We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and quiet guest house.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tri Gong Residence

Save Saved
You added Tri Gong Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tri Gong Residence
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8 Lane (Soi) 1, Sribhum Rd | Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 485 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Estepona, Andalucia, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and quiet guest house.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Tri Gong Residence for 5 nights on our resent trip to Thailand over the New Year. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and you get free drinking water replaced every day. The guest house is located in the old part of the city with many bars and restaurants near by.

On New Years Eve Mr Adam the owner and his family had a partly with free food and drinks for all the visitors staying at the guest house, it was lovely to feel so welcome.

On our last evening before we headed off to the jungle for a trek, we mentioned to Mr Adam that we would need a room on our return in 4 days time, Mr Adam informed us that unfortunately Tri Gong Residence was fully booked but he would arrange for us to stay at his friends guest house and he would look after our bags while we we're gone. This was a great help and when we checked in to our new guest house 4 days later we we're very pleased with Mr Adams choice.

We would defiantly recommend this guest house to anyone who wants a safe, friendly place to stay in a quiet location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    44
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
74
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here twice on our trip through Thailand. Staff are very friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable. Location is easy for walks through old part of city, easy to get to from both airport and train station.

Check out the small eatery two minutes walk from the place, called "Good", on the corner (turn right out of Tri Gong, to cross roads and turn left, it's on your right. Much better than the other eateries in the neighbourhood, the couple who run Good are lovely, friendly and make good, honest Thai food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have been here many times over the past 7 years now and on some occasions lived here for longer durations too. This time was there for a short trip and very happy to confirm that Tri Gong Residence has only become more lovely with passing years. Mr Adam and his family particularly his better half and son are such an asset in making staying at Tri Gong a memorable and very personal experience.

What has changed over the years? Homeliness and comfort - the lounge, sitting area around Tri Gong, has only become more cozy and lovelier over the years. The rooms are better equipped, toilets come with automatic soap dispenser, and the reception lounge has also improved phenomenally.

ROOMS are very convenient - with cable TV, fridge, working desk, cupboard, personal balcony on 1st floor, neat and clean toilets with running hot water, and very comfortable bed. Great complimentary wifi internet is in entire campus.

LOCATION as I had said in my earlier reviews is very convenient for travellers. In less than 50 metres or so we get the 'songthaew' to go wherever we want, very close to old temples, inside old city so it means a lot. great restaurants right across Tri Gong.

Mr ADAM is ever so helpful - it is like having a guardian around...

Room Tip: first floor rooms are better as they come with personal balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were met by Adam, our host and the proprietor of Trigong Residence in Chiang Mai. He immediately made us feel welcome, and provided useful information to us about where to eat and sites to see in the area. Trigong Residence is located within Chiang Mai’s Old City walls, and is surrounded by Temples, shops and eateries to suit every budget. Massage venues are of good quality and very reasonably priced. We each had a manicure/pedicure while in the neighborhood, which cost very little. Chiang Mai is a peaceful, lovely city and Trigong Residence is the ideal place from which to base a few days of exploration. The property is clean and well-maintained. Fresh, delicious drinking water is provided to guests each day. The place has a young vibe, with diverse guests including mature adults and backpacker types. We wondered if there would be noise at night when we saw the young folks in the courtyard, but our nights were quiet and we slept peacefully. This is not a fancy, luxurious hotel, but a clean and comfortable space that is reasonably priced as well. We will be eager to book the Trigong Residence when we return to Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Book well in advance of travel as this place is very popular and fills quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pai, Thailand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've been staying at Tri Gong Residence on and off for the past 3 years whenever I'm in Chiang Mai. It's a great place with the most helpful owner (Adam) and staff. They go out of their way to provide information and make guests feel at home.

Every time i come back there's an improvement or two. One time all the rooms had been painted and redecorated. This time there was a new front desk and granite table near the lobby for coffee in the morning. There's always hot water for instant coffee or tea and complimentary water.

The lobby has two computers so it's easy to go online.

Three cheers for Tri Gong---can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The guest house is well located in the old town (not far from the market, the restaurants, bars, cooking schools, taxi station to doi suthep). Nice and quiet interior court. Everything is very clean (inside and outside the room). Good basic room. The bed is comfortable. Free wifi. Free bottles of water in the room.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel was very good value for money. The rooms were clean, had good working air condition and are fine situated in the city. The owner Adam was very kind and helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone who will visit Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tri Gong Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tri Gong Residence

Address: 8 Lane (Soi) 1, Sribhum Rd | Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 485 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tri Gong Residence 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tri Gong Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tri Gong Residence Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tri Gong Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.