We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good days at Anodard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anodard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anodard Hotel to your Saves list
Anodard Hotel
87 Ratchamanka Road ( next to Anodard Hotel ) A.Muang Chiangmai Thailand 50100, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
torshavn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good days at Anodard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayd at the Anodard Hotel oktober 2012 and was very satisfied. I paid 500 Baht for a big clean room, only 10 minute walking distance from centrum, and was serviced by smiling and welcoming staff of Anodard. I will for sure go back to this place on my next trip to thailand with my thai wife, which is 39 years old just as myself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    13
    10
    9
See reviews for
11
23
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I should have look at the room before I paid, My fault. Please see these pictures. This place is dirty and a poor value. 700 baht? Chaing Mai has many many places to stay for less and more clean too. The First room had blood smears on the wall, a ripped chair, and a worn saggy mattress. I first asked for a refund, which they rudely refused, telling me i should have looked at the room first. I asked for a different room, just to discover all the rooms were the same. Basic, superior, or superior with a bathtub? A bathtub? I would never lay my body in one of their dirty 30 year old tubs. I paid 700 baht for the night and DID NOT STAY. I chose to find a different place to stay. DO NOT STAY HERE.... Very rude and dirty....

Room Tip: Look before you pay. then go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is seedy, smelly, and full of old geriatrics trying to reclaim their youth by dating very young local women. The rooms are large, smelly and probably furnished from the 70s, when most of the clientelle were in their prime. Since then the rooms have weathered as have the guests. The pool is surrounded by leather backs trying to get even more wrinkles than they already have. Staff are quite unwelcoming. If you are young stay away, if your old but young at heart then its your dream come true

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel hasn't been looked after for many years. With a bit of refurbishing that place would be great. It is just too old and service and management are poor. It is still a cheap and convenient location if you want to be in the center of the old city. And yes there is a pool but from another age .....

Room Tip: we stayed on the fifth floor and room where very old try your luck on another floor ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for nine days in January because we have three kids and there was a pool. The place is crawling with retirees that live here therefore, they think they own the joint. My kids playing in the pool infuriated them. The hotel is a bit rundown but good enough for a family. Room cost us $27/night which was quite good for what we got...1 room, 2 double beds, air con, cable tv, free wifi in lobby, fridge, hot water. Like I said, it was good enough for us, the pool is really pretty and the staff is GREAT. I would not recommend for a couple as a guest house would be nicer but for our situation, it was pretty great. Plus, their beer is cheaper than anywhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th and 5th floors have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very run down hotel . You can get much better value in Chiang Mai. I arrived very late and stayed here as most other hotels were booked. Staff were not the best. They charged extra forthe Wifi and for the use of the pool. They prices they charge it should have been free.
Not a good location . Would not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I wouldn't call this hotel "nice", but it is still my top choice in Chiang Mai. If you are in town only for a short holiday, you may like something more luxurious or more atmospheric in a western sense. However the this is a 100% Thai style hotel, old fashioned, and quite comfortable for those who spend an extended amount of time in Thailand.

Things in Thailand can often be difficult... exhausting... frustrating. Things often appear to be good or pretty on the surface but with little substance beneath. Service can be polite, sweet, promising... but then nothing actually gets done. Anodard Hotel is a great antidote.

The service is wonderful. Every member of the staff is a pleasure to interact with... from the bellboy/men to the front desk staff to the the housekeeping staff. English is limited, but manage to chat with lots of guests.

The following things might be a basic expectation for a hotel, but do not always happen in Thailand. At Anodard: You will be greeted in a nice (but not pretentious) way; The different rooms available are clearly identified and prices clearly presented; You'll be checked in VERY quickly and efficiently; You and your bags will be taken to your room right away; They will notice when you step out and your room will be cleaned; Housekeeping will not be intrusive in the room and never a problem with stolen or missing items; People will be friendly but NOBODY WILL BE INTRUSIVE OR ANNOY YOU, nor will they push unnecessary things on you; nobody will "forget" or screw up simple things that you request.

The rooms are basic and certainly worn but they are very functional, big and comfortable. Beds are thankfully asian style without springs. This is a complaint by many tourists, but appreciated by locals and by those who have assimilated to local styles. Basic in-line heater for the shower is decent. Basic soap and shampoo always provided as is bottled water.

It's not the Ritz, but one should step back and consider the cost of this hotel. At these low prices, it represents a really good value. Those who are accustomed to any type of budget hotel or guesthouse abroad and/or those who have stayed in a local style apartment will likely appreciate the value of Anodard Hotel. Those who have a low tolerance for anything not high class or perfect on the surface will not be happy with the rooms. Choose elsewhere, but spend enough to get a place of substance. If you get something too cheap that pretends to be a high class hotel, you'll regret due to poor service, things not working, broken promises, etc. etc. You'll basically get Inept service with a smile.

Anodard has an ideal location in the center of the Old City. Despite all the action rotating around the walled (moated) city center, things are actually quiet and peaceful right here in the middle. It does not suffer from traffic noise.

There is a decent little pool to cool off in (not easy to find in Chaing Mai). If you've rented a car there is secure parking in the front. It's certainly not easy to park at most places in the center of the city. Computers are available for 10 baht (30 cents) per increment (I think 15 or 20 minutes) by simply depositing the coins. There is free WiFi in the lobby and WiFi in the rooms is reasonable - 50 baht a day and I think 200 per week.

I took off on a motorbike for a few days into the mountains carrying only a tiny bag and was able to leave my suitcase at the hotel. They will handle all sorts of little things like this for you. I bought some great som-tam (papaya salad) at a place that had only take out... and were able to borrow a couple plates, forks, spoons. I remember years ago on my first visit the bell-guy helped me place phone calls using his cell phone and translating into Thai (before I could speak it). All these little things are not their obligation so be sure to show appreciation with some tips around to the staff. In fact, the best thing about these Thai style hotels is there is always someone around that can handle or arrange anything for you that you require. I remember staying at a similar hotel in Bangkok where I sprained my ankle so severely that I could not walk or bear any weight on it. Two of the guys helped carry me to my room from the Taxi. They even went to 7-11 to buy me panang curry and iced milk tea when I was starving and immobile that day.

The bad? Well things are much cleaner than a lot of places in Thailand, but they are worn out. The Hotel is old enough to look outdated in some ways but perhaps not quite old enough to be historical. It does still have character. I kind of like the old worn wooden dressers, clothes drying rack, etc. I'd hate to see it remodeled into a plastic charmless space. In fact, I prefer the older rooms on the 4th floor to one of the other floors that is considered "better" because it is newer. You may want to have a look at each. I like the old wooden floors more than carpet.

The TV in my recent room has been "updated" to a flat screen TV, but it is a low quality Chinese TV with poor picture quality and annoyingly long time to change channels. Not that I really watch much TV anyway, but it is an example of an "upgrade" that's not really an upgrade.

New thermostats on the air conditioners seem to be better than the old system which just had high and low cooling setting and adjustment for fan speed, making temperature difficult to regulate.

A few little things and fixtures could be fixed, which would really improve things. But I don't think it needs a big overhaul, lest it lose it's atmosphere and character.

This is a great budget hotel with local style. For western style or any degree of luxury, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anodard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anodard Hotel

Address: 87 Ratchamanka Road ( next to Anodard Hotel ) A.Muang Chiangmai Thailand 50100, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anodard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anodard Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anodard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.