We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puripunn: A heavenly treat!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Invitation Package
Ranked #12 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Puripunn: A heavenly treat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Puripunn is an outstandingly beautiful and excellently appointed boutique hotel. From Management down, all personnel genuinely live the old charm and hospitality for which Thailand is so famous.Though not in the walled city center, all major sites are easily reached within minutes by the hotel or public TukTuk. Puripunn is a must when in Chiang Mai! Our four day stay there was just wonderful! A great thank you to all Puripunn staff!

Room Tip: Easily accessible by own car; free parking; convenient and free hotel transport to the old city (5 M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    124
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
117
328
54
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

The room was great, although we were surprised that the bathrooms were so small but they are beautiful. The shower does not drain properly but their is a drain on the bathroom floor for the reason that the shower overflows. This sounds a lot worse than it is and I would not let it deter you from staying at the hotel. There is not elevator in the hotel and we spoke to an older couple who said they had to move to the first floor because of this. The rooms on the 1st floor are more expensive and this may need to be taken into consideration. The climb to the 2nd floor is not bad at all but the 3rd floor might be too much. We started out on the 2nd floor with a room painted white and eventually moved to the 3rd floor in a room painted green which was more private. The green color also made the room feel more rich and comfortable. The beds were good - not memorable, but I do not remember them as uncomfortable. The ambiance at the restaurant at night is fabulous with twinkle lights in the trees lending to a romantic feel in the area. We found the food fantastic, but all we had was a spicy prawn salad. Breakfast was good, the omelets were really good. You can even get made to order waffles. The service is what made our experience. "Mr. Handsome" at the restaurant went out of his way to help us find out about different experiences in the Chiang Mai area. He spoke perfect English and went out of his way to make our experience comfortable. The night front desk agent was fantastic and friendly and his English was also good. We attended a Khantoke dinner and he was very helpful in calling each place to find out their menu before we booked. He was totally patient with us as our neurosis may have acted up a little there. I did not encounter any problems with staff speaking English as other reviewers have stated. Another staff member in the morning was also fabulous, calling a special temple for us and going out of his way to help us make a connection. The security guard was friendly, the girls at the front desk were friendly, we can't say enough. Although the location is not central to the main areas, we walked down the closest busy street (to the left and across the street) where we got really good street food (Chicken with Rice) with the locals and sat at a little table on the sidewalk. It was fun and made for a unique Chiang Mai experience. We had a favorite taxi driver when were in Chiang Mai and didn't use the tuktuk service but it will come in handy for anyone staying at the hotel. I can't say that it is total luxury at the Puripunn but it is a fantastic boutique hotel with great atmosphere and we recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We came here with friends who were visiting us in Bangkok and had a wonderful time. The hotel rooms and grounds are beautiful and the staff was friendly and helpful. The owner visited with guests at breakfast and was very helpful giving advice on what to see and where to go. The hotel is a bit off of the beaten path in Chiang Mai but offers a tuktuk service into the heart of the city. We walked to the hotel several times from the river area and the distance is short. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. I look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Although I use Trip Advisor, I have never had any desire to write a review of somewhere I have stayed. However, my recent stay at the Puripunn was so good I felt compelled to write.

This is a beautiful hotel with fantastic staff. The family that own the hotel live on site giving it a real family feel. It also means that someone that really cares about the hotel, the guests and the experience is on site and keeping a watchful eye over everything.

The hotel and the rooms are beautiful, the food is great, but what really makes this hotel is the staff - they are wonderful. They are so helpful, going above and beyond to help guests and ensure that everything is perfect.

I loved staying at this hotel. It isn't chic, it doesn't have a fabulous bar or gourmet restaurant. There is a pool but it is small and more for splashing around and cooling down than swimming. It is a little out of town (but that makes it quiet and you can safely and easily walk into town very quickly - or the hotel can take you in their tuk tuk) but it is peaceful, friendly, customer led, with great service. For a more personal stay, I would choose the Puripunn every time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

This was my husband's and my first trip to Chiang Mai (a lovely city) to pick up our adopted Thai son. For the first 9 nights there were only us two, and then there were three for two more nights. The hotel was both romantic and family friendly. The staff are wonderful and the owner of the hotel -a really friendly and approachable, young (well, I am 45...) man- made himself known to us and other guests which I thought was a nice touch and it was done genuinely. We had a room that walked out onto the pool area-the rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. Wireless is free which is always a bonus. We were lucky enough to be there for the latern festival and the hotel was a perfect location. We will stay there again, without a doubt. Thank you to the owner and to the lovely, friendly staff.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

The Puripunn is a beautifully presented hotel with excellent staff. The other positives are:

1) being a boutique, you are not just a number but, as others have said, instead are treated like part of the family. The owner took the trouble to introduce himself and ask how our stay was going?

2) Complimentary tuk-tuk into town at any time but need to book in evenings to be sure of departure time.

3) one staff member hooked us up with tuk-tuk and songtuew (red bus) drivers for day trips. Pay 100 baht per hour!

Negatives:
1) Tiny bathroom with problematic shower - couldn't consistent temp

2) Could do with more breakfast options or perhaps make it clearer what is available on cook to order. We had scrambled eggs or omelette which were great but not sure what we could have had?

3) location will be off-putting to some as down a dodgy looking ally way. Wasn't a problem as Chaing Mai hotels of all grades sit amongst the less attractive shops, markets and reside rials properties.

Having not stayed anywhere else in Chiang Mai, I cannot be sure that it gives best value for money. Might be worth checking out others.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKSAR
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed there for 4 days 3 nights; Love the garden-like environment and the fusion of Thai and Victorian interior; Staff were all professional, helpful and friendly; Delicious breakfast; Worthy of stay.

Hope to see a refurbishment in the bathroom upon next visit.

Room Tip: The signature room is a nice choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Address: 104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, an intimate small luxury property with a total of 30 rooms is constructed in a contemporary Lanna- Oriental architectural style inspired by traditional homes found in Chiang Mai during colonial period. The hotel is situated in the midst of one of Chiang Mai's centuries-old communities where ancient Lanna treasures, cultural traditions and way of life have been well-preserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.