We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Invitation Package
Ranked #12 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We spent 4 nights at the Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel for our honeymoon.
We were warmly greeted by the wonderful staff and upon our arrival we were given a welcome drink and cold towels while we checked in. We were quite early but fortunately the room was ready and we were taken to our 'baby suite' pretty quickly.
The room was just beatiful; very elegant and spotlessly clean. It contained lots of lovely thai antiques and felt very unique and special. We had fresh flowers in the bathroom and the huge bath was filled with rose petals as a gesture to us honeymooners. We were offered a cot for our 2.5 year old son but he is a bit big for a cot so instead they made him a bed up on the floor. They went to great efforts to make this lovely for him by putting lots of soft toys, cushions and blankets on the bed. It was a big hit with our son. All the toys were immaculate.
The staff really are as awesome as all the reviews say. They were always lovely to our son and to us and I absolutely couldn't fault the service at all. They went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. It was a lovely touch to meet the owner of the hotel who always made an effort to come and chat when he was around. He is a very humble likeable man.
The location of the hotel was great. It is an easy walk down to the river and all the lovely restaurants that line the river. We usually took the complimentary tuk tuk in the evening out to the night bazaar and that was always hassle free. All our tuk tuk drivers knew where the hotel was when we were returning.
The grounds of the hotel itself were lovely, especially at night when the fairy lights around the trees are switched on. The pool was small but nice and the restaurant was lovely. We always enjoyed the breakfast each morning although didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel simply because we were out and about.

Overall we had an amazing stay and would definitely return and definitely recommend the Puripunn to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    124
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
117
329
54
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We stayed in CM at the Puripunn for 4 nights. What a gem of a hotel. If you like small, quaint boutique style hotels then you could not do much better than to make this your choice.
The location was good for us (we are happy to take a stroll) and the hotel offer a complimentary tuk-tuk into town for the night bazaar/ bars/restaurants located in the town, however we walked it a couple of times and it was no big deal.
The staff were superb, very attentive and very helpful and lots of big smiles always a plus.
We had deluxe rooms and they were lovely,clean, spacious and very tastefully decorated. internet use was complimentary as well. We had my 18 year old son with us and he gave it the thumbs up.
Overall a great hotel and I would thoroughly recommend it. If you want to get away from the big, impersonal type of hotel stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

This being the first time I had travelled solo, I was a little apprehensive about being alone in a big city. I wasn't sure what to expect on the drive in through the city and was wondering if we'd taken the wrong turn when we went down a very narrow side street! Then all of a sudden another sharp turn and there was what I would call a beautiful oasis in middle of all the chaos outside, and it was like that for the rest of my trip. It's a small family run hotel, with beautiful gardens, lovely spacious bedrooms with a great bathroom. The only thing missing is having menu's in the room to order room service rather than having to go to the restaurant.

The hotel is ideal for those wishing to explore the city as it's so close to everything but yet once in the hotel you feel you're out in the suburbs. The night market is literally at 10mins walk away and there's some really nice restaurants as well close by.

The staff were very attentive but also discreet enough at the same time to know when you wanted to be left alone. It's the small touches that make a holiday; a cool drink by the pool, books to browse on local culture and things to do. I can honestly say I never felt lonely or uncomfortable. Nothing was too much trouble.

I came away from the Purinunn refreshed, calm and ready to face the world again!

My only regret? Didn't do enough shopping, but that's hardly the hotel's fault. The tuk tuk was always available when I went to use it! I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide- Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Private, small, quiet, built in traditional Thai style with friendly staff who were always more than happy to attend to our needs. Part of the appeal of staying here was the location, tucked away down a narrow lane way among the locals. It was quiet and very private, our room had a little porch at the front where we could sit or lie and relax, hardly aware of other guests around us. The room was perfect, very comfortable and very cool and very tastefully decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable and we loved the shower! Free transport into the markets throughout the day, otherwise just a short walk down the lane to the main road where a tuk tuk could be hailed very quickly to take you anywhere local. We were so pleased we didn't stay in one of the bigger hotels closer to the shopping areas. Easy to arrange for drivers to pick you up and the hotel staff will happily organise drivers and tours for you. Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channai / Madras
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We arrived in Chiang Mai on a late evening flight, and got to the hotel at midnight.

We were a bit taken aback while the taxi was getting us to the hotel as it went into a by lane, and then were pleasantly surprised with the hotel tucked away peacefully, nestled in a largely residential area.

Next morning, our surprise was replaced with being glad for being where we were. It is located close enough to the nice parts of Chiang Mai and yet not in a busy, noisy section of the city.

As for the hotel, it speaks for itself ... very aesthetically designed, very nicely thought through and to me, it truly was an Oasis. We spent a lot of our time running around the city all day, but we REALLY looked forward to getting back to the hotel.

The staff was incredible ... Thai hospitality is famed, of course, but the staff at the hotel benchmarked it for us.

The breakfast was excellent and extremely fulfilling.

What can I say ... It was a perfect stay we enjoyed at the hotel, and I would strongly recommend it to anyone visiting Chiang Mai (totally beats staying at a branded hotel).

  • Liked — The greenery at the hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

We arrived at the Puripunn at 8am after catching the night train from Bangkok and expected to leave our bags and come back closer to check in time. We were wonderfully suprised to be greeted with ice tea, a cool cloth and the opportunity to check in straight away. We were even happier to discover that we had been upgraded to a garden room. The room itself was gorgeous, with a wonderful day bed on the front patio. The room looked every bit as good as it had in the photos. We were extra happy to find there was a choice between ceiling fan and air-conditioning. The grounds were so peaceful that we started to wonder if we were the only guests there! We loved being in a residential neighbourhood - only 10 minutes walk to the night market and less to restaurants on the river bank (and a 7/11). We ordered lunch by the pool one day and the sweet and sour fish was so delicious I ordered it again before we left. The staff were incredibly helpful with everything we required from a tuk-tuk to town to an elephant adventure. We watched DVDs in our room in the evenings and spent many hours by the pool reading. The location was perfect, far enough to be peaceful but not so far that a walk couldn't get you into the thick of it all. My husband and I will definitely return to the Puripunn and have already raved about it to all our friends. The hotel was a delight, as was Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

"Baby Grand" nicely characterizes this beautiful and idyllic boutique hotel, hidden away in a very quiet soi, yet only a 5 minute walk to the river and all its attractions and a 15 minute walk to the main gate to the old city. I truly enjoyed the pampering luxury of the hotel and genuine kindness and hospitality of the staff and would certainly stay there again next time I am in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Address: 104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, an intimate small luxury property with a total of 30 rooms is constructed in a contemporary Lanna- Oriental architectural style inspired by traditional homes found in Chiang Mai during colonial period. The hotel is situated in the midst of one of Chiang Mai's centuries-old communities where ancient Lanna treasures, cultural traditions and way of life have been well-preserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.