We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family of 5 loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viraporn's place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Viraporn's place
Save
You added Viraporn's place to your Saves list
30/1, Soi 6 Moonmuang Rd, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly CM Blue House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 537 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arles, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our family of 5 loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent 9 very happy days at the Blue House. Beautifully located it is extremely well run, friendly, clean and very pretty. The restaurant is shut at the moment but there is an excellent bakery just across the road for any breakfast you care to enjoy ( there is also a laundry,bike rental, massage, shops all within a short walk).You can have drinks though..and nothing better than enjoying a quiet coffee in the early morning before exploring CM.
The owner Fred gave us lots of useful information so we could really make the most of our stay with a minimum of hassle.
The atmosphere is laid back whilst being respectful of all guests ( no noise after 10 pm..politely indicated on a few signs seems to work perfectly).
Vive the Blue House

Room Tip: we had a room on one side of the guest house and put the 3 boys in another on the other side. This k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    99
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
27
147
63
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed in this place for 6 nights and liked it. In that time I stayed in 3 rooms so have a pretty good idea of what's on offer and what the failings are.

Pros: really friendly Thai staff, good design, leafy, quite nice location near cafes, restaurants etc. nice sized room, price reasonable. Nice to have a fridge and mod cons. Nice place to relax and welcoming, I enjoyed my stay.

Cons: dirty room on first night, I had to ask them to clean it. Lots of hairs all over the floor, giant tufts of it blowing out from under the bed and gecko droppings in the bathroom, plus a few remnants on the toilet bowl. AC room was noisy with tuk tuks and deliveries at dawn, another AC room had a broke floor tile with a hole just where u stood in the shower with another plastic tile haphazardly thrown over it, not very clean and could lead to an accident. Also there was a bit of confusion about the bill when we checked out. The nice lady told us 500 for the big AC room but when we checked out the French guy was there and the bill said 550. She said that we were saying it was 500 rather than the whole thing being her idea. Guess she was afraid of the boss. It wasn't a problem and the bill was ammended but I would have preferred that she'd been honest as we all knew that she'd given us the room for that. Also a 10am check out, plus a half day rate which only extends to 3pm, way too early. If I check out at 12 I need to pay another half day? Unreasonable I think!

Overall I liked this place and would recommend. But I can't give them a high rating because of the check out time and most importantly, the dirty room on the first night. If it wasn't for that I'd give it a 4 as it is otherwise a good place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed there for a couple of nights and the owner went above and beyond to make us comfortable. He gave us the best deal on the 2 days trekking; he was always nice and friendly; he allowed us to take a shower well after our checkout. Plus, the AC room was good for our needs.
I highly recommend this guesthouse!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I was not that keen on the place. Elle that seemed to manage most check ins and questions was a yes kinda person. The Feench guy smelled like alcohol in the morning...not genuine...but a fake friendliness.

I wanted to pay 200 B instead of 300 B for a night. I wanted cheaper during the low season.

Room Tip: It was okay, nothing special for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The staff at the CM Blue house are lovely..they are friendly and very helpful and made for a good stay.

The rooms are good value and are a good size and have decent en-suits. Although a little noisy at night (that however is the nature Chiaing Mai) the guest-house is well located and the courtyard gardens which the rooms are located around is very peaceful.

A good place to stay...I can easily recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 days at the CM blue house and wished we could have spent longer.

The guest house is situated at the quite end of a busy and vibrant soi which is located within the immediate vicinity of plenty of bars and shops.

The exuberant French owner (david) and his wife made us feel very welcome, were kind, helpful and informative.

The guest house has a bar and restaurant set in a surprisingly lush courtyard area. Unfortunately, there was no cook at the time of our visit so the restaurant was closed. The bar is run on an honesty policy whereby you simply write in a book the soft or alcoholic drinks you have consumed (a nice touch).

Our bedroom was located on the second (top floor) . We paid 350 baht per night for a fan room with an attached bathroom, cable TV (with some English speaking channels), and a large fridge. The bed was large and comfortable, there was a wardrobe, dressing table and small bedside cabinet. To keep costs down, the rooms are cleaned on a five day basis which was fine with us.

The only negative point about our room was the bathroom which could have done with an upgrade. The ceiling was damaged with a small patch of mould, the walls needed a lick of paint and the toilet and sink were old and slightly stained. We also had a colony of ants sharing the bathroom (again it didn’t bother us too much as they were very orderly and stuck to their route).

Unlike a lot of guest houses in Chiang Mai, the owners did not push or advertise any activities such as trekking etc. but they were very helpful when asked for their assistance. In summary we would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Firstly I would like to say that I don't have anything REALLY bad to say about this guest house but I found the reviews on here made it sound like some super friendly environment with welcoming staff and I really didn't find it to be that way. Considering how inexpensive the room is, you are getting what you pay for. A/C is ok but stuffy.. probably needs cleaning. The fan couldn't be used because it was way too loud. The bathroom was standard and the bed wasn't comfortable but I have slept on worse in Thailand so I could manage it.
The location was alright, but unless you rent a motorbike, expect to pay out a lot in tuk tuks or you will be walking A LOT in order to get anywhere with entertainment. It's a quiet location but a little too out of the way for my liking, however, its not FAR out of the way. Everything is still within 20-30mins walk... but after doing that a few times a day, it gets tiring.
The restaurant is no longer opened there, but you can help yourself to drinks and record it in the book, more or less honor system style and there are plenty of restaurants on the street if you are looking for breakfasts.
The hotel staff were not rude, but as I came and went I didn't really feel welcomed.. kinda felt avoided. In the four days I was there, I don't think my room was ever cleaned or garbage emptied either.
The owners seemed decent but they were not nearly as friendly as what people have been writing.. at least not to me. I am Canadian and I guess because of that I am expected to speak French as a second language so when the French owner asked if I spoke it and I said no.. I kinda felt like his attitude went a little more cold.

In conclusion, if you are looking for basic accommodation that is close to everything but also out of the way and are not looking for "bells and whistles", this is a good place. Plus, its a reasonable price.

Do some looking around though, I am sure there are better options.

Room Tip: First or second floor to avoid the high slippery steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viraporn's place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viraporn's place

Address: 30/1, Soi 6 Moonmuang Rd, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly CM Blue House)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 537 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old city with many amenities within walking distance ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cm Blue House Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viraporn's place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.