We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 days off” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai

Save Saved
You added Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99/9 Moo 14 Suthep Road | Suthep, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 330 hotels in Chiang Mai
bled slovenija
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“8 days off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is really nice and remote we had all the luxury we wanted stuff was good and help full what we didn't like was the food option that they had, poor and excpencive and the biggest con is transport
We had lost a lot of uneccesery time organazing transport to town or anywhere else
So my advice is if you ll come to this hotel rent a scooter or a car if you want explore

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    56
    18
    13
    5
See reviews for
33
76
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is gorgeous but tricky to get to if you don't have a car(around 10 - 15 minutes tuk tuk ride to Chiang Mai old city).Big room, big bed & big bathroom.Unfortunatly, the SPA are under upgrading when I stayed there so I can not enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Love this hotel very much,
It is small and private Lanna Style room and decoration with comfortable bed.
Quite environment and peaceful, away from noisy business busy center but nearby and easy access to anywhere.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
I love the bathroom it has a private terrace and very spacious.
Breakfasts were acceptable. and.........
Definitely we will come back again~

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here in August, very reasonable room rate. We liked the Lanna style room and decor. The hotel bikes meant that anyone who is reasonably fit can ride into the city and get around comfortably enough as the route is mainly flat. The locks provided meant that we cold stop off wherever we wanted without any worry.
The hotel also runs a service into the city at 10.30 am and 7pm daily. Tuk Tuks/taxi back in evenings cost about 150baht.
We had breakfast which was adequate and on a par with what we had received in many Thai hotels previous to here.

Only criticism would be that the bed is very hard and noisy and my partner fund i difficult to sleep. the mosquito nets provided were welcomed. Also the pool area is probably in need of some TLC. Wifi signal is dodgy in room but good in hotel lobby. Given what we paid it was a bargain all in all and on that basis what we experienced exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The staff were really friendly and helpful! They adored our one and a half year old daughter and entertained her!
Our room was beautifully appointed with the air conditioning perfect, space enough for our daughters cot. My husband thought the bed was perfect even though I felt it got hard by our fifth night (I was six and a half months pregnant at the time!).
The food was great! we ate breakfast and most meals at the restaurant because I was not allowed to eat street food because of my pregnancy.
The pool was very clean and relaxing place to be.
The wifi worked on our ipad the whole stay.
We didn't notice the mozzies... not sure if it was the time of year we were visiting. They just weren't around like we anticipated from other reviews.
Shout out to 'Salon de Guru'! We were recommended this place by Ayatana staff and booked in for hair cuts. Our friends have been raving about our hair cuts ever since we've returned to Australia and in our opinion for a really great price, you get a haircut equivalent to a higher end hair dressing market experience in Australia.
The location was perfect... far enough away from the city centre to experience the everyday culture without being targeted a tourist and close enough to take a tuk tuk to anywhere you wanted to go.
We didn't use the fitness centre or the spa so we weren't able to rate those.
We would come back here again! We absolutely loved this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Peaceful location away from the busy centre and delightfully furnished rooms. Only an overnight stay unfortunately as time restricted but would love to come and spend more time here. For a honeymoon or quiet getaway this is great. Beautiful setting, pool great, staff friendly and food fantastic. Cant ask for much more! Rooms have big soft bed with mosquitoe nets and nice bathroom, clean, safe in corner. Only unusual thing was we had a massage and the ladies came to our rooms to do this. It was excellent but we expected to go into a massage room so was a bit unsure of what it would be like but it was good. I would recommend for anyone to get away from the noise of town to stay here and will come back when I come to thialand again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Ayatana is a welcome sanctuary after the hectic Thai market and street scene. The room was beautiful and very relaxing. The body wash smelt delicious (apparently - I'm a guy so it's all the same to me! ;)), and we had no dramas with bugs or anything. The pool was great and nice to hear nature noises in the trees while swimming. The wifi was intermittent, but always worked in the reception area where they also have two computers available for use 24/7. Staff were always polite and helpful. Although Ayatana is a little out of town, it's only 150 baht tuk tuk ride (100 if you get local prices!) and there's a stack of street stalls at night about 5 min walk away which serve delicious (although sometimes unidentifiable) food. A great getaway!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai

Address: 99/9 Moo 14 Suthep Road | Suthep, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience your six senses in the land of Ayatana. Ayatana Hamlet and Spa, Chiang Mai, is a small, friendly and comfortable hotel designed and decorated in the northern Lanna style. AS you walk in from the city to this little hideaway, a welcome smile awaits you and willing hands attend to your every need throughout your stay. Whether relaxing by the pool, enjoying a good meal or simply spending quiet time in your artistically designed room, you are guaranteed a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayatana Hamlet And Spa, Chiang Mai
Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ayatana Hamlet Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.