We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Tulip House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Green Tulip House to your Saves list
Green Tulip House
85 Samlan Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Nice and clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The rooms are clean and functional. The staff is really nice. This guesthouse is familiar and nice to get in touch with others. International and Thai Breakfast and other Food is available on charge and very tasty.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    106
    30
    11
    11
See reviews for
20
204
121
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Good location for exploring the old city, and all the wats (temples).

The hostel had a noise problem - bring plugs or use the pillow :)

Did not have electricity kn sockets, and staff argued with us about it rather than trying to fix the problem. Staff is also a bit pushy when it comes to selling tours.

It was ok, but I think there are hostels in Chiang Mai for similar price and with more charm - I might choose another one if I'm returning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

stayed there for 6 days. great location in old city. everything in walking distance . start off my hols by asking me what i wanted to do booked everything great with helping u. place is new only opened since October. everyone nice and friendly. Stella and niang(the old lady). the nicest people to met. i would go back. clean wifi good
ps. they just open the new place so there is always a couple of things still to be done.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great clean place! Music in the front is deciving as a 'party place', but its not. Staff mainly friendly but at times ignore you; but this could have just been over busy times. The whole place is really clean. Best deal is the hotel rooms at 150 a night. Location is not the best as it is about 24min walk to the main part of town in the heat. Most taxi's also dont know where to go (beware!). But if you want clean and on a budget, come here! The people in the hostel are generally really considerate also!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in October and found the experience fantastic. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotless and freshly painted. The best bathroom I've seen too. Its away from the main tourist area in Chiang Mai, but Chiang Mai is reasonably small and you can walk everywere in 15 mins. Staff were helpful fir booking onward travel too. Book your slow boat to Luang prabang here if you need to. Very decent price considering its distance.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Pros:
- everything is new and works perfectly (aircon, shower, wifi)
- bright, colorful rooms and halls, spacious
- nice common area
- very friendly owners, special mentions to the ladies of the hostel for being so nice to me with my medical issues
- very comfy bed and good pillows
- desk in the room was great
- rooftop will be fabulous place to spend time if they put some more furniture up there
- very good tour information and booking service

Cons:
- They close the common area and the front door before ten p.m. so if you come in after that you need to ring a doorbell and wake one the owners to get in. That's fine if that's how they want it but you also end up waking up half the hostel since the doorbell rings in all the hallways and it sometimes takes quite a few calls before the owner wakes up. Annoyied and kept us up on several occasions. Please, please invest on a numberlock system or something!
- It was also fairly noise on other occasions as well, the wall are thin as paper and you can practially here everything from the halls and neighbouring rooms. And the rooster next door wants you to get up at four a.m.
- The music in the common area was almost always too loud
- The free breakfast in nothing special, would've been nicer to have just unlimited free tea and coffee than a cup of tea and two slices of paper toast
- Restaurant is not good, eat somewhere else
- Location is not ideal, nothing is close by but fortunately it is easy to catch a shared taxi

Stay if you appreciate cleaniness and newness over character and don't if you want to actually sleep during the night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I can almost say only good things about this accomodation.

First night we choose a private room with two seperate beds, which was really good. Everything worked. A little down is, that even then you don't have a fridge.

For the rest we choose the 6-dorm room for men. Nice beds, and everybody has a safe-like deposit box under his bed. A down was in the dorm that the architect must have only thought about tiny Asian people. Every other person on the world had to figure out a good was to sit on the toilet. It was just not long enough for sitting. You had to arrange yourself with the door directly in front of you.

Another down was that when you went partying, sometimes the door bell for the hostel didn't work. So once I waited for almost hald an hour til after the 100' clicking on the doorbell worked. A keycard system would really make things easier here.

But over all. A 6-dorm room for 150 baht a night is cheap and the hospitality was amazing. And the breakfast is good as well. Tip: Order just a toast with jam and your favorite drink and you get it for a better price than the whole menu.

The last down we're the hens which wake you up around 7 am if you have a light sleep or havn't got to sleep yet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Tulip House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tulip House

Address: 85 Samlan Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 370 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Tulip House is a small guest house located in the heart of the historic city of Chiang Mai. The atmosphere is relaxed and social, and our personable staff will be happy to attend your individual needs. We are within a five minute walk of the Sunday Market and many historic temples. We can arrange daytrips for you from a wide daily selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Green Tulip House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tulip House Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Tulip House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.