We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd love to keep this place my best kept secret, but...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manathai Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Manathai Village to your Saves list
Manathai Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 9 soi 3 Tapae Road | Changklan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“I'd love to keep this place my best kept secret, but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Manathai Village is an absolute treat. We discovered it on a walk around the back streets of Chiang Mai 3 - 4 years ago and returned for our second stay over the Christmas - New Year period. In the middle of a bustling city is this haven, a boutique hotel built around a central courtyard and a refreshing swimming pool. We had several meals by the pool, including a very special wedding anniversary. The mango salad, the fresh spring rolls and the soft-shelled crab are some of the delicacies on offer. There is also a northern-Thai tasting platter for those who enjoy pork done in various ways. The rooms are comfortable and cool - a place to retreat to when it's too hot to do anything other than reading. And the staff, many of whom recognised us from a previous visit, felt like good friends by the end of our stay. One more thing. We went with some trepidation to the poolside New Year's Eve party and had a marvellous time. Thanks to a great team at Manathai Village for having us at your place.

Room Tip: When you book, let the staff know whether you'd like to be on ground level or on level one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    120
    38
    11
    9
See reviews for
43
156
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed with a friend for 4 nights in January. It's in a good location,on a quiet side street, only a few minutes walk from the main road, shops, restauraunts, markets etc.The hotel is built in traditional style with some lovely touches. Staff were great and the buffet breakfast plentiful.

The only downside was due to the wooden constuction/style of the property, you can hear external noise from surrounding rooms & walkways etc no good if you are a light sleeper or have heavy footed neighbours!

Having said that, I would definitely recommend it just for the beauty & tranquility of the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Manathai was absolutely fantastic and very reasonably priced. We stayed a few nights here and the place was great. The pool was a little cool, but still lovely, and available pretty much any time. The hotel food was delicious, the spring rolls were some of the best I've ever had. The room was very nice and charming. Comfortable beds and all the comforts you need for a nice visit to Chaing Mai. The hotel organised us a trip to stay with a mountain village tribe and looked after our bags until we returned, they also organised a fantastic Thai cooking course. The free Wifi was also great. Most enjoyable stay.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I love this hotel--it's small and intimate--Perfect for Romance. Set in the midst of Town but in a quiet Soi which makes it easy to walk everywhere.

When we were there a couple were on honeymoon and as soon as the owner heard he sent over a complimentary bottle of champagne to their table-- We were impressed!!

The pool is small but lovely,the rooms are extremely comfortable with private balconies.

Any special requests are personally taken care of by the wonderful owner who goes out of his way to make your stay as special as possible.

Highly recommened for anyone who wants to be spoilt by the very proffessional staff.

The restaurant is great if you don't feel like venturing out or you can eat by the pool.
We found that nothing was too much trouble for them and we often go there just for lunch or dinner.
A must-stay place when in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is handsome as you approach it. Water throughout the property but a tiny wadding pool (photo on here is deceptive). Good location. Did not have twin room as requested but we were accommodated by putting us in two separate rooms. No hot water tap in bathroom sink. Bed was hard as a rock.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novy Jicin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel with fantastic location. A midst the chaos of the city, you step into a quiet oasis. Rooms are clean and well decorated. Wood everywhere. Staff is friendly and helpful at all times. Nice buffet breakfast of both western and Thai dishes. Bar service was a little bit slow, but this was minor.

Location is perfect with easy walking to major attractions.

Overall great place and I would stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the manathai for 3 days over my birthday and we found it perfect. The location is 10 mins walk from the night market and restaurants by the river, tucked away in a little side street. Our room was rustic and beautiful on the ground floor over looking the pool with our own private balcony. The pool bar is great to relax by and enjoy a few of their amazing freshly made cocktails. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Would definitely recommend to anyone when visiting chiang mai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manathai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manathai Village

Address: 39 9 soi 3 Tapae Road | Changklan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manathai Village 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA and Tingo so you can book your Manathai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manathai Village Chiang Mai
Manathai Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manathai Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.