We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Invitation Package
Ranked #12 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Gem of a boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Agreed with all the positive points from the other reviews. Don't expect a Ritz or Four Seasons but certainly what one would expect from a good class boutique hotel and more. Located in a residential area and therefore had a homely feel to the place

Rooms are nicely decorated in a colonial Thai style with many brass fittings. We are on the ground floor and the lush garden setting is well worth the mozzie attacks (they provide incense on the veranda to repel the mozzies and also screen doors). The kids enjoyed the pool despite the cooler weather and they have nice loungers for someone who just wants to read a book.

Service is top class and the breakfast... I was conditioned to help myself at most hotel buffet counters but here it's plated and served. You can also order from a selection in the menu. The owner of the hotel even come out to mingle with the hotel guests - nice touch!

Tuk tuks normally asked for 80-100 baht 1 way to get to the night bazaar but the hotel's luxurious version of the tuk tuk will send you there for free at certain times. Alternatively, it's a leisurely 15 mins walk if you can find the way.

Basically, you turn left coming out of hotel, and there's a back lane on the right that will take you to the main road (next to a home fix shop). From there, turn right and head across the river and the night bazaar is a block from the river on your left.

We did our laundry (after 8 days of travel) at a shop opposite Chiang Mai Plaza hotel (near night bazaar) for 50 baht a kilo and went home with neatly folded fresh laundry in our suit case!

Overall a very pleasant stay at Puripunn and would recommend anyone there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    124
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
117
328
54
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

When we first arrived at the Puripunn we did wonder how a nice hotel could possibly exist off a busy street and down a rather narrow nondescript lane. How wrong we were! It's a real jewel in a city that, overall, left us somewhat underwhelmed. It exudes an aura of calm in a rather old-fashioned way. The rooms were functional. We didn't use the pool but it was set in attractive surroundings and seemed like a good spot in which to relax. What really set the hotel apart for us was the warmth and attentiveness of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble - even rather cheeky requests from one of my fellow travellers to keep him supplied with cigarettes (which required a round trip on a moped). The food was also very good with breakfasts a particular highlight for us. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for some old world charm and doesn't need all the facilities offered by the traditionl 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Staff excellent and superior room very nice indeed. Antique feel to the room with quality furniture and linen.Hotel: located off the beaten track in a quiet suburb on the opposite side of the river from the old town, this small, intimate hotel is set around a small but peaceful courtyard garden and pool. A pillared outside patio leads into a modest lobby where check-in was painless. This three storey hotel is beautifully furnished

Room Tip: Room nearby the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Very nice boutique hotel with a family run feel. Staff excellent and superior room very nice indeed. Antique feel to the room with quality furniture and linen. Spa aroma oil massage very relaxing. Pool too cold to swim in December. Breakfast excellent and several enjoyable meals in the restaurant. Wine far too expensive was our only criticism of the bar, almost £50 for the cheapest wine. Beer not bad at about £3.50 and cocktails about £7. Hotel in a strange location, nowhere to walk really but complimentary Tuck Tuck into town and taxi back only £2. Visited Elephant Nature Park which was a great experience and highly recommended. Very good value hotel recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
429 helpful votes 429 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Hotel: located off the beaten track in a quiet suburb on the opposite side of the river from the old town, this small, intimate hotel is set around a small but peaceful courtyard garden and pool. A pillared outside patio leads into a modest lobby where check-in was painless. This three storey hotel is beautifully furnished and comes with high ceilinged rooms, dark wood floors, lush fabrics, and hand made bathroom tiles and sinks. Rooms have either large balconies with wooden day beds incorporated into the banister or smaller terraces if on the ground floor. Trees hung with fairy lights and lanterns welcome guests home and it was always lovely to turn off the street into the warm, welcoming courtyard. We liked the homely, yet luxurious atmosphere, the fresh flowers in the rooms and how staff remove their shoes before they entered the rooms (as did we). Many hotels claim to be boutique, but this one really is.

Amenities: free wi-fi which worked well; a spa (which we didn’t use); a pool which we did (small and no deeper than 1.5 m, with a shallower paddling pool, a covered jacuzzi and a small deck equipped with deck chairs and parasols overlooked by the rooms but surrounded by lush, mature trees, open from 8.00 to 20.00 and rarely crowded); complementary tuk-tuk to the night bazaar; and breakfast served just inside the entrance in the courtyard garden (a nice selection of hot and cold dishes, fresh fruit and cooked meals, the banana pancakes were excellent as was the Pad Thai).

Staff: most spoke good English and were helpful, smiley and eager to please without being ingratiating. Ms Supaporn was especially efficient and prompt at answering our email correspondence and all the breakfast staff were lovely. Reception will organise outings and transport to various places.

Rooms: Large, airy and comfortable. We stayed a total of 6 nights in November 2013 at either end of our stay in north Thailand in both the Baby Grand Suite on the top floor and a superior room on the second. We didn’t even mind moving to a smaller room, as the latter’s amenities were similar and the room was high-ceilinged, nicely furnished and came with a bowl of fruit on arrival and vases of freshly cut flowers. Both had quiet and efficient air-conditioning and ceiling fans; flip-flops for outside use; silk slippers and dressing gowns; bathroom products in attractive ceramic pots; a TV with a selection of international channels; complementary water; mini bar; safe; and daily The Nation newspaper. Sleep was excellent in both rooms. The suite comes with a large bathroom with a huge round jacuzzi and a walk in shower; a separate lounge with flat screen TV, DVD and CD player; and a king-sized bed with a relatively hard mattress.

Quibbles: we were woken one morning at 6.00 by a false call; the slight step down into the bathrooms (especially in the suite) could and did prove tricky at night; strangely the tea/coffee wasn’t replaced the first three nights of our stay and the CD player didn’t seem to work; there wasn’t really anywhere to hang the towels to dry; the lights weren’t the best for reading and a design fault with the bath in the superior room meant the water didn’t run out around the rim and so some of the tiles were mouldy. The lack of a lift might be a problem for some. What bothered me more was the hotel’s policy of shooting at pigeons with an air gun, especially as one of the pellets glanced off the roof and hit the balcony as I was reading on the day bed.

Access: taxis and tuk-tuks ask for more as they claim the hotel isn’t downtown, but it is to all effects and purposes, just on the “wrong” side of the river (expect to pay Baht 150 from the airport not the usual 120). Bargain with the tuk-tuk drivers for a better price (not all know where the hotel is so carry a map or ask reception to write the address in Thai) and know that they pronounce it “PULIPAN”. The walk into town where the action and eateries are isn’t far (the night bazaar is about 15 minutes away) but there is a busy intersection and the river to cross.

Tip: all rooms are lovely. Try to stay over the weekend when the two night walking markets take place (they are much nicer than the cheaper, tattier night bazaar). If you want to book a sight-seeing or tour, I highly recommend Asian Plus Travel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

These are the kind of reviews I love to write. We came to Thailand to visit my wife's family, with Chiang Mai and Phuket as diversionary trips for us. Phuket was expected to be the crowning portion of the trip, but boy were we wrong. Chiang Mai, and the Puripunn, made this the best part of our whole vacation. Not only that, but we were there for Loi Krathong festival, which was spectacular.

We stayed in a suite, which was very nicely furnished, and offered a balcony that allowed us to see the luminaries going into the sky. The service was very friendly, and went above and beyond consistently. Breakfast was wonderful! I've never had such a fantastic Thai omlette anywhere! I ordered Thai omelettes elsewhere in Thailand, and none came close to those made here.

The hotel is just gorgeous, and was hidden away from street noise, but was still a very short walk or ride away from the river and Old Town.

We hope to come back! Many thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor for slightly more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Situated in a quiet soi location just outside the ''old city'' of Chiang Mai but within easy access of the main tourist sites. This small and compact hotel offers comfortable accommodation and has a distinct mixture of Thai and colonial furniture and décor.
Due to sightseeing schedules we only experienced the breakfasts, which were very good.
Friendly and attentive staff.
The hotel's quiet location is a perfect tonic after a days' busy sightseeing in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Address: 104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, an intimate small luxury property with a total of 30 rooms is constructed in a contemporary Lanna- Oriental architectural style inspired by traditional homes found in Chiang Mai during colonial period. The hotel is situated in the midst of one of Chiang Mai's centuries-old communities where ancient Lanna treasures, cultural traditions and way of life have been well-preserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.