We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well placed hotel in the centre of Chiang Mai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parasol Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Parasol Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Parasol Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   105 / 1 Prapokklao Rd | Klangwiang Intersection, Phrasing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 502 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Phuket Town, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A well placed hotel in the centre of Chiang Mai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I only stayed at this hotel for one night, so I can only give my brief observations. We arrived early evening and were greeted warmly by the reception staff. Check-in was quick and she was able to provide us with tour information at the same time.
Our room was an 'Ancient Parasol Superior' on the 3rd floor - facing the road. It was a lovely room, well maintained with very impressive drawings on the wall. I have never stayed in a room like it. I would recommend staying in one of these rooms, if you book here. My only minor gripes about the room were you could hear the traffic quite clearly and the shower water pressure could have been better - these didn't affect my enjoyment of my stay here.

I didn't get the opportunity to sample the breakfast as I was feeling sick; I did eat something later in the hotel restaurant, and it was pretty good.

The hotel is well located: it's about a 10 -15 minute walk to the Night Market, and there are a lot of restaurants in the area. The airport is only about 20 minutes away by taxi as well. The hotel is also right in the centre of the Sunday Market.

All in all, the Parasol Inn Hotel is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, General Manager at Parasol Inn Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
I'd like to apologize for inconvenience stay in Parasol Inn Hotel regarding water pressure in the room. Your information on this issue help us a lot and we are planning for some changes to be done soon as possible. We promise a better quality for your next visit.

Again I am truly sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. I appreciate your good reviews for us. “Our goals is to satisfy our customer needs.”

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    97
    36
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
101
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

The hotel is in a fantastic location in the old part of the city, everything is within walking distance and the city is great to stroll about in. The room I had over-looked Wat Pan Tao and Wat Chedi Luang, one of the most spectacular views from a hotel room I have ever had! The room was large, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The only drawback was the noise from the stairwell and reception area, ear plugs are recommended if you are a light sleeper. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the breakfast servings were small, however the rice option was a generous serving and very tasty. I would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Service here is really good, the rooms are beautifully decorated & the location is excellent. A bit noisy, could hear others coming & going but this was minor problem. Massage by Nooh or Jessie recommended. Nim (manager) very helpful & a minor problem we had with web booking resolved very quickly & efficiently.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

while not an elegant, expensive, 5 star hotel, the staff at Parasol Inn made our visit comfortable and pleasant the whole week we were there. A huge Buddhist temple next door added to our experience as we heard the chanting every morning and evening. Right in the street out the front door the huge Sunday market takes place. We will go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

As an "Inn" it stood out with its boutique settings look and it brought back a feeling of nostalgia. The room is comfortable big though its fittings and furnitures were basic. An extra large bed bought much comfort for any weary traveller. If premium was not what you are looking for, then it would definitely be value for money for accommodation:- "budget theme"
What strike us most is the feeling of being somebody here. The front desk staff are friendly, sociable and informative. They are 'GEMS' (going the extra mile for service) in attending to your daily needs and requests in order for you to enjoy the sights, fun and adventures in Chiang Mai.
We stayed a total of 8 nites(13/12/10 - 21/12/10)- perhaps a bit longer would be better and we enjoyed every moment of our stay here.
We look forward to stay in Parasol Inn when we do visit Chiang Mai in the future.
Happy hour joint is just next door, with fruit juices kiosk next to it.Travel agency and an economical Thai restaurant around the corner:-all within shouting distance. Interconnectivity is an A+
The Sunday night Market is a totally different experience. Things here are a bargain as compared to the commercialized nightly "Night Bazaar" in Chang Klan "tourist belt" Road area. The best part is that the "Sunday Night Market stretches along the road in front of the "Inn".
"minus" side - no lift and bath tub.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

My friend and I received a very warm welcome. Throughout our seven day stay we received very professional service from Nim and her staff. Thank you once again for your help and assistance during our stay at Parasol Inn. We would highly recommend this hotel to our friends and family. It is in a great location right on the night walking market, fabulous restaurants, royal palace, shops,galleries and temples. A must see.
The inn house massages and treatments are also fabulous, very convenient and very cheap.

Kerrie Wilson, Gillian Pitman (Australia) 27/12/2010

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Parasol inn was definately my favourite hotel we stayed at in thailand. The staff,location, restaurant,unique rooms-each room is painted a different theme!!! The price was fantastic too
Right beside a temple and close to shops, restaurant and walking distance to all the town temples
We were there on a sunday so the walking market is directly out front of the hotel
All of the staff were faultless and genuinely helpful and friendly each time passing them
I would definatley recommend staying again as I will be
You can do as much or as little as you like due to the great location,
Fish massage in house as well as full body massage was fantatic

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parasol Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parasol Inn Hotel

Address: 105 / 1 Prapokklao Rd | Klangwiang Intersection, Phrasing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parasol Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel in the center of Chiang Mai City old town. Right infront of sunday walking street. Easy access to all temples and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Parasol Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parasol Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.