We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing like advertised. Outrageous Management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99/9 Moo 14 Suthep Road | Suthep, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nothing like advertised. Outrageous Management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived at the B2 Ayatana to find there was an incontrollable problem with mosquitos. We were told to keep the room door closed to stop them coming in however there were huge gaps in the door resulting in mosquitos still being able to enter the room. In addition to this the room was not at all like advertised or photographed. The tiles in the pool were falling off and chipped. They were also covered in algae. We explained to hotel staff that it was not as advertised and they rang the manager who offered us an upgrade. The only difference in comparison with the other room was the provision of a mosquito net. When carrying our bags into the room we found a cockroach in the bathroom and a huge flying ant in the bedroom. We called the receptionist and she screamed and ran out of the room leaving the other receptionist to swat the flying ant with a newspaper. The staff informed us that it was due to poor cleaning by housekeeping. We decided to check out of the hotel, our policy from booking.com stated that we would only have to pay for one night’s stay at the hotel not the 10 nights we had booked; this was also discussed and agreed with the manager of the hotel. We were outraged to later discover that the hotel had taken more than the full amount of the booking from our account. B2 Ayatana had told Booking.com that we wanted to pay the full amount of the booking regardless of the policy; they then refused to refund the booking. Booking.com had to refund the payment on behalf of the B2 Ayatana. There was also no spa or bus shuttle into town!!

Room Tip: Do not come here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    56
    19
    14
    9
See reviews for
33
77
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a great quiet place on the edge of the city.

The staff was great and helpful. The rooms were quite nice and clean. The pool was fantastic! Great place if you need peace and quiet.

We paid a little more to have breakfast included which was very good. Not a large variety but good.

Since the location was farther out, some of the sungtows (taxis) wouldn't take us there or just charged us 200 baht flat. But it was no problem. We had to walk down the main road to go catch a taxi to get into town but we asked the receptionist to call one for us on occasion with no problem.

If you walk down the road there is also a 7-11 and ATMs there. On the main road there are restaurants and plenty of food. There was also a spa and a fitness center at the property but we didn't use them.

It's a great value and very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We came to Chiang Mai for a weekend and wanted a quiet place with a bit of character to stay at. It is true the place is out of the way, so you will be catching a taxi from the main road into town, but if like us you are doing some trekking, it really isn't an issue as at least our tour guide knew where the hotel was and came to pick us up at the door no problem. I personally liked how there are small benches outside the room where you can relax with a view over the inner courtyard without having to go to the pool. Oh, and it seems the bar by the pool is open every evening, but we never had any noise problems.

The rooms are decent size, clean and the bed has a mosquito net over it. Unfortunately I can't judge the spa facilities or the food (I did see a poster for the restaurant just passed the reception) as we were out of the hotel early every morning.

Room Tip: The reception has a decent DVD collection if you cannot be bothered to go out :) I unexpectedly n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Checked in and immediately checked out. Booked a luxury room for 2119 baht a night. Luxury it was not. Dangerous, unkept misrepresented. Room had one power point and it was dislodged from the wall. Booked room with balcony, it was 1.5 ft wide, so no relaxing with a morning coffee. Paint peeling off the walls, no fly screen despite the high mosquito count. Tiles chipped and dislodging from the pool. Tiniest bar fridge, old CRT tv, wifi very poor. Couldn't dial out from room as there was no directory, had to just keep pushing random digits til someone picked up. No where private to sit outside room, uncomfortable seats in side, bed had huge base board that stuck out so far and low you couldn't comfortably sit on the edge of bed. As this was supposed to be the luxury week of our 3 week trip I was very angry. Our other hotel thankfully came to our rescue and gave us a room and picked us up from this dump in 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colmar, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel overall was nice and the room very clean, we found it corresponded the price very good. We only paied 30€ per night for Deluxe room.

However, the hotels location was terrible and there was no transfer organized. Neither taxi nor tuktuk drivers knew where the hotel was and it was painful to find one who would take us back there especially in the night. Those who knew asked directly very high prices.So it took as quite a while to convince them.

Hotel staff was trying to be nice but they all barely spoke any english. So we could not even order a drink at the swimming pool without a translator for which we also had to wait another 10 mins.
Breakfast was very poor and there were bugs running all around buffet and bread, so I could not even approach that table, however the staff didnt seem to care that much about that problem. Ofter I told them ß they just smiled and said ok (well,as I said they didnt speak any english at all).

Swimming pool would have been very nice if not that dirty. However, we were swimming there everyday, beause we could have never thought that its color was the color of dirt.. We discovered it only on the very last day, when we saw a guy cleaning it (probably for the first time) and how the swimming pool were slowly changing its color. That was very painful to see....

Overall, the hotel was quiet and nice to chill out in the evening (if you mange to get there). For those looking for quietness and relaxation it could be nice place to stay but there is really a dead village around without even a single bar or restorant....

Room Tip: rooms next to the lobby have better inernet access
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toddington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We found this hotel on the web, it looked lovely and offered a spa, fine food and a free shuttle bus into town. Reviews on TripAdvisor were good so we booked for four nights. The hotel is a long way from the main town and not near any bars or eating places. It appears that the hotel has changed hands recently and some web sites still show it as before the change. I think now it should be under 'B2'. On arrival it looked lovely, in a peaceful setting, wooden buildings around a pool with only 36 rooms. On closer inspection it soon became apparent that it had seen better days. It was all rather shabby and run down. The water in the pool looked cloudy, there were broken tiles and green slime on the side of the pool. The wooden decking around the pool and seating area was in a very poor state, broken and loose boards. When we asked where the spa was we were told that it had been closed. We asked about the shuttle bus and were told that there wasn't one any more. We decided to eat in the hotel not having much choice. The food that we were served was very poor, mostly bell peppers and some very hard vegetables. I don't know what part of the chicken we had but it was stringy and tough. We love Thai food and are happy to eat from street sellers but what we were served wasn't a patch on anything else we have eaten. On returning to our room we decided that we couldn't stay for four days so went on the Internet and found a new hotel. In the morning after a poor breakfast we went and checked out. Just as we were leaving the receptionist stopped us and said that we had to pay for two bottles of water. We were allowed two free bottles a day from the room, we took what seemed to be the cheaper one, the other being in glass bottles, we were told the the glass ones were the free ones. Bearing in mind that we had paid for four nights B&B with eight free bottles of water, spent money on dinner and drinks, only had one breakfast and then to get charged for two bottles of water you get a good idea of their customer relations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

First off, Lets qualify that the Ayatana Hamlet & Spa should be rebranded as Ayatana Hamlet. As they no longer have a Spa available for guests. Brochures for other SPA's are available at the front desk.

I'm not sure of the other reviewers, but I found the staff to be polite, courteous and welcoming. Checking in and out was a breeze and WIFI was provided for free of charge but, that is where the positives stop.

Although the rooms are of reasonable size (booked into the deluxe), the bed was harder than a rock (good for some, not for me), the TV was the old style (considering the cost of flat screen TV's these days there should be no reason for that), didn't see any pool cleaners so decided to swim somewhere else. Location is out of the way, so ensure you have transportation organised. Called a taxi through the hotel, and paid way too much. The gym had 3 pieces of equipment, treadmill, ab crunch and stationary bike so don't expect to much from that.

Given the above, i didn't chance on ordering food, so that didn't factor in my overall rating.

The quality of the room finishes were below average, everything seemed to be not-quite right. Overhead shower head didn't work and there were ants in the bathroom. Water had a tinge of brown through it. Loads of merchandise could be brought from the room, kinda overdid it in my opinion.

In summation, with a pool that doesn't invite, a SPA that doesn't exist and rooms that don't compensate for the lack of amenities and out of the way location, I wont be coming back anytime soon. But I wouldn't go so far to say, stay away at all costs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai

Address: 99/9 Moo 14 Suthep Road | Suthep, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience your six senses in the land of Ayatana. Ayatana Hamlet and Spa, Chiang Mai, is a small, friendly and comfortable hotel designed and decorated in the northern Lanna style. AS you walk in from the city to this little hideaway, a welcome smile awaits you and willing hands attend to your every need throughout your stay. Whether relaxing by the pool, enjoying a good meal or simply spending quiet time in your artistically designed room, you are guaranteed a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayatana Hamlet And Spa, Chiang Mai
Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ayatana Hamlet Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.