We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not even let me dog sleep in the night!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of B.M.P. Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added B.M.P. Residence to your Saves list
B.M.P. Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45/1-2 Rajchiangsean Road, Soi 1 | Haiya, Chiang Mai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Noble Park, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I would not even let me dog sleep in the night!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This review is for BMP House! This place needs to be closed down. The room was absolutely disgusting, the walls were filthy, the linen and mattress was torn, stained and ? unwashed. The room was full of Mosquitos, we had to go to 7/11 to buy insect spray. The water pressure in the shower was non existent, we also had to buy a bucket to wash our hair in. The toilet door was very mouldy and the bathroom was dirty.
The communally downs stairs area was very messy. The staff were sleeping all over the couches.
The receptionist was not particularly helpful or welcoming.
You have been constantly pressured into tours.
The only reason we are staying here is because we can't find another location to stay in due the the 3 day festival.
PLEASE PLEASE do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    56
    66
    48
    71
See reviews for
10
99
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Down, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the B.M.P residence as we were in Chang Mai to go elephant trekking and go to Tiger Kingdom. The tours that we booked through the hotel were excellent, and the transportation to and from the places. The guy 'Jackie' that took the tour was very nice and really made the trekking fun! The rooms in the hotel were ok, pretty clean, decent size but the bed (the floor would have been softer to lie on) it was like lying on bricks. The breakfast in the mornings was nice. In all it wasn't a bad hotel, good base for doing your tours through while in Chang Mai.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We only went here because we were naiive in Bangkok and booked this at a dodgy agency without doing any research. The hotel was nice - social atmosphere, decent food/drinks however we did the 3day elephant trek and while we got what we wanted out of it (riding elephants/rafting etc) I would def recommend looking elsewhere.
Our tour guide 'Tarzan' spent each day insistently hitting on one of the girls in the group and at nights went off to smoke Opium in the bush, leaving us for hours at a time.
On the 2nd night we stayed in a local village where they killed a piglet for dinner (not for us just the tour guide and locals) but they did it in the most inhumane way, as an animal lover it was awful to be around.
You ride elephants on the last day, and you can just see how badly treated they are - bull hook marks in their skin and baby elephants chained up all day with only 1m to walk.
If you too have already paid for this then I would say go as you may have a better experience..but if you're an animal lover like me please support a better company!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A good hostel if you just want a base to explore the jungle. We arrived from a package booked in bangkok and had the 2day trek booked, the trek was amazing well worth doing and our guide jack was brilliant really knowledgable and fun. The thing that really let down this place was the staff at the reception and the bar, I have never met such rude people they really went out of their way to be nasty! It's a shame because this guest house could be fantastic.......I say make jack the manager!!!!!

Room Tip: Get the rooms with air conditioning.......it is so hot you can't sleep without it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We arrived in Chiang Mai via overnight bus from Bangkok and we had not booked accommodation! The bmp had been recommended to us by a friend so we headed there. When we arrived (bare in mind it was 6:30am) we were sat down by Mr A and practically forced into booking a 3 day trekking trip in order to have a good deal on our room rate. When shown to our room it looked fine once he left we discovered the beds were old and uncomfortable and also the shower did not have any running hot water. We went for breakfast where we were ignored by the waiting staff in the restaurant/bar and had to ask a few times before anyone came to serve us. The next day we left for our trek unaware that you would need to be an athlete in order to be able to complete! We walked for 6 hours through rivers and vertices jungle in flip flop before we reached camp for the night. The second day we walked for 6 hours again this time it was a combination of up and down hill to the middle of nowhere! On the last day we final got to go elephant riding and bamboo rafting which has to be the highlight of all the 3 days. (Also I'm sure we were served rat for dinner one of the nights) when we arrived back to bmp we were given the darkest room on earth when we woke up in the morning we were unaware of the time it could have been the middle of the night! We checked out and found a nicer hotel round the corner for cheaper! Please watch out for the jungle trek unless you are physically able to do it! There is no turning back and no-one to rescue you!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea, Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

BMP has a tourist info desk where you can book tours, travel etc run by Mr. A a very helpful guy. I booked trekking which was run by a guy called Jackie. The best tour guide we could have asked for, such a nice guy! He should be running the place! The rooms are poor, especially if you're unlucky enough to get one of the D rooms. Beds ok but dirty and small rooms. Restaurant is ok food and quite cheap. Overall a very average stay but the pool is good and tourist desk is highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights. the room was tiny and the shower and toilet were dirty. The swimming pool was full of chemicals it turned all our white and lightly coloured swimwear yellow and made one of the girls hair fall out. The travel agent at the resort was really nice we booked cooking courses, elephant trekking and flights through them and all went well. There are a lot of better hotels and hostels than this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B.M.P. Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B.M.P. Residence

Address: 45/1-2 Rajchiangsean Road, Soi 1 | Haiya, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B.M.P. Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B.M.P.Residence Guest House in Chiang mai Thailand. Chiang Mai Tours and Chiang Mai Trekking Let Travel Hub Take Care of your Trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your B.M.P. Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b.m.p. Resident Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B.M.P. Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.