We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, tucked away luxury.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
New York
1 review
“Quaint, tucked away luxury.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

Slightly outside of the main section of the city the Puripunn offers a quiet respite from the hustle of central Chiang Mai. Beautiful darkwood rooms and nouveau-antique accents offer a warmth and comfort that is often lost with larger hotels. Free tuk tuk service to the nightmarket and am impressively polite staff make this hotel a must stay for those looking to have an upscale stay in the heart of Northern Thailand.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    380
    89
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
94
271
46
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

The best thing about this hotel is its seclusion and quiet location. It's outside central Chiang Mai, in a residential district, but close enough to take a tuk tuk or taxi to all tourist sights and airport. In fact, the hotel offers a complimentary tuk tuk service into central Chiang Mai.

Service:
Attentive and reverent. Definitely amongst the best hotel service I've received, anywhere in the world.

Quality of product:
The decor and finishings (interior & exterior) were spectacular. It's not your usual 5-star chain hotel modern chic. The decor of room and public spaces are new, but designed with beautiful Thai character. The bathroom ensuite is probably the best I've ever seen...it included a 32 square foot walk-in shower!
We had breakfast, dinner and drinks at the hotel. Quality, selection and presentation of food was top notch. Better than many high-end restaurants.
The salt water swimming pool was a bit small. It's not made as a lap pool, but it was perfect for us, especially since we were the only ones using it. A dip in the pool was perfect after a long day of trekking and sightseeing.

I would absolutely stay here again. In fact, we asked the owner whether he owned hotels anywhere else in the world (he doesn't, yet) just so we could experience this again. If you're used to a typical 5-star hotel chain and want something equally exclusive and opulent, but with character, I highly recommend the Puripunn Baby Grand.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

When we first arrived at the hotel, we were a little surprised by the surrounding area. However, we soon loved being amongst real Thai families. There was good street lighting, so we felt safe and welcome at all times - even when walking back very late at night. The reviewer who described the area as a dangerous slum is insulting the neighbours who we found to be polite and friendly.

Puripunn is a beautiful hotel with very comfortable rooms. We stayed in a Puripunn Deluxe room, which we'd strongly recommend. The staff are friendly and attentive, without getting in the way. There was always someone close on hand when we wanted something.

Breakfast was good, with the selection you'd expect, with a chef on hand to cook to order. We can't comment on the restaurant, as we ate out at local bars/restaurants to experience the great Chiang Mai nightlife.

To pick up on a few comments made by previous reviews:
English language skills - We did not have a problem communicating with the staff. Remember that English is not their first language, so be patient and you won't have a problem. The owner is likely to check on you during your stay and has excellent English if you were to experience a problem.
Transportation - The hotel runs a free shuttle into town every 2 hours. If you need to go another time, just wander to the main road (a few minutes away) and get a tuk-tuk or red bus into town. Don't expect a huge number of taxis as you'd see in Bangkok. Traffic is slower than Bangkok, so tuk-tuks are much safer.
Decor - There are many antiques, so the decor reflects this. Don't expect mininalist or a clinical feeling hotel. It may not suit everyone, but has character.
Location - We were only a few minutes walk away from the river. On the closest side were a number of great restaurants and bars (many with live music). The other side was the market. The centre of town is walkable, but easier to use the free hotel transport to get in and a tuk-tuk back (around 50-60 THB from most areas). We were very happy with the location.
Mosquitos - Thailand is a tropical country. Expect there to be mosquitos and take appropriate repellent. The hotel staff would light burners outside the rooms and sprayed regularly. We did not have any more problems with mosquitos at Puripunn than anywhere else in Thailand (possibly less).

The hotel is good value for money, taking into consideration the rooms and location. We will certainly visit again.

Our only criticism is that the vegetation around the pool is maturing, and as such gave the pool too much shade, making the water a little cool. The owner has advised that this is due to be cut back a bit to address this.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

From the moment we entered through the gate we knew we'd come to a special place. Puripunn Baby Grand has loads of character and quality as well as a culture of excellent, personalised service. It has the facilities of a large 4 or 5-star hotel but on a smaller scale. We loved it! Loved the warmth of the people who work there (and seem to love working there). We had a Puripunn Deluxe room on the ground floor and particularly liked the entrance patio and the day bed in the bathroom. Used the tuk-tuk every day and most nights and enjoyed the fabulous high tea on our last afternoon - didn't need dinner. Spent many comfortable hours lounging around the pool recovering after the heat of the day. We were there during Songkran - the Thai New Year which is celebrated in a very unique way in Thailand. Wear your bathers and get yourself armed with a water cannon. Will certainly come again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

We could not have been happier with our stay at the Puripunn! Cannot say enough about our fantastic stay! The staff were SO helpful and kind the facility and rooms were beautiful!!! I would highly recommend staying at the Puripunn.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

The hotel was fantastic and the staff made it a trip to remember - and one I would be keen to repeat. The room was beautiful, clean, spacious, comfortable and importantly - cooled. The restaurant served excellent food with good friendly service. The staff were extremely helpful in organising day trips and organised a car service with driver for the day for THB1,500. I had a fantastic massage in the spa. The only downside would be that, as a lone female traveller I did not feel comfortable walking to an from the hotel into the city down the narrow streets (not that they felt unsafe - just very quiet). However, the complimentary tuk tuk goes into town frequently and taxis are inexpensive and easily organised.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Excellent hotel. A real oasis in Chiang Mai. Service is great, rooms are luxurious, spacious and authentic, bathrooms are massive and impeccably clean. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Address: 104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, an intimate small luxury property with a total of 30 rooms is constructed in a contemporary Lanna- Oriental architectural style inspired by traditional homes found in Chiang Mai during colonial period. The hotel is situated in the midst of one of Chiang Mai's centuries-old communities where ancient Lanna treasures, cultural traditions and way of life have been well-preserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.