We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware” 1 of 5 stars
Review of All in 1 Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added All in 1 Guesthouse to your Saves list
All in 1 Guesthouse
31/1 Moonmuang Road | Soi 1-2 T.Prasingha, Chiang Mai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 502 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Rock Hill, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

In November 2012 I booked a 6 night stay for February 2013. Everything seemed to go well in the booking process with Gilles, the owner. He did not ask for a deposit and the email responses were cordial. The problem arose when my wife and I arrived on February 26, 2013. We were told by the lady at the desk that the toilet in the room they had reserved for us was broken and they had no other rooms available. She said Gilles had sent us an email about this. I had real time access to my email and had checked it 2 hours earlier and had nothing. Gilles was not there at the time. She then said she would go down the street to "see if she could find us another place to stay". (her words, not mine). She returned and took us to another guest house and turned us over to the desk clerk and promptly left. Although the room was not exactly what I would have chosen, I decided to take it rather than sleep in the street. To his credit, Gilles did search us out later that evening, I guess to discuss the situation. I asked him why he didn't send us an email, and he said because we were traveling. By not sending me an email, any option to try and book one of the other places that I had looked at was denied me. I bid Gilles good evening as I had nothing further to say. My wife then said "We trusted you and you let us down" He got irate, shouted "what do you want me to do, give you a room with a broken toilet?" and stalked off. I am not unreasonable. I understand things break and are out of management's control. BUT, why weren't we notified and most importantly why did they not book another place rather than wait till we arrived and "try to find another place for us to stay". We arrived at 2 PM. I believe if we had arrived at 8PM it is possible that other places would have been booked and we would have been dumped into the street to sleep. Poorly handled. I noticed Trip advisor gave this establishment some sort of award in 2012. I suggest my situation be reviewed before issuing any more awards to the All in 1. If you decide to book here and something like this happens to you, keep in mind you might find yourself sleeping in the street. My advice, take your business elsewhere!!

GK South Carolina, USA

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zinegilou, Manager at All in 1 Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
if someone wants to see the negative side of internet reviews, this is one. This courageous gentleman gives us, confortably seated behind his computer, a TERRIBLE rating just because we had broken toilets and because he was not informed hour by hour about the evolution of the situation during his trip. TERRIBLE WHAT?
we would have given to this gentleman a room with broken toilets, it would have been interesting to see our rating, for sure TERRIBLE as well.
to my point of view, i would have said, helas, this can happen, thanks for helping us to find a room during a very very busy period and sorry for the broken equipment. his comment : we prefered keeping the room instead of having to sleep on the street is highly and simply LAUGHABLE.
He did not want to hear, did not want to speak, it was simply unacceptable to have broken toilets

morality : dont be fully booked with broken toilets in a room, because you become TERRIBLE

i give to this comment the following rating (quizz :O) I---T and sorry for the TERRIBLE broken toilets :O)

Terrible Gilles, All in 1 Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    150
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
51
231
59
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A terrific guesthouse in a great location within the old city, near numerous temples, bars and restaurants and close to "walking street" and other amenities. Excellent sized, clean rooms, light and airy with fan, a/c, TV and fridge. A tranquil garden for a lazy breakfast or late night drink, free wi fi to stay in touch and superb, helpful staff. Would definitely recommend and will be staying again in the future.

Room Tip: 1st floor and corner rooms light and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We loved All in 1 because of the large and clean room, with TV and fridge, very cute sitting area and bar, free computer use, friendly owner and staff. The location is within the old city and along a small side street. The old alley ways are a maze and you could easily get lost but after a couple days of walking around and by using a map you can get oriented. The winding alley streets are lined with adorable bars, restaurants, massage....
We had a room on the corner with large windows and balcony along two walls. Great value.
We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Dash restaurant which is very close to All in 1.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Nice location and very good guesthouse. We stayed there several days. Very clean room and friendly staff. Always there is we need information. Good internet and very near many mak\rkets, temples, restaurants. But a little too near bars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Found Gilles and his staff to be very friendly and helpful , Gilles has a good knowledge of the area and can offer lots of advice. Booked a full day trip with them and the cost was the same as all the tour operators. Rooms are clean and functional and the hotel is Well place for walking to bars and eating places etc. we stayed 7 nights and would return.

The only downside is that it has no views as it is in a small side street

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 4 days in this place in december 2012. We found clean room, nice stuff and helpfull owener. The location of this guesthouse is pretty good. Other good points: loundry service, internet, bar and possible breakfast. Two weak points of the room we had (2nd floor with fan): noisy night because of some bars in neighbourhood and ihigh temperature in the room n the afternoon ( difficult to do some short siesta ;-)).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Excellent location, near to the centre and markets. The weekend walking markets are just round the corner. The room was clean and simple with a fan and bathroom with hot shower. The staff are really friendly and make an effort to make you feel at home and are willing to help with any problems or advice you need and book trips if required. Giles, the French owner, is very welcoming and speaks Thai, French and English. The small garden area at the front of the guesthouse is a relaxing and peaceful place for a drink or coffee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to All in 1 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about All in 1 Guesthouse

Address: 31/1 Moonmuang Road | Soi 1-2 T.Prasingha, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your All in 1 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All In 1 Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage All in 1 Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.