We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parami Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Parami Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parami Guesthouse
210 - 212 Charoenrat Rd, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in October and had such a good time. Roger, the owner, is so helpful, as well as his wife who runs the massage/pedicure/manicure saloon next door as the receptionist. You can book a lot of tours as well. The rooms were clean and had enough space. If we ever go back to Chiang mai, we will definitively go to the Parami guesthouse !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    24
    10
    3
    11
See reviews for
4
48
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Rooms at Parami are very nice and spotless - you'll get your first proper, hot shower here after a long journey. There is a quaint pond in the middle of it with a cute garden out back.
Roger, the owner, is possibly the nicest man you'll ever meet. He'll set you up with anything and everything you'll need - from food recommendations, to tours and excursions (you can book these through him at Parami). We did a cooking course, elephant rides, saw a Thai boxing match and more...Roger helped us with all of it.
Stayed here after a friend's recommendation from 2006 and when I finally made it there 7 years later I wasn't disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are slightly nicer with a more private feeling. You will be sharing a toilet but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Staying here actually made our trip to Chiang Mai much more enjoyable and memorable just because of how friendly and helpful the staff were especially the owner Roger! We arrived really early at the guest house around 6am but it was all locked up and wasn't due to open until 7.30am. Luckily one of the members of staff saw us at 6.30 am and let us in to lay in the hammocks around the back until it opened properly and we could check in, so that was a pleasant surprise! The bedroom we stayed in was all it needed to be, basic and clean. The bathroom was the same! We found the guesthouse was in a good location too as it was close to the riverside restaurants and Chinese market and only a 10 minute walk to the main city walls. Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Everything was average apart from they "accidentally" over charged me and also the trip we book with them wasn't what they said but they have us some money back after complaining. Also location is a tuk tuk from everywhere and we asked for a map and directions were very basic and hard to follow.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The room was clean and adequate for our needs as well as the service. The shower had nice water pressure. The staff was friendly and helpful. Roger was very accommodating with our reservation when we needed to make a change. Overall, a positive experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is with out doubt a great place to stay. The staff are lovely. Especially the young lady at reception, very helpful. The guy who runs the hotel, he was very kind too. The rooms were great, very clean. Clean showers/toilets. I loved the theme of the hotel, like a little secret garden, very well kept and beautiful. The fan worked fine, and even got a bit chilling with it on, so no needed for an aircon room. The breakfast was lovely, cooked very well, the coffee was one of the best coffees we had a while, while travelling around Thailand. The hotel is 10 minute walk to the markets. Great place to shop and eat. With out doubt this hotel, is great value for money, and we would absolutely come back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5, and was lovely and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

My experience at Parami GH was absolutely wonderful. Roger was more than accommodating to my touristy questions and was extremely helpful booking my day trips for me, getting my bus ticket, etc. His staff was wonderful and make delicious banana pancakes!!! The room was quiet and roomy, with a hot shower attached. The fish pond and little garden in the back were wonderful to escape to from the busy city life. Its a two minute walk to lots of yummy restaurants on Ping River and just 10 minutes from the market. Awesome hostel, awesome experience. I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Chiang Mai!

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parami Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parami Guesthouse

Address: 210 - 212 Charoenrat Rd, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 249 Specialty lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parami is a small cosy family run BUDGET Guesthouse in Chiang Mai.We offer Treks, Tours & cooking courses etc. We also have our own Massage & Nail studio where you can pamper your self. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Parami Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parami Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parami Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.