We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideally suited for night life and Night Market” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17-19 Loikroh Rd., Changklan Disrict Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Thai Massage
Ranked #64 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Euskirchen
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“ideally suited for night life and Night Market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Raming Lodge is located in the centre of Chiang Mai, surrounded by shops, spas, restaurants and bars, and in walking distance of the Night Market. Those who like nightlife will love it. Excellent service, friendly staff, nice room, tour desk near the reception, good restaurant and breakfast. Complimentary minibar, coffee, fruit selection, WiFi. Very good value for money. During the balloon festival the hotel offered free dinner and entertainment (live music, dance groups). The hotel spa is very expensive, you find much cheaper alternatives outside. I really loved this place and would always go there again. I was staying in Raming Lodge for 15 days.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    436
    107
    32
    18
See reviews for
96
315
104
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We spent the most incredible 8 days at the Raming Lodge. We were there during Loi Krathong Festival and it was at our door step. We could walk or take cheap transportation.(no hassles).
There is transportation to and from the airport. Fresh fruit in your room daily. Mid day fresh juice is put in your fridge along with water and soft drinks.
The food was delicious and breakfast buffet always had a huge variety of foods.
The big thing that would make us return is "Dang the Man" the food manager. He anticipated all our needs and couldn't be more helpful. There was a party of 6 and I'm sure he thought we were crazy Canadians. Thank you Dang we won't forget your kindness.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

With a pan asian/ Continental breakfast buffet, free laundry, free wifi, airport drop off and generally good service, it is hard to go past Raming Lodge. It is close where the Sunday and Saturday markets are held, close to restaurants and barsand loads of massage parlours .

Only thing that was disturbing was getting kept up at night sometimes by women on the street, fighting over the one Caucasian man walking down the street as I said before, it is close to the bars.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

From the moment we stepped in to Raming Lodge, we felt at home- it has a really boutique feel, the staff are friendly and kind. We advised them that we were on our honeymoon, and not only did they decorate the bed, they sent us a honeymoon cake! We booked the deluxe room, which meant we had free wifi, all minibar items complimentary (no alcohol, but sodas, water, cakes, juice), our room was made up every day and the aircon was comfortable.

Complimentary breakfast was ok - as with most 3 start places however there are a number of fantastic restaurants along the same road as Raming Lodge - one being Wild Boar Bar where you can get a fantastic English Breakfast for under 150bht. Don't forget to get a massage from the girls set up right across the road from the hotel - 60bht for a 30 min foot & leg massage. Don't get me wrong - if you want a treatment (body wrap, scrub, full body thai massage, then go to the hotel spa, but for something quick, you can't go past the girls across the street. You can also get your hair washed and blowdried for 100bht! (hair salon about 30m to the right of he hotel.

The hotel has a pool - not too big but perfect when you're nowhere near a beach of any kind - they have food/drinks sent to the pool and if you order a snack, you get a free fruit shake!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

I have stayed at the Raming on more than a dozen occasions. I first stayed there shortly after they opened when the moat end of the Loi Kroh Rd was still a fairly quiet area with only a few bars a couple of hundred yards further down the road. Since then the area around the hotel has exploded with new businesses, opposite the hotel there is an excellent tailor, several designer clothes shops and a pharmacy, next to the hotel on the left is the Old Bell Pub which is run by a friendly Welsh gentleman and in my opinion does the best 'Full English' breakfast in this part of town and to the right is Marco's Italian, an excellent value for money bistro which opened a couple of years ago and now requires a couple of days advance booking in season. Parts of the Raming have understandably become a little tired over the years and in most rooms you won't have ANY view from your window but out of the dozen or so other hotels I have stayed in in Chiang Mai this is still my best for the price. It also has the huge advantage of being virtually opposite Soi 1 which is home to the Number One pub, one of the best established expat bars and the place to go if you don't want to be surrounded by staff trying to empty your pocket!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We are two 50 something Australian ladies who have come to Chiang Mai for a short break. The Raming Lodge is in a great location, within walking distance to both the night markets and the Sunday market. Tuk Tuk's are available right outside the front door and are very very reasonable. We paid $7 AUD for a full day of driving to major sightseening destinations.
The staff, both reception and cleaning are very helpfull and friendly. The maitenance man even fixed my broken handbag. The buffet breakfast is excellent and the rooms for the price are value for money.
We would highly recommend this hotel and would stay again in a flash.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

This hotel is situated 500 walk from the Chiangmai night bazaar.5 minute walk to the Tapae Gate,walking street markets (sundays Only) & anything you would need really.Chemist directly accross road,7 eleven two doors up for all your phone cards,beer or late night nibbles.Yes there are a few night clubs in the street with the lady kind hanging around BUT dont let this put you off staying here.They have no interest in harrassing you.
This is our second stay here at the Raming Lodge.Last year at the same time.We had interconnecting room's this time for the children with there own ensuite and personal space.The only thing stopping me from giving this Hotel a perfect score was the breakfast.It wasnt bad but a little lacking in some areas as for choices.The Tour section of the hotel is a must.Yes you might get some tour's cheaper else where BUT by the time you factor in your travel there & back it is just as easy to do through the hotel.Great drivers and vehicles supplied and the tours on offer were huge.We done the big three you could say,Tiger Kingdom,mai Sae elephant camp with ride up to the Karon hill tribe Village which the driver picked us up from & The snake show.We done the Golden Triangle tour as well with the Hot springs,White Temple,Golden Triangle,Laos boat trip over (Great Shopping) Mae Sai (Burmese Border) Mong Village.Just a great day.Fairly long drive up there though 3 hours BUT the way they stop off at sights every hour or so it breaks up the trip nicely.A must do if you go to Chaing Mai.I could go on but just go and have a ball...
Mark & Family

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa

Address: 17-19 Loikroh Rd., Changklan Disrict Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently placed in the Heart of Chiang Mai, Raming Lodge is truly a perfect stop for chic visitors seeking sophisticated characteristics of city, along with the most modern facilities to propose extreme comforts. With only few minutes access from most stylish traveler attractions and transportation hub while dwelling in exotically tasteful inspired by fabulous Northern Thai Heritage lanna style living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raming Lodge Hotel And Spa
Raming Hotel Chiang Mai
Raming Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.