We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, rooms inegal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manathai Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Manathai Village to your Saves list
Manathai Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 9 soi 3 Tapae Road | Changklan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Paris
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice setting, rooms inegal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This nice old house, located in the old Chiang Mai, surounded by a tropical garden has many attractive points. The pool gives a refreshing feeling, having a drink after a day of trekking or walking is delicious. A small restaurant, with few tables under the trees is pretty good, the curries especially are delicious. All the atmosphere is inviting to rest and relax.
There are however some bad points. First, the first room (we booked a delux room), located on the first floor, was extremely small. The bathroom was so tiny we could barely stand up !
On the second day, why complaining, we were able to change for a different room (same price) located close to the pool on the ground floor. This one was much better ! Large and nicely decorated. There was however no door between the room and the bathroom, giving less intimacy. Aso, the service is somehow slow and lunatic

Room Tip: The rooms at the ground floor seem larger and nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    120
    38
    11
    9
See reviews for
43
156
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dundowran Beach, Qld Aus
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had book a Delux room, which turned out to the smallest room I have ever seen, you could not open a bag with out it being on the bed and when you put them on the ,standing up, you couldnt walk arround the bed.
The Bath room was discussting.
For the first time in all my reviews," Dont stay there".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located between the old town and the river. Inside you easily forget where you are. We stayed at the suite which faces directly the swimming pool and is spacious. The price of the suite is very good. Bath room looks bit old, but fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Österreich
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We used to stay in this hotel 2 nights before and after a trekking through Northern Tailand (great!). The hotel loooks like a small village with woodden little houses. Each room is made of wood and has some sweet little details like small statues. However, the room has many holes in the wall, meaning a great entry for mosquitoes. Unfortunately there is no net around the bed so wear a repellent during night time. During nighttime, the light in your room may be insufficient to read as there is hardly and light.

The breakfast is serves on the first floor and was simply great. Eggs were made to order and I really liked the coffee. The staff really fulfilled all our wishes and even organized an airport transfer, picking up friends from another hotel. I did not try the pool but i can immagine it to be quite relaxing as the pool and the surrounding area looks great. You can reach the city center in 10 minutes walking distance.

Near the hotel, you will also find many nice restaurants and bars and of course the favourite Night Bazar with street food.

In my opinion and despite the mosquitoe-problem, I'd really recommend this sweet hotel to you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I came Manathai with my wife and my daughter 2 years and a half. this is genial they really took care of us. When we arrived, seeing that our daughter was great we were outperforms toll in a larger room.
Try the restaurant at the edge of the pool, the vot detour. Authentic and inventive

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
78
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Typical thaï hôtel with beautiful area, the room, the swimming pool are luxury and the staff are professionnel and helpful.
Near the city and the night bazard, Chiang Mai Israël a beautiful city with many restaurant and temples

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spent three nights here, and wish we had been able to stay longer.
It's a lovely quirky boutique hotel, lovely seating area, antiques scattered around, small pool and sunbathing area, but really pretty. If you like large anonymous chains do not stay here!
Some of the walk ways would not suit people with walking difficulties , but we thought it was charming, my only complaint was our bathroom which was a little tired. And could be better lit.
That said we would stay again as the position is right where you want to be, the walking market,is infact walking distance. Breakfast was good, and they are very helpful about recommending good local spas.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms look onto the pool area, ours didn't and I think next time we would book one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manathai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manathai Village

Address: 39 9 soi 3 Tapae Road | Changklan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manathai Village 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Manathai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manathai Village Chiang Mai
Manathai Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manathai Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.