We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puripunn truly lovey home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Invitation Package
Ranked #12 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Puripunn truly lovey home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

We stayed at the Puripunn for 5 nights. From the start till the end, we were treated so wonderfully by the most kind and thoughtful staff. My wife had a cold due to stress. She was offered hot ginger tea and honey water to help her. The owner came to welcome us in person and spent time sharing very helpful information about where to go for visits in Chiang Mai. He and all the staff exemplify the most gracious Thai hospitality.
The hotel ground is lovely with lots of trees with scented flowers. The garden is well kept. The hotel buildings remind us of a lovely and gorgeous Thai Mansion. The room we stayed was quiet, spacious, well appointed with all comfortable amenities, with a huge and lovely bathroom area, and a serene sitting area outside with sofas for reading and relaxing facing the pool and garden. We had breakfast daily at the hotel, and lunch and dinner at the hotel many times throughout our stay. Each meal was delicious and served promptly by attentive and gentle staff who greet us so kindly and attended to us whenever we needed service yet respected our privacy and quiet dining time. The hotel provides tuk tuk car service to nearby night bizzare and Sunday Night Market which by tuk tuk only takes 5 minutes. One of the high lights of our visit was walking around the neighborhood of the hotel which is a historical neighorhood with friendly neighbors and so close to the Ping River preservation houses now turned exquisite art galleries, tasteful shops with high quality arts, home decor items, Thai silk clothing, not your run of the mill junk stuff at all. The famous restaurants are also along the river which only take 5 minutes to walk to from the hotel. But the food at the hotel is so good and tasty we only ate out twice during our entire stay. The Puripunn staff really made us feel so welcome that we felt it was our home away from home during our 5 day stay there. The whole place is so cozy, intimate, serene. We walked around Chiang Mai downtown (Night Bazzar area) with all the hassale bussle going on, we realized we made the right choice staying at the Puripunn because it is so quiet and relaxing, yet so close and convenient to all the sites. We had been to Thailand a number of times. (We stayed at Pennisula Bangkok and the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok before.) Although these hotels are no doubt very nice, we love Chiang Mai much more than busy Bangkok. And we rate our stay at the Puripunn our most pleasant hotel experience among all our Thailand trips. I like to thank the owner and all the staff at Puripunn for making our stay truly so memorable. If people look for a quiet, lovely, gracious, authentic Thai hotel experience, I most highly recommend Puripunn. We will come back here for sure next time we visit Chiang Mai!! (From Mr. R from California.)

  • Liked — The beautiful hotel buildings and ground. The thoughtful and kind staff
  • Disliked — none
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    124
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
117
329
54
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

An oasis in the middle of the hustle-bussle that is Chiang Mai. Attentive and charming staff, complemented by good food particularly the breakfast. And very comfortable quiet rooms tastefully furnished. The next time we visit this part of Thailand, we will opt to stay at the Puripunn without any hesitation

Pamela & Julian Ekiert, Geneva, Switzerland

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — we had no complaints whatsoever
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

Personal touches make Puripunn Hotel our first choice among the hotels we've visited in Thailand.
The team really prove that they enjoy hosting each and every guest. It's our second visit to Puripunn and only by this fact we are showing our consideration to the hotel and especially to the staff.
In fact we felt so charmed that even if we booked 4 nights, we decided to extend our stay with another 2 nights and believe me we (and especially our children!) felt so bad leaving this perfect place! The hotel is extremely well-kept and clean, and the outdoor area is amazing.
We appreciated also the hotel location which is a short and pleasant walk to the city's center however a really quiet experience due to its typical traditional neighborhood.
The owners are just naturally charming. It feels like visiting your best friends.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

We arrived from Hanoi and were exhausted and travel weary. When we arrived to the Purripun I just felt that I was in a sanctuary. The hotel is beautiful and even though you are in the middle of a neighborhood, we felt so secluded in this private and peaceful setting.

Staff: The staff were wonderful, very friendly and helpful.
Room: The room was big and comfortable with teak floors and furniture. The bathroom was wonderful and luxurious with a huge bath to soak in. We had a little balcony where we had our first cocktails of the evening and where we could hear the wonderful tinkling of the fountains.
Food: The breakfast while limiting in the offerings was delicious and always included several cups of the most wonderful coffee.
We had dinner one evening at the hotel and it was really good. It was expensive but I find that hotel restaurants are normally more expensive so was not surprised here. There were so many great places to eat in Chiang Mai that we ate elsewhere for the rest of our visit.
Location: I was quite surprised at one reviewer stating this was near a slum. One of the things I loved about the Purripun was the surrounding neighborhood. The lovely winding sois surrounding the hotel were so full of the life of Chiang Mai and I felt it was a treat to get a view into this lovely little enclave. I walked through them by myself (I am female) many times and felt completely comfortable and while I may have been an oddity to the local people who I passed, never did I feel threatened or unsafe. What I did see was beautiful flowers everywhere and happy local people living their lives. We usually found a tuk tuk right out the door but since it is a bit secluded sometimes you had to walk out to the main road to find a ride but this was so close it was not a problem. You can walk easily to the night market from the hotel but they offer a free tuk tuk service at the hotel to the night market so getting places was not an issue.

This is a small hotel so if you like gift shops, large grounds, and crowds of other guests, this may not be the place for you. If you are looking for a small lovely location and interesting surroundings, the Purripun is a home away from home and we will be staying there every time we visit this city.

  • Liked — A peaceful sanctuary in a big active city
  • Disliked — There is really nothing I did not like about the Purripun
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

Chose hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. Had fabulous few days at Shangri la in BKK and then moved onto Chiang mai. we were taken aback by location of hotel on arrrival but got used to it and saw the charm after a while. Mosquito was a real problem. Breakast buffet was very limited. restaurant fine but expensive. spa was not of standard we wanted and chose alternative spa. Tuk - tuk facility was never avaiable when we requested so resorted to walking into town. easy to get tuk tuk back to hotel. loved Chaing Mai and hope to return, but would stick to larger branded hotel instead.

  • Liked — bathroom, patio
  • Disliked — llimited facilities being a boutique
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

Based partly on the strength of the reviews here, we stayed at the PP Jan 2009 for five nights. It was ok, but I wouldn't stay there again.

Good Things
The Puri Punn grounds and room are ok. Everything is clean and relatively new. Staff are fairly attentive. Food (breakfast) is good. Bed is comfortable. AC is strong. Area is fairly quiet.

The Bad
Most of the staff don't speak enough english to communicate very effectively. Getting transportation or asking questions anywhere but the front desk can be frustrating. For example, the information in the room advertises a fabulous "High Tea" in the dining room every afternoon from 3-5. We went our first day at four. There was no High Tea. The joint was empty and the waitress was puzzled. She finally offered us two ice teas.

The style of the Puri Punn, to be honest, is contempory "old lady". Lots of lace and frill. Some women will like it if they like old fashioned Victorian B&B style. We prefer modern surroundings. Overall, maybe good for honeymoon.

The other guests at the PP were mostly European, including several French families. Nice if you're a francophile, not so nice otherwise.

The Really Bad
The PP is in a bad location on a couple counts. First of all, it is across the river in sorta no man's land. It is farther than other places from the action. It's not too far, but far enough. The second issue the actual surroundings. It is basically in a slum of some sort. I'll post photos. Not safe or appealing to walk during day time out the front door and unthinkable after dark. Taxi is only option and they don't exactly line up at the door. It takes up to 15 minutes to get one from town. Honestly, we really struggled to get around. They have a PP tuk tuk but only runs to town every couple hours. We walked several times, but it's not pleasant.

The PP is a major mosquito trap. They informed us on check in that mosquito juice was required if anyone planned to leave their room. Oh dear. All the common areas of the hotel are outside! Dining, library, internet, pool, bar, etc. are all outdoors. You will be eaten alive by insects. This was appalling. They offer to sell you mosquito repellent, which we had to resort to, but wearing that stuff is almost as bad as being bitten.

I understand Chiang Mai has had a surge of "boutique" hotels built the last five years. I guess this is one of them. I just wish it were in a different location and had fewer bugs.

Overall, I was expecting a four or five star visit (given the price) and felt more like 2.5 or 3 stars. Pretty average overall.

Alternatives
We hope to return to Chiang Mai. For the same money or less I think we would much prefer The Chedi or DusitD2. D2 looks fabulous and is in a great location.

  • Liked — Calm and quiet, except for French families
  • Disliked — Location! A mosquito enclave in a filthy alley too far from Chiang Mai
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AttVira, owner at Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2009
We would like to thank you to the guests for choosing Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel as a place to stay during their trip to Chiang Mai.

We are sorry to hear that their stay at Puripunn was not what the guests expected. We would like to inform the guests as well as other travelers who read our Management Response that our location is situated in Wat Ket (Wat Gate) area which is one of an oldest residential area which we intentionally want to be a part of this community. The hotel is tucked away from the traffic down to a small lane which reflects a local ordinary living lifestyle. The hotel is about 5 minutes by foot to Nawarat Bridge across the Ping River, and another 5 minutes further to Chang Klan rd. which lead to Nigh Bazaar. Our neighborhood area are ordinary local Chiang Mai people who have been spending their peacefully lives around the area for generations. The house that the guest took the picture is a house of Lanna (Northern Thai) national artist who was awarded by ministry of Culture ministry a few years ago for his great contribution in this field. He and his daughter spend their lives teaching Lanna performances to young generations especially a very rare Lanna drumming performance. With all due respect to the guest’s comment, Thailand is a developing country which our backbone is agriculture. Chiang Mai is also developing along side of other major cities around Thailand in both modern and traditional way of life. One of the most important things for Thai people is to keep our culture value to our nation. We neither want to change way of life of our neighbor nor ask them to. We would like our guests to, by chance, experience living among Chiang Mai local people during their stay in the ordinary charming city.

Regarding comment about our Puripunn Traditional High Tea, we would like to inform that our high tea is a delicate handmade menu consists of various types of both traditional Thai’s and English dishes. It takes sometime to prepare this menu. That’s why the guests have to preorder 2-3 hours in advance.

Our garden is a Thai free-from tropical garden which brings the guests close to the nature. During this time of the year when the temperature is cold, the mosquito might be around the garden at certain time of the day. We do realize about the matter. That’s why every room has mesh doors to keep the insects including mosquito out of the rooms. Our hose keeping always check condition of the room twice a day to ensure the room is in good conditions, and make sure mosquito repellent burner is set at the outside access of each guest room on the ground floor. We also offer local mosquito repellent made from natural ingredient with mild scent in case that the guests need protection. Periodically, we use anti insect and mosquito spray (made with natural materials which is human and environment friendly) to spray around the garden & the property area. We always try our best to deliver our guests’ comfort with the effort of environment friendly at the same time.

Finally, we would like to thank you all the readers for reading our management response. We will continue doing our best effort to improve our hotel condition as well as our services to meet our guests’ expectation as always.

Sincerely Yours,

Att Viravaidhya

Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

I'd taken the reviews on the Puripunn with a grain of salt when I booked and let the glamorous website win me over. Unfortunately, we experienced many of the same niggly little annoyances other travellers had mentioned. Overall the hotel does a good job and (especially at the discounted rate we paid) it was good value.... but it's not quite 5-star.

To confirm, yes, we experienced:
- a request for payment in full immediately upon arrival
- a toilet smell now and then near the pool
- lacklustre breakfast buffet
- highly overpriced airport transfer (take a cab at a fifth of the cost!), restaurant (try the Gallery less than 10 minutes away on foot by the river), spa (pick up brochures from the airport and look for better deals) and cookery school (there are several in Chiang Mai at a third of the cost)
- patchy wi-fi connection
- pool too cold for swimming

But, on the other hand, we also had:
- great email correspondence during the booking process
- a clean and spacious room with a comfortable bed and a few little luxuries
- a well equipped gym for a hotel of only 30 rooms
- friendly and attentive restaurant and concierge service (but not so great in the spa)
- staff willing to accomodate special menu requests at breakfast

  • Liked — Attentive concierge
  • Disliked — overpriced restaurant, transfers, spa, cooking school
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Address: 104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, an intimate small luxury property with a total of 30 rooms is constructed in a contemporary Lanna- Oriental architectural style inspired by traditional homes found in Chiang Mai during colonial period. The hotel is situated in the midst of one of Chiang Mai's centuries-old communities where ancient Lanna treasures, cultural traditions and way of life have been well-preserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.