We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming characterful hotel with wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Duang Champa

Save Saved
You added Villa Duang Champa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Duang Champa
82 Ratchadamnern St. Sri Poom | Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #73 of 487 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
n.wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming characterful hotel with wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We started our 12 night adventure in Thailand at this hotel and could not have had a better experience. Bom and her staff were wonderful. From the moment we arrived every care was taken to ensure that our stay would be memorable. My son has worked in Thailand for 6 months and is well travelled there and he agreed that this is a real gem,we were made to feel like part of the family. The hotel was gorgeous - cool spacious rooms, tastefully decorated and with a charm of their own. It was well sited, metres away from the main temple and close to delicious eateries - we particularly enjoyed Hot Cilli. We were fortunate to be there on a Sunday when the street came alive with the walking market, an experience not to be missed - delicious street food stalls, crafts of all kinds and a corner dedicated to massage, fabulous! Bom arranged tickets at short notice to see Thai Boxing and ensured we got the best songthaw deals to visit Tiger Kingdom, stopping off at an orchid farm on our return. Our second and final day was spent with the same songthaw driver who by now also felt like part of the family as he drove us to a waterfall and Don Suthep Temple which was truly stunning. my son and daughter followed on behind in a moped booked by Bom for 200BHT a day, a true bargain. We left Chiang Mai with sadness. I have no hesitation in recommending this charming colonial hotel and in suggesting that Chiang Mai is the best place to start a tour of this stunning country. Incidentally we booked an internal flight there with Bangkok Airways who were fabulous. So don't hesitate, book this hotel!!!! I only wish I could turn the clock back and start our adventure over again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
37
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed two nights this hotel. I booked a deluxe room pay a special fee. The very convenient to Sunday market will be opened on Sunday. However, I can not sleep quietly because the market is opened up to late at night.
Breakfast at this hotel is good. No problem bread, and coffee. Fresh juice is especially good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is in a great spot, right in the centre of Chiang Mai with easy access to everything in the Old City. The rooms are basic but comfortable, ours looked quite dated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all the location makes this a good place to stay and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We are a couple and a 4 year old, the place is nice an cozy, the staff is very friendly, the rooms were clean and nice, and very spacious the pillows a bit hard for my personal taste but I haven't found a hotel that have a pillow like mine at home.

The only down was the shower it didn't work properly.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Overpriced pretty much sums it up. Nice enough building but attention to detail bad (doors don't shut properly, awful shower, lights on the landings intruded into rooms, no wardrobe, not great staff, and I'm sorry, but charging a £10 deposit for your room key is a joke. This is more of a hostel pretending to be a hotel - and at one point the manageress/owner was shouting at the staff in front of us - not very professional. Pay a little bit more in Chiang Mai and you'll get a LOT better.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

What a great spot! Stayed here many times & it just keeps getting better! Friendly staff, fantastic central Chiang Mai location & gorgeous rooms all for an excellent value! Walk almost anywhere in the old city or get the staff to help you arrange other activities or transportation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was the biggest disappointment of our whole trip !
Over-rated and definitely over priced !!
For that money you will get more superior accommodation with swimming pool in the area.
Yes, the location was excellent, that is the only good thing I can say about it
We stayed in Room no 4. and Room no 2 at a cost of 2,400 per room, per night.
We were asked for a CASH deposit of 500 per room for our keys !! This is unacceptable .......it is what I would expect in a hostel not a highly rated hotel !!
No hairdrier, no wardrobe in No 4.
Showers were small baths with shower head over, no shower curtains, so water everywhere.
only 2 towels supplied, no hand towels.
On departure, the cleaner was sitting outside our room with laundry as if she could not get rid of us quick enough ! We then had to wait for manager to check out the our rooms before he returned our deposits . Definitely run more like a hostel !! They also have budget accommodation out the back called "Sparrows Nest" costing 700 per night..........all sharing the same recreation/lounge facilities. Breakfast was good, nobody spoke English, which proved difficult when I asked for hot water, not tea .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Duang Champa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Duang Champa

Address: 82 Ratchadamnern St. Sri Poom | Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 487 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning renovation of a colonial style building, in the centre of Chiang Mai, offers just 10 guestrooms and conjures up a peaceful, and rather aristocratic feel which is perfect for a laid-back getaway in this remarkable city. Taken from the name of Laos’ national flower, Villa Duang Champa , successful renovation into an elegant, four story luxury bed and breakfast was awarded by the Siam Architect , Association and its not hard to see why. The restoration pays attention to differences in each room’s design – each room is a triumph of tasteful, individual décor. Other delights include a winding staircase connecting the breakfast room to the second floor, a giant tree and lovely teatime table in the small garden, and the lighting; a mixture of contemporary and traditional approaches.Each room has large windows, which give plenty of natural light to highlight the room décor. Those who love colonial charm and minimalism will be in heaven here. The 10 bedrooms are spread between four bright floors, with views to the mountains. Inside you'll find comfy retro chairs, stylish daybeds, and old-fashioned lighting as well as interesting floor-tiles and individual pale colors on white color schemes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Duang Champa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Duang Champa Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Duang Champa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.