We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience both Cultural and Culinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Air's Thai Culinary Kitchen

Air's Thai Culinary Kitchen
9/1 Nongprateep Rd. | Nong Pa Krang, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 335 Activities in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 stars 23 Reviews
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thai Cooking Class: Chiang Mai, Thailand. Location: 10 minute drive from the city hotel; 800 meters from Chiang Mai Railway Station and 15 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. Set in 1.6 acres of tranquil, landscaped grounds in a private house. An ideal setting for a home kitchen. Features: The kitchen's unique design draws from professional experience and is purpose built, and surrounded with herb and spice gardens.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience both Cultural and Culinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you are looking for an authentic Thai cooking experience that will be memorable for you and your family. This is it. We started with a visit to a true local market to learn about and see local products and local foods. Air took the time to explain what everything was and how it was important culturally to the Thai people and their cooking style. We then went to his home. That is where the cooking school is. The setup is second to none. I've done cooking schools in Paris and Tuscany and this was as good as both. We learned several dishes and he easily accomodated any allergy or dietary preferences. On top of all of that, Air is just a very nice person and that is wroth a lot. Thanks you Air for a great expereince for our family

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a wonderful day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent a fabulous half day today with Air learning all about Thai cooking, plus lots of tips and techniques to help us when we get home. We can thoroughly recommend Air's cooking class. It is very professionally run and the cooking school is absolutely spotless.

We started the day when Air picked us up from our hotel in his special truck. He took us to the local food market and showed us around. This was fascinating. He has a lot of knowledge (owned and run his own bistro for many years as well as an extensive background in tour guiding) and imparts this with humour and passion. I particularly enjoyed seeing the fresh coconut cream being pressed. Air was kind enough to buy us a portion of the local Chiang Main sausage (delicious by the way!) as well as some pork scratchings to nibble on as we made our way around the market.

Afterwards we had a bit of free time to wander about the market whilst Air quickly picked up a couple of ingredients for our dishes and then it was onto the cooking school. Air gave us an informative tour of his garden, pointing out herbs and veges that we were able to touch and smell. Then it was into his open air dining room to have a cup of tea/coffee/beer... it was a little early for beer for us but we appreciated the offer!

After a bit of time talking through the recipes we were going to make (chicken and coconut soup; clear spicy seafood soup and stirfry chicken with holy basil) and then it was time to head into the kitchen. Air provided us with aprons and recipe books (that we were free to keep and take home) and we got to watch his assistant chef whip up each dish, taste it and then cook it ourselves. Air took photos of us cooking so we didn't need to worry about getting our cameras out. It was brilliant!

By the end of the time we had produced 3 dishes each and were ready to gobble them up, so we headed to the dining area again. Air joined us and we had a great chat over lunch, learning all about Air's varied and interesting background. Air even gave us tips for what we could do on our spare day in Bangkok (he had been a tour guide there for a while) which we really appreciated!

After our delicious (and substantial) lunch it was time to head back to our hotel. Air offered to drop us somewhere else if we wanted to visit a temple/shops etc but we were ready to let the yummy lunch digest as we lazed by the hotel pool.

We left Air's Thai Culinary School armed with a wealth of new knowledge, a renewed passion for cooking and the feeling that we'd made a new friend in Air. Thank you Air for such a wonderful day. We will definitely come back when we are next in Chiang Mai and we will 100% recommend you to all our friends. Next time I hope you will teach me to make Larb Gai!

Sophie and Blair

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Masterchef!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

There are many Thai cooking classes to choose from but I can recommend this one. Chanrat gives it a personal touch and our class only had me and my girlfriend in it so we had lots of attention. The day started with an interesting tour of a local food market which isn't recommended for vegetarians! We learned how to cook 2 thai soups and chicken stir fried with basil which was lovely! We got to take away our aprons and a recipe book.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly fun with lots to learn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Was picked up by Air from hotel and taken to the local market were he talked us though all the different vegetables and ingredients with a few samples given. From here Air took us to his school to teach us the art of Thai cooking, with his chef Tik. Very friendly and informative, had a great time and recommend to anyone with genuine interest in Thai cooking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic cooking class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

If you wish to understand the processes of Thai cooking from finding the right ingredients and the way in which you use them in Thai cooking this class is for you.
The class is very personal and you come away with knowledge on how to replicate these receipes at home.
Air is very friendly and offers good advice to us first time travelers to chiangmai and the standard of hygiene is extremely high and restaurants in Australia could learn a thing or two from Air.
Another thing worth mentioning is Air offers a great cup of coffee and as my wife calls it the worlds best green tea.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air's Thai Culinary Kitchen also viewed

Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Air's Thai Culinary Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Air's Thai Culinary Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.