We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Chang Klan Road,Pa Daet, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Midland, TX.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Beautiful river view. Good food, well kept grounds and very nice rooms.
Great venue for a wedding.
Needs an indoor bar.
Everyone is very hospitable.
Nice pool.
Would definitely stay here again
Breakfast buffet provides a big variety of food options

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    112
    35
    5
    8
See reviews for
101
260
18
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Ratilanna was an unexpected surprise after a short trip winding through the streets of Chang Mai from the airport. The decor is luxurious with teak wood dominating the grand staircase and creates a warm and calming atmosphere. The pool area is magnificent with outlooks to the river and the beautiful gardens. The staff were very friendly, attentive and more than happy to assist wherever possible in providing information about the area. Set back from the road it is a peaceful place to stay. Our room was spacious and we particularly liked the window water feature in the bathroom that provided a tranquil place to have a relaxing bath. The centre of town is about a 5 minute Tuk Tuk ride which only costs 100 baht or about $3 where you can enjoy the night markets that fill the streets into a maze of shopping opportunities. We throughly enjoyed our Thai massages from the spa and only wished we could have stayed longer to take the opportunity for a second visit. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Ratilanna in Chang Mai and we would stay there again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent service, excellent location, excellent environment.

Will surly come back for my next visit in Chiang Mai .

short coming: the temperature for hot water and wifi are not stable

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RatilannaCM, Front Office Manager at Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame

We appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your experience with our resort. We are happy to hear that your overall experience with us was pleasant and we definitely value your kind words. Our resort strives to provide top of the line services, while also creating a true Thai Lanna environment for our guests to enjoy.

We are disappointed in hearing about our short comings in regards to the hot water and Wi-Fi. We work hard to improve every aspect of our services on a daily basis. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences that were caused because of this during your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to RatiLanna Riverside Spa Resort upon your return to Chiang Mai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here 4 nights after a Bangkok visit and before flying to ko samui. The location is good being on the river but it's a little out of town (only 100bht -£2 for a taxi). For us that was perfect as there was less "city noise". That said, it is on a road so we did hear motorbikes / tut tuts every now and then. As the room corridors are quite open which allows noise to echo.

The rooms are luxurious with no expense spared. The wooden finish quality is fantastic , we even had a waterfall in the bathroom. We needed peace and tranquility and we found it here with a very high standard. Every little detail was thought about and for our engagement we got a cake and some fresh flowers. We used the restaurant once for the BBQ evening and were full by the first servings ! Food was delicious and plenty of choice at breakfast regardless of country or culture - thee was simply something for everyone.

The staff were very friendly and although there was a lot of trainees working / learning during our stay even they were friendly (but looked a little nervous which is to be expected). They all work so hard and smile a lot so please show appreciation by at least saying hello (we saw some people simply ignoring a basic hello "sa wat de kraup" - or better still tip them!

We were lucky enough to witness a wedding on the lawn where the bride arrived on the junk boat which was magical although there was one down side which was the bar was closed that evening and no replacement. It would have been good to set up a temporary barn.somewhere because the only option was to go and drink in the restaurant which didn't seem right. That said. It wasn't the end of the world for one night.

Only one thing you need to consider is that this is on the river so you compensate he views and tranquility for a lot of mosquito bites but to us...it was worth every red lump! We left there totally in love with the place and in contrast just checked in to our accommodation in koh samui and although beautiful quite simply...we want to come back to ratilanna!!!

Management and staff - well done! Keep it up and maintain the standards because you run a tight ship there and you deserve every accolade. I have travelled the world in top class hotels and yours I have to say is in the top three.

Regards and thanks to you all,
Tarek Ghouri and sue Quincey.

Room Tip: One overlooking the pool and nearest to the river you can get would be less road noisy. We had 4012.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RatilannaCM, Front Office Manager at Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Tarek and Sue,

Thank you very much for your encouraging words about our resort. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We apologize for the minor noise you heard from the street in front of the resort, and the inconvenience of not having a proper bar area during the wedding. Thank for the suggestion of setting up a temporary bar during wedding functions.

You are right about the wood finishes throughout the resort, it is truly “Lanna” beautiful! That is great to hear that the staff were friendly and took care of all your needs. We you look forward to welcoming you back to RatiLanna Riverside Spa and Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Wow. Our family’s first time in Chiang Mai and our first visit to the Ratilanna. What a beautiful hotel. We stayed 4 nights and had huge adjoining rooms with our children. The rooms and bathrooms were beautifully decorated and very luxurious. The gardens were very well maintained and beautiful. The pool was warm but a great place to relax. Breakfasts were great, good variety and very fresh. The food at the restaurants was more expensive than food in town, but the quality was very good and service was great. Some great piano playing while dinner was being served. Located a little way out of town, but taxi fares aren’t that expensive. Not sure if this hotel is designed with children in mind, but the staff made sure the kids were welcome. This hotel is a thing of beauty located on the river. It has made me want to stay again. Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RatilannaCM, Front Office Manager at Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Vinnie Gong,
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your recent experience in our hotel.
We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel. Your comments on the service provided by our staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.
It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiangmai .

Best Regards
Bussakorn Pisutwanich
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Ratilanna is a favorite wedding reception venue among locals because the poolside garden overlooks the river. I would recommend the hotel's spa treatments. They have excellent service at reasonable prices. The spa sits next to the fitness center. Just lovely!

Room Tip: have a snack by the riverside restaurant after treatment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RatilannaCM, Front Office Manager at Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Ratilanna Hotel and sharing your appreciation with us.
We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel. Your comments on the service provided by our Spa staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.
It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Hotel Name.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a lovely Thai resort, with five star facilities, notably a beautiful poolside setting overlooking the river. Standard rooms are enormous, and there is no real need to upgrade.

Ratilanna occupies the middle ground between the smaller boutiques and the larger chains. That brings with it a certain amount of Thai charm, but occasionally some cluelessness and lack of customer appreciation. One example being the struggle I had to get an extension to my room check out time despite the hotel being nearly two thirds empty.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RatilannaCM, Assistant Front Office Manager at Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Mr. James,

Thank very much for talking to your recent stay at our hotel.
As per the hotel policy for check out time at 12:00 am and check in time 14:00 pm
Late check out 18:00 pm charge 50% and after 18:00 charge 1 night of the room rate.
Before we confirm the late check out to the client ,we have to check the room status 1day in advance and subject to the room available on the next day.

We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards
Bussakorn Pisutwanich
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Address: 33 Chang Klan Road,Pa Daet, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of the Mae Ping River, Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai captures the essence of the destination's Lanna ancestry that subtly appears in its architecture and interior decor. Ratilanna Riverside Spa Chiang Mai is only minutes from the airport and the city's popular night bazaar offering the ultimate indulgence of a five-star urban sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Hotel Chiang Mai
Sofitel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.