We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad rooms but incredible tours” 3 of 5 stars
Review of B.M.P. Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added B.M.P. Residence to your Saves list
B.M.P. Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45/1-2 Rajchiangsean Road, Soi 1 | Haiya, Chiang Mai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 334 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Javea, Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bad rooms but incredible tours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

BMP has a tourist info desk where you can book tours, travel etc run by Mr. A a very helpful guy. I booked trekking which was run by a guy called Jackie. The best tour guide we could have asked for, such a nice guy! He should be running the place! The rooms are poor, especially if you're unlucky enough to get one of the D rooms. Beds ok but dirty and small rooms. Restaurant is ok food and quite cheap. Overall a very average stay but the pool is good and tourist desk is highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    45
    54
    34
    57
See reviews for
7
76
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights. the room was tiny and the shower and toilet were dirty. The swimming pool was full of chemicals it turned all our white and lightly coloured swimwear yellow and made one of the girls hair fall out. The travel agent at the resort was really nice we booked cooking courses, elephant trekking and flights through them and all went well. There are a lot of better hotels and hostels than this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chang mai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is ridden with bed bugs, when we spoke to the manager about it he shouted at us and told us to shut up and swore at us, in the middle of their court yard in front of customers. Chang mai is a great place, make sure your experience isn't ruins by bed bugs and horrible customer service.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a terrible experience with BMP residence. The first night we checked in, we found bed bugs and immediately told the front desk. They however didn't seem surprised at all or even remotely concerned. they offered to change our room to one that was 3 doors down. We found bed bugs again. By this point we were pretty disgusted and grossed out. They attempted to change rooms again for us but again there were bed bugs in the third room. By now it was 1 am, we were so frustrated and disgusted by the rooms that we just wanted to get out of there. However the reception informed us that there was no way to speak to the manager till morning and all taxi services has retired for the night. We had a sleepless night to say the least.


To make matters worse, the morning after the "manager" was no where to be found and no one would answer our questions. We over heard an aggressive and intense conversation with an employee of BMP and two other travelers staying at BMP with the same problem as us, bed bugs. The BMP employee started yelling and using abusive language to the travelers and by this point we were concerned for our safety. When we voiced our concerns with the travel agency we booked our package that included this hostel stay, they were just as rude and unhelpful, saying that bed bugs were no big deal and of no issue. We had to have many intense conversations before we finally got some money back so we just get the hell out of there and find our own hostel for the rest of our stay in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as part of a package so werent sure what to expect.
We got the free transfer from the airport which was great and arrive about 10 minutes later. It looked great, lovely pool with a slide and diving board, good tour desk and nice looking bar/restaurant.
The staff checked us in and arranged another transfer for us back to the airport for 4 days time.
A guy helped us with our bags to our room.
The room was disappointing. It looked old and the wall paper was peeling off, the bathroom was a bit mouldy and the room smelt of damp but they were doing work in some of the rooms so maybe they are in the process of improving it.
The room was cheap and really how much time do you spend in there? It had a fridge and fan. The rest of the place was ok. Free wifi in the restaurant area which worked pretty well. It's about a 15 minute walk to the night market.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Good place to meet new friends and a good starting point when visiting Chiang Mai. The pool is nice and the resraurant serves good food, but the rooms are a bit dirty. I'm not picky so for me it was ok.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

**Firstly i shoud distinguish that I was at the BMP sister building RedBrick which is where they will default ship you if the are overbooked** I was in Chiang Mai during the Songkran festival so it was pretty much impossible to find a place in the 'downtown' city. This place was a ten minute walk from the city (beautiful walk as well). The staff were delightful, the property was gorgeous and I just remember the overall feel to be awesome :) really enjoyed this city and really liked RedBrick .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B.M.P. Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B.M.P. Residence

Address: 45/1-2 Rajchiangsean Road, Soi 1 | Haiya, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 334 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B.M.P. Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B.M.P.Residence Guest House in Chiang mai Thailand. Chiang Mai Tours and Chiang Mai Trekking Let Travel Hub Take Care of your Trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your B.M.P. Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b.m.p. Resident Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B.M.P. Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.