were in someone's house. Don't look anywhere else in Chiang Mai. Food is good and they have information about a range of day trips.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week and it was great. The rooms were clean and the staff were very helpful in telling us how to get to places and trips we would enjoy. Would definitely recommend this guest house :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Location is great- in Oldtown - close to the night market, but not "in" it, so it's relatively quiet. I stayed here on 2 occasions - once in a group (the staff even helped celebrate my birthday on the roof), and a few months later when I was travelling by myself. They helped us get rooms within our group (there were 12 of us), which was nice. When I came back by myself, I couldn't afford a solo room but they went above and beyond and let me stay 5 nights in a double and only let other female travelers stay in the room with me. Also, the Western toilets and semi-warm shower water was a Godsend after spending time in Cambodia and rural Thailand.
It is marginally more expensive than other places, but given the cleanliness, staff, location, comfort, and safety; I did not mind one bit.

Room Tip: Third floor is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very friendly staff! They wanna help you with everything and serve the best food (and red wine!).
Traveled for 3 months in Asia and I must say, this was the best place to stay. Very clean room, nice music and you feel so welcome.
Did a biking tour and carving and cooking class, both were very nice!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed at GTH for about 8 days. The value is really great. They keep the room very clean, there was a nice functioning AC, and it is not right in the middle of all the bar scene drama. They run a tight ship and are more than willing to help you plan your day or plan your stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Tulip House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tulip House

Address: 85 Samlan Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 371 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Tulip House is a small guest house located in the heart of the historic city of Chiang Mai. The atmosphere is relaxed and social, and our personable staff will be happy to attend your individual needs. We are within a five minute walk of the Sunday Market and many historic temples. We can arrange daytrips for you from a wide daily selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Green Tulip House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tulip House Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Tulip House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.